We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a trail ride” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Guiding and Outfitting Ltd.

Warner Guiding and Outfitting Ltd.
Box 2280, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C1, Canada
403-762-4551
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #18 of 32 attractions in Banff
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
Attraction Details
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just a trail ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed the 2 hour long trail ride. I was disappointed that the guides did not speak with us at all except for yelling a few instructions that we could not hear.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Beautiful area for a horseback ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We took a ride as part of a large extended family group from the stables. The 3 hour ride (one of many options) was gentle but strictly single-file, no trotting. We rode along the Bow river west of Banff, along some of the marsh, through some woods on slight hills, and eventually after turning around, over a ridge next to a knobby little peak. If you go, put on bug repellant. Bugs can be really bad with all of the still water and the shade of the woods even mid-day.
Pluses: beautiful scenery, some horses and saddles were great, the guide leading our return portion was very informative and paying attention to the whole group.
Minuses: One of our group had a saddle that was too small or otherwise improper fit and by the end of 3 hours had a saddle sore developing. Strictly single-file riding. No rest stops for getting off of the horses (unless someone really needed to); it's not like there are restrooms at the turn-around point either. Our front guide going out was quiet and I think short-staffing meant that we didn't have a 3rd guide to range along the group and help, especially with children with their own horses; we only had a guide in front and one in back. Eventually the guide in back came forward and was much more proactive with novice riders. So (as with all guided horseback rides), the guides can make a difference in the experience. Finally, with no scheduled stops it is not trivial to don and doff a raincoat or a simple jacket, so dress accordingly as you begin the ride!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Morning Trail ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My son went on the two hour Sundance trail ride. I was to go but due to a physical limitation could not get up on the horse. He loved it. Great photos. Full refund for my ride no problem.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good carriage ride round the town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had admired the lovely carriage s in the town so decided to take a ride. We will now be in lots of people s holiday pictures all around the world. Quite expensive but great fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warner Guiding and Outfitting Ltd. also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Warner Guiding and Outfitting Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Guiding and Outfitting Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warner Guiding and Outfitting Ltd. to your Saves list