We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodside Cottage B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodside Cottage B & B
Save
You added Woodside Cottage B & B to your Saves list
132 Otter St. (Box 227), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Hendersonville
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location and a very affordable price for overpriced Banff. The home is over 100 years old and the guest "suite and lounge" are very dated and not particularly comfortable. Our hosts were very accommodating. Breakfast was adequate but not inspired.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I had been looking for a B and B where i would be the only tenant for a reasonable price and i found it. I booked it for 4 nights and it's only 3 blocks from the main shopping and restaurant strip on Banff Avenue, as well as a little over a block or so to the footbridge at the Bow River and the trails on either side. it is also about a 2 KM walk to the Cave and Basin and about a 2 KM walk to the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. these are reasons why i would recommend this B and B, although it being an older "Heritage" house, around 100 years old, and only having one room with 2 single beds may not be for everyone. the house gets remarkably cool at night and the neighbourhood is very quiet, which gave me several good nights sleep! Doug and Jannis are a sweet older couple who will help you with information on anywhere you may want go. breakfast is very full and delicious with cereal, muffins, a bowl of fresh cut fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee. their older dog Petra is quiet and bothers nobody. One thing to remember is this house has no assigned street parking so you may have to search for a spot if you arrive in the evening after a full day. But i thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this place and had a wonderful time. It is about 2-3 blocks from the main street and the walk to town was very easy. The breakfast was cereal / granola / warm English muffins/ regular muffins and fresh cut fruit. The have a wealth of advice as far as which places to eat at and such. Your room is off in it's own hallway and private bathroom. The grounds and beautiful and historic. The beds were very cozy and comfortable and the place was very clean. I would stay here again and recommend it to all my friends who visit.

Room Tip: The value of this place is non-comparable when trying to compare it to others in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Jannis and Doug are great people! They helped us a lot and offered us hospitality in their warm and cosy home.
The Woodside cottage is lovely and historic, somewhat on a distance from the street in a nice front garden. The room where we stayed was comfortable and the beds gave us good sleep. The guests' room offers a lot, not only comfort but also Jannis' paintings of the beauty of nature of the Rocky Mountains, and books of Canada's history.
Jannis' breakfast was a power start every day.
In this way it was pleasant to stay longer in Banff than planned, when trapped by the Alberta flooding in June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angu On
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

In July we took trip to Calgary stampede then headed to Vancouver stopping at Banff overnite. We stayed at this B & B when in Banff. We had bedroom with twin beds and separate bathroom. We could also use dining area to make coffee, tea or just sit for awhile. This was convenient location to walk to downtown Banff. Owners were very informative about getting around Banff and also friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

A 100 year old house with a great location in a quiet street just a couple minutes walk to the main street. The property has charm but needs some attention. It is clean, small with one room only. Two comfortable single beds with OK space,good curtains, a fridge, poor lighting, a small bathroom but it does have a spa/jet bath but the shower nozzle is wide spread, you can hear the upstairs host bathroom, one basin tap turns the opposite way, the door does also, floorboards creak, so do some upstairs where the hosts stay. The eating room has a view through the old rolled glass and a sitting room with couch. Breakfast is simple continental, supplied when requested and a kettle for use anytime.The outside setting area in the front garden needs attention.Cark parking is in the street with no problems.The hosts turn on the heating in the morning which can be a bit warm in such a small room. Petra the dog is friendly but you need to keep the room door closed.
Jannis is polite yet very quiet but would warm to regular guests and Doug is very social on the front verandah.
Sum - small, clean and adequate but there are many other B&B's in the same vicinty with a better external presentation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This historic retreat will celebrate it's 100 years as well as the Parks Canada. We have come here for the last 15 years and wouldn't think of anywhere else to stay. It's location is perfect to Banffs main street( a 3 min walk) with shops and plenty of places to eat or take in the beauty of the parks and wildlife.
Doug and Jannis have made us feel like family and their dog Petra. If the gas lit lantern in front path isn't inviting enough, the charm of this cottage will bring many memories to call upon with a smile. It's cozy interior is filled with the warmth of its hosts and Jannis's paintings. Doug helped publish a book on the history of Banffs residents(We live in a postcard).
Breakfast is a wonderful array of fruits, muffins,cereals,milk,OJ, tea, and coffee, yogurt,and a wonderful view out the original rolled glass picture window. There's always a kettle ready for an afternoon tea or coffee. The single beds are comfortable and private bath is eqiuped with a whirlpool tub to soak and relax in.
Both Doug and Jannis can inform you of walks, hikes,views, within the majesty of this park. They know it well and should be considerd experts. Alot of Jannis's paintings are inspired by places they have been together or view points.
Petra is a very quite, friendly dog who's mostly a welcome committee to the cottage guests. The cottage feels like home away from home. There's bird feeder so you can enjoy the local wildlife. The elk have( in the past) adorned the front path as they too have found the home inviting. Don't miss out staying here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodside Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Cottage B & B

Address: 132 Otter St. (Box 227), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodside Cottage B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.