We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for the Price in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Save Saved
You added Spruce Grove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Spruce Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Toronto, ON Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Value for the Price in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Spruce Grove Inn during our recent trip to Banff for the Family Day Long Weekend in February. I had stayed there once before and booked again based on the value. Three nights accomodation including a continental served breakfast and all the taxes was $339.00 dollars Canadian. Breakfast consisted of a huge Muffin, Coffee or Tea, Cereal, and Yogurt. Enough to get us started in the morning.
The hotel is located on the edge of town and you can still easily walk in to town. The rooms are standard hotel rooms. The only complaint was sound traveled easily from the hallway. The hotel also has underground parking that kept the car warm at night and our ski equipment.
I would stay there again based on the value. After all we hadn't gone to Banff to stay in our room, but enjoy the amazing skiing and the scenery. With the great rate we were still able to splurge and go for dinner at the Banff Springs for Valentines.
Looking forward to our next trip to Banff and will definately consider staying at the Spruce Grove Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    45
    22
    12
See reviews for
21
42
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

For the 5th year All My Relations Constellations and Creative Attention held a Constellation Retreat in Banff. Participants and presenters were cared for by the Spruce Grove Inn and Banff Voyager Inn. Both accommodations working together provided the participants varied fee options. The conference room was wonderful, windows directly facing the beautiful Rocky Mountains.
We had privacy for the Workshop, and the staff provided a warm soup/sandwich luncheon for each of the conference days. We were well attended to. The conference was attended by a number of participants who were multilingual and the variety of linguistic skills and cultural experiences of the staff complimented our experience. There was warmth in the staff which helped to create a sense of comfort for the participants.
The 6th Banff Constellation Retreat in Dec 2009 is something I am already looking forward to, when we will again return to the Spruce Grove Inn and the Banff Voyager Inn.
Francesca Mason Boring
All My Relations Constellations

  • Liked — The staff was available, courteous and warm!
  • Disliked — Our timing was just as the season began, some rooms had to wait for hot water...staff took care of the situation immediately!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

This hotel - with the Banff Voyager Inn - is pulling itself up nicely. The service has always been good for our group, and the rooms are better appointed than in past years.

Our organization, Creative Attention Canada, inc., holds annual retreats, Following Love to the Mountaintop, with Francesca Mason Boring,. [-] This is our third year with the Banff Voyager Inn / Spruce Grove Inn. We generally arrive on a Thursday or Friday and leave on a Sunday or Monday. There is a negotiated rate that reflects that we come in the off-season..

The staff of both hotels this year (2008) was exceptionally helpful and considerate. People come from all over to these events (see [-], and so there can be difficulties - but the staff is more than responsive. This year, we found everything exceeded expectations.

  • Liked — All of the above
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

THE WORST PART WAS AN EXTRA CHARGE FOR STORING SKI EQUIPMENT!!! They don't allow ski equipment in the room but yet want to charge an extra $20 per locker which could only hold about 2 boards!!! I understand the reasoning but they should not charge extra. For the price, I think we could have done better. The hotel looked like your basic hotel, 2 beds, nothing special (beds were more comfortable then most hotels). The room was smaller then most rooms I stayed in (the premier room with balcony). The was nothing to the hotel, just rooms. The sister hotel beside, the Voyager, where ou could use the pool looked seedy and the pool was too small and crowded to use.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Extra charges not mentioned
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffVoyagerInn, Front Office Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2008
We are surprised to hear that you were charged $20 for storing your skis/snowboards in our locker room. This is a complimentary service that we offer to all of our guests. An initial deposit of $20 is required when using our complimentary padlocks, however, this credited upon the return of the padlock.
If you were still charged the additional $20 once you had returned your padlock, then please contact us here at the hotel to discuss this matter further. Toll free 1-800-879-1991.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay at Spruce Grove Inn. I had booked a "Premium Plus" room, expecting a couple of queen beds and a balcony, however, when we arrived, we had been given a loft suite! The upper floor had two beds, a jacuzzi, a bathroom, television and big window with views of the mountains. THe main floor had a kitchen, tv, couches, fireplace, bathroom and a big window with views as well!. We paid about $130 per night. It looked like the room had been renovated - the place was very clean, the housekeepers replenished all towels/soap etc..daily. The staff were very friendly and the location was perfect. Not right in the middle of town, but a scenic 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants. Rooms have Key Card entry and there is underground parking. We'd definetly stay here again.

  • Liked — cleanliness/decor
  • Disliked — kitchen had fridge/microwave, but no range..however, it wasn't that big of a deal to us
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Looks very nice from the outside, not so much in the lobby. Rooms were comfortable. No food on site, you have to go to the sister hotel next door for a meal. Not too far from downtown, but one of the farther hotels on Banff Ave. from downtown. Expect 15-20 minutes to walk downtown, or take the bus which is near the hotel.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Far from Banff downtown
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay at the Spruce Grove Inn. The rooms were comfortable and the cozy. The price was good and there was even an indoor pool.

  • Liked — Coziness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Hotel
Spruce Grove Banff
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.