We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Save Saved
You added Spruce Grove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. We have two small kids, so we found the amenities to be really good. One thing I wasn't too happy about was there wasn't a mini fridge in our suite, which was a hassle for having bottles for our baby. But we enjoyed our breakfasts every morning. The staff at the front was really nice. The restaurant staff were great. We all slept really well, but most of all we were all very comfortable. We will definetely book at there again. We liked the convenience, cleanliness and comfortableness. Oh yeah, it was very secure in the building. i never worried about rif raf coming in too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    49
    30
    19
See reviews for
27
51
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night and that was long enough. The hotel feels very outdated and unloved! We had a standard room with 2 queen beds. The room(504) was spacious and faced the back of the hotel. It was quiet. The beds were very uncomfortable and we ended up with very sore backs the next day. When we went to go to bed we noticed a thick layer of dust on the alarm clock. I don't think the room had been cleaned properly in weeks.

It took a very long time for warm water to reach our room. The pipes made a horrible seeking noise when you tried to adjust the water temperature.

Free parking was offered but the underground parade was full and we had to find street parking which was at the back of the hotel.

There was no restaurant and breakfast was served in the hotel next door which we did not take advantage of. We we glad to check out and be on our way!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Well! we rented the two story suites on a number of occasions, Was like 250 a night and really made a night or 2 of it. great for after ski parties etc. Don't smoke in the rooms you'll be charged extra. This place is pretty dated and a ways from "downtown", you'll need a cab in winter for sure and a 20 minute walk otherwise. Stay in the middle of Banff so you can find something to do and walk home once you're tired and want to sleep. (drive as little as possible, so congested) This "Inn" isn't cozy or a hidden gem or anything, has a lodge look to it, but isn't a nice cozy place to be. If you want to find some fun/trouble stay in a lil 130$ per night place right in town and if you want a romantic get away go for the Fairmont or one of the many cottages or cabins outside the town. They have a dingy bar and a terrible restaurant, like most hotels and a fairly complacent staff. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a jacuzzi suite if you can bargain them into 220$ a night, otherwise go elsewhere. They need you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My friend booked the whole trip I did'nt want to go to Banff. We stayed at the spruce grove and change my mind the Hotel had EVERYTHING. Underground parking, hottub, heated pool. But the best part was the staff thank you Lynn ( not sure if it's Spelled right ) was a Barmaid you will never forget and the rest of the staff was amazing sorry I can't mention you all

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guardian55
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a prime location but the owners need to spend a little money to up grade the hotel. Beds are old and starting to curl and the bathrooms could use an overhaul. The service wasn't bad if they had any but everything was done at hotel next door and they offer a free breakfast with your stay so long as you get there within a small window of time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I would not even recommend this place to my worst enemy!!! There were dead bugs in our room dust everywhere. Soap scum and a black dirt ring around the tub. Broken and dirty coffee maker dust on the head boards. One towel was filfy the beds were old and out dated. It may look beautiful on the outside but it is absolutely disgusting on the inside. Front desk was amazing though. Took us to a second room before finally refunding our money as the second room was in worse shape then the first with coffee splatter on the walls the tub even worse then the first front desk said the shape of the tub was unacceptable! As many other reviews have stated run! (: house cleaning and management are not doing their jobs properly as these are the same issues that are being brought up over and over. I would never wash my child in a tub so incredibly dirty. We moved to a new hotel with great staff and CLEAN rooms (: best decision ever. Our friends will hear about this for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your observations and comments/review.

It is very unfortunate to read that you were totally unsatisfied with the hotel and the rooms; it is difficult to equate your comments with the actula room product, especially as the hotel receives much positive "feed back" in regards to both "room quality" and "guest service".
Sometimes it is not always possible (no matter offering all the help/service) to meet every expectation. I can asure that the hotel is both clean, tidy and always strives to provide good guest service.
The hotel is very happy to hear that you were sucessful in finding accommodations that suited your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and it was not fantastic. The rooms were dirty and needed a severe clean. Rubbish was behind the bed and the floors needed a clean. Dust was thick on top of the bed railings. I had to clean the dust off before going to sleep. The bed linen was clean but a single sheet had been used crossways to make the bed. The coffee maker was still full of coffee from the previous guests and the cups were dirty. Critically, staff were not friendly. We discussed our findings with other guests and many had a similar story to tell. I might add that it was great to have two basins as it made easy for morning and evening duties. The location could have been better as it was about a 15 minute hike to the main centre. Whilst I appreciate that people work in these hotels management needs to take a serious look at its cleaning strategy. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.