We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room & Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Save Saved
You added Spruce Grove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Room & Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and we were quite wary because of previous reviews which I hadn't really looked at until a few days before.
The place was fine - we are from Australia and it was pretty much exactly what you would expect of a 3 star place. It was clean (not spotless), spacious and close to everything. In our book that gets a thumbs up.
We ate breakfast elsewhere on the first day because we were a bit concerned about the reviews. The following day we decided to check out the free breakfast just to see and it was great. Again it was the sort of thing an Aussie would expect from a 3-4 star continental buffet (and no better than some 5 star places I've stayed). Several different juices, fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants and pastrys, several cereals, toast, coffee, various teas. Lets keep in mind this breakfast is FREE with the room so I'm a bit baffled as to what other reviewers were expecting. Even if you paid the $7 a head it was most definitely worth it.
Overall this place was value for money - if you're looking for a 5 star experience you're going to have to pay for it in Banff. We have stayed predominantly at B&Bs for the rest of our trip, which cost around the same per night ($110-130) but the standard was in a different league altogether - every place we have stayed so far has been top notch - a good option for those on a budget looking for something special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the rear car park and exits. Buses seem to be pulling up and backing out at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
A very good day to you,

On behalf of the Hotel and all of the Team I very much thank you for your review, comments and observations: it is always good for the Hotel to receive "Reviews" (both Good ones as well as Poor ones) as all as they are constructive as they are always helpful with the continuous process of trying to improve and provide an ever better Guest Experience.

It is lovely to receive your very possitive review: a genuinely possitive review such as yours can be most helpful to the staff and very rewarding to them by letting them know that all their very hard work and effort is appreciated by many of our Guests.
You are absolutely correct the Hotel is targeted as a 3 star property and does not pretend to be a 5 star one; the goal is always to try and provide the best Service & Experience for a 3 star operation: unfortunately the Hotel is not situated in downtown Banff and therefore it is a good 10-15 mins (flat) walk to get downtown.

The breakfast options are always a challenge in that for some the breakfast is not enough & not worth either the "Free" Continental or the $7 for everything yet for others (such as yourselves) there are excellent choices & options that are considered to be excellent value for money - unfortunately this will be an ongoing challenge (trying to please "all") that the Hotel will continue to work on.

Myself and the whole Hotel Team are so very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that your whole holiday experience in Canada has been such a success. Should you ever be visiting again we would love to welcome you back to the beautiful mountains, amazing Banff and of course to our Hotel.

Sincere regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    45
    27
    16
See reviews for
24
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel has some real potential, but it's a shame that they seem not to care too much about cleanliness. During our two-days stay the hallways were always dirty (didn't look like they vacuumed them). The room itself, while spacious, could have been cleaner. Some dirt on the carpet (again, they seem to have a problem with vacuuming It properly) and inside the washroom there was a spider in a corner, very easy to spot. I kept wandering, how difficult can it be to do a proper cleaning ??
Wifi slow, but at least it worked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your comments and observations; constructive reviews help especially when it comes to the on going training needs of all the Hotel Departments.

Your observations have been passed onto the Housekeeping Department and the Head Housekeeper will be bringing up with her team at their daily meetings; which unfortunately are currently very brief due to the Hotel (& in fact the whole Bow Valley accommodation sector) really suffering this summer from serious staffing shortages.

I do very much thank you for your observations and I can ensure you that the Hotel Team will be continually working hard to improve in the areas you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Older motel but its clean and has a kitchen,there were groups staying there but they were quite and we had a good nights sleep. It is a comfortable motel and because there is a kitchen it is suitable for longer than an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Good day,

Many thanks for your comments and observations, it is always helpful to receive constructive reviews (good and bad) as they help the Hotels in their on-going efforts to improve.

We are very glad to hear that your recent stay was comfortable and you were able to enjoy your holidays in our beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The worst hotel we have ever visited, and we have been in many!
The staff consists of 17 year olds who don't care, don't clean and don't provide serice.
The wifi was unavailable for two days in a row and the complimentary breakfast was lousy. The floor of the room was dirty, the beds were not made up properly and dirty cups were left in the room. I sent an email to the manager but never received a reply.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Good day,

Firstly allow me to say that I sorry that you sent myself (GM) an email but have received no reply, unfortunately I have received no such email otherwise I most certainly would have responded.

The Hotel can very much relate to your frustrations with the wi-fi; the wi-fi service this summer has been a major challenge but we have been working with our service provider to try and overcome most of the issues. This is a long and on-going process, the provider was in fact working at the hotels this past week and hopefully solving some of the issues.

It is unfortunate that you were not impressed with the breakfast it is an area that the hotel & the Chef are continually working to improve as it has gotten totally varying reviews from both ends of the spectrum - sometimes it has not been what guests expected but as mentioned it is an area that is always worked on.

With regard to the staff (we do not have any 17 year olds working at the hotel) it is disappointing that you were not impressed especially as they (especially the Front of House Staff) have garned a lot of guest praise over this season for both their help and caring.
Your obversations with regard to housekeeping have been passed to the Head Housekeeper so she can work with her staff to ensure that cleanning is done to standards.

Again I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations but the Hotel welcomes your observations so the areas of concern can continue to be worked on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife, Zoe, and I were recently in Banff celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and spent three nights at the Spruce Grove Inn. While it may not be the most luxurious hotel on earth, we had a fantastic time and the staff, especially Daniel on reception, were exceptional. My wife was also extremely impressed with Daniel's professionalism and exceptional local knowledge - he knew all the hot spots and really made us feel very welcome. Please pass on our thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
So many thanks for your review,

It was lovely to hear that your recent visit to Banff was enjoyable and your stay at the Spruce Grove Inn was an excellent experience for both of you.

The Hotel staff take pride in always trying to serve our Guests well and being friendly, welcoming and knowledgable: I will absolutely pass your comments on to Daniel and will be honoured to do so.

I hope you had a wonderful rest of your trip and we would love to welcome you back to the beautiful mountains and lovely Banff should you decide to re visit.

Sincere regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed in June 2013 whilst on a Archers Best Western Canada tour and found the room clean and comfortable. Rome consisted of two beds, coffee machine, TV and free wifi.
Restaurant was in Voyager Inn next door. Continental breakfast, cereal, fruit, coffee, toast was good at a 7.25 dollars per person.
Reception staff, Susan, very friendly.
Overall we experienced two good nights sleep and two good breakfasts.
Banff is about ten minutes walk away and plenty to offer in terms of shops, restaurants and museums.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast in Voyager is fine but there are many restaurants ten minutes way in Banff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good day,

Thank you very much for your review, comments and observations in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn.
I am very happy to hear that your 2 night stay was enjoyable and comfortable, especially glad to hear that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful (I will be sure to pass your observations on to Susan).
I hope the rest of your trip is as enjoyable for you and should ever be returning to Canada and the beautiful mountains & Banff we would love to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

from the outside it looks quaint and has this wooden cabin look. but inside it is just another contemporary hotel with nothing worth remembering. it is very clean and spacious. good enough for a nights sleep. breakfast was mediocre but filling. you have to walk to the next building for the breakfast. it was ok since it is just a minute walk but it could get a little inconvenient. there was no public restroom at the lobby. it was also at the next building. it could get a little confusing with the floor numbers. overall just an average hotel. there are dozens to choose from along the same avenue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review,

The Hotels are very grateful for your comments and observations and they will be used in the property training efforts as we continually strive to improve our Guests experience and stay.

The Hotels will be working to improve on the "average" status especially in areas that training and service can be improved; your review wil be most helpful in these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.