We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Save Saved
You added Spruce Grove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Older motel but its clean and has a kitchen,there were groups staying there but they were quite and we had a good nights sleep. It is a comfortable motel and because there is a kitchen it is suitable for longer than an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Good day,

Many thanks for your comments and observations, it is always helpful to receive constructive reviews (good and bad) as they help the Hotels in their on-going efforts to improve.

We are very glad to hear that your recent stay was comfortable and you were able to enjoy your holidays in our beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    45
    26
    16
See reviews for
24
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The worst hotel we have ever visited, and we have been in many!
The staff consists of 17 year olds who don't care, don't clean and don't provide serice.
The wifi was unavailable for two days in a row and the complimentary breakfast was lousy. The floor of the room was dirty, the beds were not made up properly and dirty cups were left in the room. I sent an email to the manager but never received a reply.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Good day,

Firstly allow me to say that I sorry that you sent myself (GM) an email but have received no reply, unfortunately I have received no such email otherwise I most certainly would have responded.

The Hotel can very much relate to your frustrations with the wi-fi; the wi-fi service this summer has been a major challenge but we have been working with our service provider to try and overcome most of the issues. This is a long and on-going process, the provider was in fact working at the hotels this past week and hopefully solving some of the issues.

It is unfortunate that you were not impressed with the breakfast it is an area that the hotel & the Chef are continually working to improve as it has gotten totally varying reviews from both ends of the spectrum - sometimes it has not been what guests expected but as mentioned it is an area that is always worked on.

With regard to the staff (we do not have any 17 year olds working at the hotel) it is disappointing that you were not impressed especially as they (especially the Front of House Staff) have garned a lot of guest praise over this season for both their help and caring.
Your obversations with regard to housekeeping have been passed to the Head Housekeeper so she can work with her staff to ensure that cleanning is done to standards.

Again I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations but the Hotel welcomes your observations so the areas of concern can continue to be worked on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife, Zoe, and I were recently in Banff celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and spent three nights at the Spruce Grove Inn. While it may not be the most luxurious hotel on earth, we had a fantastic time and the staff, especially Daniel on reception, were exceptional. My wife was also extremely impressed with Daniel's professionalism and exceptional local knowledge - he knew all the hot spots and really made us feel very welcome. Please pass on our thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
So many thanks for your review,

It was lovely to hear that your recent visit to Banff was enjoyable and your stay at the Spruce Grove Inn was an excellent experience for both of you.

The Hotel staff take pride in always trying to serve our Guests well and being friendly, welcoming and knowledgable: I will absolutely pass your comments on to Daniel and will be honoured to do so.

I hope you had a wonderful rest of your trip and we would love to welcome you back to the beautiful mountains and lovely Banff should you decide to re visit.

Sincere regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed in June 2013 whilst on a Archers Best Western Canada tour and found the room clean and comfortable. Rome consisted of two beds, coffee machine, TV and free wifi.
Restaurant was in Voyager Inn next door. Continental breakfast, cereal, fruit, coffee, toast was good at a 7.25 dollars per person.
Reception staff, Susan, very friendly.
Overall we experienced two good nights sleep and two good breakfasts.
Banff is about ten minutes walk away and plenty to offer in terms of shops, restaurants and museums.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast in Voyager is fine but there are many restaurants ten minutes way in Banff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good day,

Thank you very much for your review, comments and observations in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn.
I am very happy to hear that your 2 night stay was enjoyable and comfortable, especially glad to hear that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful (I will be sure to pass your observations on to Susan).
I hope the rest of your trip is as enjoyable for you and should ever be returning to Canada and the beautiful mountains & Banff we would love to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

from the outside it looks quaint and has this wooden cabin look. but inside it is just another contemporary hotel with nothing worth remembering. it is very clean and spacious. good enough for a nights sleep. breakfast was mediocre but filling. you have to walk to the next building for the breakfast. it was ok since it is just a minute walk but it could get a little inconvenient. there was no public restroom at the lobby. it was also at the next building. it could get a little confusing with the floor numbers. overall just an average hotel. there are dozens to choose from along the same avenue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review,

The Hotels are very grateful for your comments and observations and they will be used in the property training efforts as we continually strive to improve our Guests experience and stay.

The Hotels will be working to improve on the "average" status especially in areas that training and service can be improved; your review wil be most helpful in these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I decided to take a ladies weekend for May Long and picked the Spruce Grove for availability sake. Our room was supposed to be ready by 4 pm at the latest, but wasn't ready until 6. It was busy so we let it slide. We get in the room and there's garbage from the last guests, including beer bottles on the floor under the bed. It was gross, but we threw them in the trash and let it go. We go out for the rest of the night and come back to sleep. The next morning I wake up and go into the bathroom. There are BLOOD smears on the floor, and on the shower mat. When we took all this evidence of a very poor cleaning, the receptionist gave us 10% off. That was it... She apologized, but we still had to pay over 160 dollars to stay in the filthiest room ever. I was disgusted, and I'm never going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day to you,
I am very sorry to hear about your experiences on your recent stay at the Hotel; your observations are a great concern, unacceptable and they have been brought to the Housekeeping Departments attention to ensure improvements in cleaning and checking of rooms.
I am somewhat surprised that when you went into the room & saw the "garbage" on the floor that you did not contact the Front Desk thereby allowing the Hotel to correct the issues immediately and move you to another room. Especially if the bathroom issues were also noticed - but I note that you state you did not enter the bathroom (even after seeing the "garbage") between going into the room & the next morning?
I totally agree that the issues you reported are not acceptable but I am surprised the Hotel was not given a chance to correct them immediately (i.e. a phone call to the Front Desk); in fact the Hotel was only informed (to a Front Desk Agent) upon "check out" and payment time!
The Front Desk Agent was correct in her actions in that they (Front Desk Agents) are only allowed to give 10% dicounts: when more (high discounts) are expected by Guests they usually request to speak to a Supervisor or Manager - especially when Manager's Business Cards are displayed on the Front Desk counter. As of this point of time none of the Hotel Senior Management (including the General Manager) have not received any direct communication in regards to this stay.
As stated above the "issues" encountered are unacceptable but equally the Hotel should be allowed the chance to correct them immediately prior to demands/expectations of greatly reduced rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped by as part of our Rocky Mountaineer Journey......
We were very tired and the quality of this accomodation was very very welcome.
Certainly would give it our acknowledgement! We thought the location was just
brilliant too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day,

So many thanks for your kind words and lovely review. Myself and the staff are very glad to hear that you enjoyed a great stay with us.
I trust that the rest of your wonderful trip/vacation was equally enjoyable.
Should you ever decide to re-visit Canada and the beautiful Rockies & Banff we would love to see you and welcome you again.
Sincere regards & safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.