We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Spruce Grove Inn to your Saves list
Spruce Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The worst hotel we have ever visited, and we have been in many!
The staff consists of 17 year olds who don't care, don't clean and don't provide serice.
The wifi was unavailable for two days in a row and the complimentary breakfast was lousy. The floor of the room was dirty, the beds were not made up properly and dirty cups were left in the room. I sent an email to the manager but never received a reply.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Good day,

Firstly allow me to say that I sorry that you sent myself (GM) an email but have received no reply, unfortunately I have received no such email otherwise I most certainly would have responded.

The Hotel can very much relate to your frustrations with the wi-fi; the wi-fi service this summer has been a major challenge but we have been working with our service provider to try and overcome most of the issues. This is a long and on-going process, the provider was in fact working at the hotels this past week and hopefully solving some of the issues.

It is unfortunate that you were not impressed with the breakfast it is an area that the hotel & the Chef are continually working to improve as it has gotten totally varying reviews from both ends of the spectrum - sometimes it has not been what guests expected but as mentioned it is an area that is always worked on.

With regard to the staff (we do not have any 17 year olds working at the hotel) it is disappointing that you were not impressed especially as they (especially the Front of House Staff) have garned a lot of guest praise over this season for both their help and caring.
Your obversations with regard to housekeeping have been passed to the Head Housekeeper so she can work with her staff to ensure that cleanning is done to standards.

Again I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations but the Hotel welcomes your observations so the areas of concern can continue to be worked on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    52
    31
    22
See reviews for
27
54
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife, Zoe, and I were recently in Banff celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and spent three nights at the Spruce Grove Inn. While it may not be the most luxurious hotel on earth, we had a fantastic time and the staff, especially Daniel on reception, were exceptional. My wife was also extremely impressed with Daniel's professionalism and exceptional local knowledge - he knew all the hot spots and really made us feel very welcome. Please pass on our thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
So many thanks for your review,

It was lovely to hear that your recent visit to Banff was enjoyable and your stay at the Spruce Grove Inn was an excellent experience for both of you.

The Hotel staff take pride in always trying to serve our Guests well and being friendly, welcoming and knowledgable: I will absolutely pass your comments on to Daniel and will be honoured to do so.

I hope you had a wonderful rest of your trip and we would love to welcome you back to the beautiful mountains and lovely Banff should you decide to re visit.

Sincere regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed in June 2013 whilst on a Archers Best Western Canada tour and found the room clean and comfortable. Rome consisted of two beds, coffee machine, TV and free wifi.
Restaurant was in Voyager Inn next door. Continental breakfast, cereal, fruit, coffee, toast was good at a 7.25 dollars per person.
Reception staff, Susan, very friendly.
Overall we experienced two good nights sleep and two good breakfasts.
Banff is about ten minutes walk away and plenty to offer in terms of shops, restaurants and museums.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast in Voyager is fine but there are many restaurants ten minutes way in Banff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Good day,

Thank you very much for your review, comments and observations in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn.
I am very happy to hear that your 2 night stay was enjoyable and comfortable, especially glad to hear that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful (I will be sure to pass your observations on to Susan).
I hope the rest of your trip is as enjoyable for you and should ever be returning to Canada and the beautiful mountains & Banff we would love to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

from the outside it looks quaint and has this wooden cabin look. but inside it is just another contemporary hotel with nothing worth remembering. it is very clean and spacious. good enough for a nights sleep. breakfast was mediocre but filling. you have to walk to the next building for the breakfast. it was ok since it is just a minute walk but it could get a little inconvenient. there was no public restroom at the lobby. it was also at the next building. it could get a little confusing with the floor numbers. overall just an average hotel. there are dozens to choose from along the same avenue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review,

The Hotels are very grateful for your comments and observations and they will be used in the property training efforts as we continually strive to improve our Guests experience and stay.

The Hotels will be working to improve on the "average" status especially in areas that training and service can be improved; your review wil be most helpful in these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I decided to take a ladies weekend for May Long and picked the Spruce Grove for availability sake. Our room was supposed to be ready by 4 pm at the latest, but wasn't ready until 6. It was busy so we let it slide. We get in the room and there's garbage from the last guests, including beer bottles on the floor under the bed. It was gross, but we threw them in the trash and let it go. We go out for the rest of the night and come back to sleep. The next morning I wake up and go into the bathroom. There are BLOOD smears on the floor, and on the shower mat. When we took all this evidence of a very poor cleaning, the receptionist gave us 10% off. That was it... She apologized, but we still had to pay over 160 dollars to stay in the filthiest room ever. I was disgusted, and I'm never going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day to you,
I am very sorry to hear about your experiences on your recent stay at the Hotel; your observations are a great concern, unacceptable and they have been brought to the Housekeeping Departments attention to ensure improvements in cleaning and checking of rooms.
I am somewhat surprised that when you went into the room & saw the "garbage" on the floor that you did not contact the Front Desk thereby allowing the Hotel to correct the issues immediately and move you to another room. Especially if the bathroom issues were also noticed - but I note that you state you did not enter the bathroom (even after seeing the "garbage") between going into the room & the next morning?
I totally agree that the issues you reported are not acceptable but I am surprised the Hotel was not given a chance to correct them immediately (i.e. a phone call to the Front Desk); in fact the Hotel was only informed (to a Front Desk Agent) upon "check out" and payment time!
The Front Desk Agent was correct in her actions in that they (Front Desk Agents) are only allowed to give 10% dicounts: when more (high discounts) are expected by Guests they usually request to speak to a Supervisor or Manager - especially when Manager's Business Cards are displayed on the Front Desk counter. As of this point of time none of the Hotel Senior Management (including the General Manager) have not received any direct communication in regards to this stay.
As stated above the "issues" encountered are unacceptable but equally the Hotel should be allowed the chance to correct them immediately prior to demands/expectations of greatly reduced rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped by as part of our Rocky Mountaineer Journey......
We were very tired and the quality of this accomodation was very very welcome.
Certainly would give it our acknowledgement! We thought the location was just
brilliant too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day,

So many thanks for your kind words and lovely review. Myself and the staff are very glad to hear that you enjoyed a great stay with us.
I trust that the rest of your wonderful trip/vacation was equally enjoyable.
Should you ever decide to re-visit Canada and the beautiful Rockies & Banff we would love to see you and welcome you again.
Sincere regards & safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My mother and I booked this hotel for a weekend getaway after viewing their website. Upon arrival we were terribly disappointed. The website states "all rooms have a balcony", then a few lines down it says "some with balcony"...well we are in a non balcony room with a lovely view of...the balconies of the hotel next door. I awoke from a nap to two teen girls on the balcony across looking in my window and pointing! No where on the website does it state the liquor store, pool area, and restaurant are all located in the next door hotel! I must agree with other reviews that say the beds are uncomfortable and house keeping leaves alot to be desired. Our shower had 2 black hairs in it, with blue shampoo residue on the wall. We are both long haired blonde ladies so obviously it didn't belong to us. The hotel boasts free wifi...what they do nor mention is that it barely works. We were in a main floor room and the iPad was getting a message saying we were out of the wifi area. My iPhone had no reception and would not connect to the wifi...however I step out of the building and it worked 100%. The only saving grace is the front desk staff was all very pleasant, still not worthy of a return trip. All in all, the hotel's website is very misleading!! We are terribly disappointed with our stay and would never recommend this place to anyone!

Ps. We have yet to speak to management but are very interested in what will said.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your review and observation the Hotel always welcomes constructive Guest "feed back & comments" (both good and poor/bad) as they help towards the on-going goal of always trying to improve in all areas of product & service.
The Housekeeping issues that you raise have been handed to that department so that the Supervisors can work with all the Housekeepers (including all the new staff) to improve their training & standards.
As far as the Internet is concerned it was running slowly (due to volume of use) initially and then it died (of course has to happen on a Long Weekend) and a tech was called out (from Calgary) to come and check it; when he arrived he established that the Telus Modem had crashed so he had to replace it to get the service back up and running.

There is some confussion re the observations in regard to the Spruce Grove Inn website (as you say "totally misleading") in that there is no mention on the site of "all rooms have a balcony" (in fact that is the case with the rooms in the Banff Voyager Inn only; in the Spruce Grove Inn only the Superior Rooms have balconies).
Plus you mention that the website does not mention about the hotel amenities - i.e. Pool, Liquor Store, Restaurant etc. - when under the "About Us" Tab (second tab from the left) it states that all the amenities are located at the Banff Voyager Inn: below is what is stated under that Tab:-

"Banff Spruce Grove Inn shares its amenities with the Banff Voyager Inn next door. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna, garden patio, lounge, liquor store and restaurant is on-site at the Banff Voyager Inn. For use at anytime, but especially during the colder winter period, there is a brightly illuminated indoor corridor connecting our two Banff hotels so guests do not have to venture outside even if for just a 50 metre stroll."

Again many thanks for your observations and feed back as mentioned it will be very helpful with the continual, on-going drive for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.