My sister and I decided to take a ladies weekend for May Long and picked the Spruce Grove for availability sake. Our room was supposed to be ready by 4 pm at the latest, but wasn't ready until 6. It was busy so we let it slide. We get in the room and there's garbage from the last guests, including beer bottles on the floor under the bed. It was gross, but we threw them in the trash and let it go. We go out for the rest of the night and come back to sleep. The next morning I wake up and go into the bathroom. There are BLOOD smears on the floor, and on the shower mat. When we took all this evidence of a very poor cleaning, the receptionist gave us 10% off. That was it... She apologized, but we still had to pay over 160 dollars to stay in the filthiest room ever. I was disgusted, and I'm never going back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June 11, 2013
Good day to you,
Report response as inappropriate
I am very sorry to hear about your experiences on your recent stay at the Hotel; your observations are a great concern, unacceptable and they have been brought to the Housekeeping Departments attention to ensure improvements in cleaning and checking of rooms.
I am somewhat surprised that when you went into the room & saw the "garbage" on the floor that you did not contact the Front Desk thereby allowing the Hotel to correct the issues immediately and move you to another room. Especially if the bathroom issues were also noticed - but I note that you state you did not enter the bathroom (even after seeing the "garbage") between going into the room & the next morning?
I totally agree that the issues you reported are not acceptable but I am surprised the Hotel was not given a chance to correct them immediately (i.e. a phone call to the Front Desk); in fact the Hotel was only informed (to a Front Desk Agent) upon "check out" and payment time!
The Front Desk Agent was correct in her actions in that they (Front Desk Agents) are only allowed to give 10% dicounts: when more (high discounts) are expected by Guests they usually request to speak to a Supervisor or Manager - especially when Manager's Business Cards are displayed on the Front Desk counter. As of this point of time none of the Hotel Senior Management (including the General Manager) have not received any direct communication in regards to this stay.
As stated above the "issues" encountered are unacceptable but equally the Hotel should be allowed the chance to correct them immediately prior to demands/expectations of greatly reduced rates.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.