We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The blood stained room...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Spruce Grove Inn to your Saves list
Spruce Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Banff
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The blood stained room...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I decided to take a ladies weekend for May Long and picked the Spruce Grove for availability sake. Our room was supposed to be ready by 4 pm at the latest, but wasn't ready until 6. It was busy so we let it slide. We get in the room and there's garbage from the last guests, including beer bottles on the floor under the bed. It was gross, but we threw them in the trash and let it go. We go out for the rest of the night and come back to sleep. The next morning I wake up and go into the bathroom. There are BLOOD smears on the floor, and on the shower mat. When we took all this evidence of a very poor cleaning, the receptionist gave us 10% off. That was it... She apologized, but we still had to pay over 160 dollars to stay in the filthiest room ever. I was disgusted, and I'm never going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day to you,
I am very sorry to hear about your experiences on your recent stay at the Hotel; your observations are a great concern, unacceptable and they have been brought to the Housekeeping Departments attention to ensure improvements in cleaning and checking of rooms.
I am somewhat surprised that when you went into the room & saw the "garbage" on the floor that you did not contact the Front Desk thereby allowing the Hotel to correct the issues immediately and move you to another room. Especially if the bathroom issues were also noticed - but I note that you state you did not enter the bathroom (even after seeing the "garbage") between going into the room & the next morning?
I totally agree that the issues you reported are not acceptable but I am surprised the Hotel was not given a chance to correct them immediately (i.e. a phone call to the Front Desk); in fact the Hotel was only informed (to a Front Desk Agent) upon "check out" and payment time!
The Front Desk Agent was correct in her actions in that they (Front Desk Agents) are only allowed to give 10% dicounts: when more (high discounts) are expected by Guests they usually request to speak to a Supervisor or Manager - especially when Manager's Business Cards are displayed on the Front Desk counter. As of this point of time none of the Hotel Senior Management (including the General Manager) have not received any direct communication in regards to this stay.
As stated above the "issues" encountered are unacceptable but equally the Hotel should be allowed the chance to correct them immediately prior to demands/expectations of greatly reduced rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    55
    32
    25
See reviews for
28
58
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped by as part of our Rocky Mountaineer Journey......
We were very tired and the quality of this accomodation was very very welcome.
Certainly would give it our acknowledgement! We thought the location was just
brilliant too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Good day,

So many thanks for your kind words and lovely review. Myself and the staff are very glad to hear that you enjoyed a great stay with us.
I trust that the rest of your wonderful trip/vacation was equally enjoyable.
Should you ever decide to re-visit Canada and the beautiful Rockies & Banff we would love to see you and welcome you again.
Sincere regards & safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My mother and I booked this hotel for a weekend getaway after viewing their website. Upon arrival we were terribly disappointed. The website states "all rooms have a balcony", then a few lines down it says "some with balcony"...well we are in a non balcony room with a lovely view of...the balconies of the hotel next door. I awoke from a nap to two teen girls on the balcony across looking in my window and pointing! No where on the website does it state the liquor store, pool area, and restaurant are all located in the next door hotel! I must agree with other reviews that say the beds are uncomfortable and house keeping leaves alot to be desired. Our shower had 2 black hairs in it, with blue shampoo residue on the wall. We are both long haired blonde ladies so obviously it didn't belong to us. The hotel boasts free wifi...what they do nor mention is that it barely works. We were in a main floor room and the iPad was getting a message saying we were out of the wifi area. My iPhone had no reception and would not connect to the wifi...however I step out of the building and it worked 100%. The only saving grace is the front desk staff was all very pleasant, still not worthy of a return trip. All in all, the hotel's website is very misleading!! We are terribly disappointed with our stay and would never recommend this place to anyone!

Ps. We have yet to speak to management but are very interested in what will said.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your review and observation the Hotel always welcomes constructive Guest "feed back & comments" (both good and poor/bad) as they help towards the on-going goal of always trying to improve in all areas of product & service.
The Housekeeping issues that you raise have been handed to that department so that the Supervisors can work with all the Housekeepers (including all the new staff) to improve their training & standards.
As far as the Internet is concerned it was running slowly (due to volume of use) initially and then it died (of course has to happen on a Long Weekend) and a tech was called out (from Calgary) to come and check it; when he arrived he established that the Telus Modem had crashed so he had to replace it to get the service back up and running.

There is some confussion re the observations in regard to the Spruce Grove Inn website (as you say "totally misleading") in that there is no mention on the site of "all rooms have a balcony" (in fact that is the case with the rooms in the Banff Voyager Inn only; in the Spruce Grove Inn only the Superior Rooms have balconies).
Plus you mention that the website does not mention about the hotel amenities - i.e. Pool, Liquor Store, Restaurant etc. - when under the "About Us" Tab (second tab from the left) it states that all the amenities are located at the Banff Voyager Inn: below is what is stated under that Tab:-

"Banff Spruce Grove Inn shares its amenities with the Banff Voyager Inn next door. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna, garden patio, lounge, liquor store and restaurant is on-site at the Banff Voyager Inn. For use at anytime, but especially during the colder winter period, there is a brightly illuminated indoor corridor connecting our two Banff hotels so guests do not have to venture outside even if for just a 50 metre stroll."

Again many thanks for your observations and feed back as mentioned it will be very helpful with the continual, on-going drive for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The room was ok view was terrible the window looked right into Voyager inn next door and u can see the people next door the complimentary Continental breakfast was the worst ever it was all cold u got fruit and muffins hot water for tea was not hot coffee was out if u wanted eggs sausage or bacon the 3 options for hot food u had to pay 7 bucks extra not worth it I was so shocked at what crappy service that was and crappy breakfast i would not stay here again oh and the Voyager inn hot tub is so old and tiny just drive and go to the hot springs

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your "review and feed back"; it is always good to hear constructive comments from Guests.
Like a number of hotels especially within Banff some rooms have better views than others, as such at the Spruce Grove Inn rooms on one side (again like many hotels in the town) do overlook the next door property.
The observations in regard to the complimentary Continental breakfast are comments that will be looked into but they are somewhat confussing as the "Complimentary Breakfast" in fact garners good & positive comments: it does as you say include fruit (both whole & fruit salad) & muffins but also includes yogout, pastries, cereal, toast as well as juices, tea, milk and coffee and as it is a buffet Guests can take as much as they want - the same applies to the hot items (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns).
The Hot Tub in the Voyager Inn has a capacity of 10 people and also available is an outdoor heated swimming pool & indoor dry sauna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A long weekend meant that half of Calgary seemed to be in Banff and I wasn't able to get a room anywhere except at the Voyager inn.

Upon check-in I was directed to the Spruce Grove Inn instead, apparently the Voyager and Spruce Grove are connected. This was probably just as well, because the Voyager main lobby did not inspire confidence in the quality of rooms. The Spruce Grove felt much improved over its sibling.

The room is surprisingly big, easily accommodating the 2 queen beds inside with plenty of extra space to spare, should work nicely for large families.

Do not expect any luxuries here, the bed and linens are basic motel fare, the washroom is clean, the carpeting passably so.

I was in Banff during its busiest time of the year, Alberta's family day long weekend. There is definitely noise in the hallways at night, but it didn't disturb my rest, your own milage may vary.

The hotel is located fairly far from the downtown core. It's walkable, but will probably take you 15 ish minutes each way.

One final note about the parking, there is not enough underground parking at this hotel to accomodate all guests and the parking spots are cramped. If you enter and find it full it's pretty annoying to back out of the place, especially with a large car. I recommend that you put your car in the underground parking early or to look for spaces to park in the nearby Voyager inn or on the street behind the hotel.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in this hotel that have doors that open right into the lobby (on the '4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This will be our second year staying in the hotel from December 30th to January 1st. We book this weekend through Magic Bus Tours and the hotel is included so I'm not exactly sure of the price that is normally charged. The hotel is located close to the end of the Banff Ave strip so everything is still fairly close for walking. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was no iron in the room so we called the front desk and they brough us an iron and an iron board within 10 minutes. The rooms are clean, but very dated. We have only stayed on the main floor, the rooms on the second floor have balconys. One thing that we did notice is the walls are fairly thin, so if you are a little sleeper ask to be moved away from the front hallway. Overall decent stay in a good location!

Room Tip: Try to go to the second floor, if on the main floor ask for a room away from the front foyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Good day to you,

Thank you very much for your comments & observations, these are very helpful for the Hotel going forward especially when it comes to employee training, hotel upkeep and planning hotel capital expenditure.
It is pleasing to hear that the staff - even though it is always a stressful few days over the New Year - were pleasant and helpful & your request (i.e. iron & ironing board) was fullfilled in a timely manner.
The Spruce Grove was built in two stages in 2003 & 2006 and as you mentioned it is due of some upgrades to keep pace with the ever changing expected amenities etc. As mentioned observations and comments such as yours are very helpful when it comes to planning these "capital" upgrades.
Very true, especially over this New Year holiday, it can become noisy especially when one is one the "ground/entrance" floor. The second and third floors at this time of year are also noisy but definitely not as much as the ground floor.
it is true that the second & third floor has rooms - Superior Rooms - that are somewhat bigger in size and that also have balconies.
Once again thank you for your comments & observations and we are glad to hear that your visit to the Hotel & to beautiful Banff was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our room was well appointed and reasonably clean. Unfortunately the housekeeping in the hallways needed attention when we first arrived at about 4:00 PM and still did when we left around 10:00 the next morning. The Q-Tip and string in the photos was on the hallway carpet just outside our room the entire time. We had to go next door to the Voyager Inn to check out in the morning as both are under the same management. Just as others have noted, The Voyager Inn is a dump and we elected to pass on the complimentary breakfast. It looked scary. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Good day and thank you for your "Review" with the very helpful observations and comments.
It is always very good for the hotel to receive constructive "feed back" (both good and bad) because of course it is a continuing on-going process to improve Standards, Guest Service and Guest Experience.
Your photos along with your observations will be very helpful with the continuous training of Housekeeping and in fact ALL employees (including Management) when it comes to remembering the upkeep of the "Common Public Areas" not just the rooms: the corridors etc can tend to get overlooked.
As far as your comments with regard to the Voyager - once Banff enters the "Shoulder Season" and "Slow Season" we tend to just have the Voyager Front Desk open covering both Properties (this is due to all the amenities being in the Voyager).
The Voyager Inn is definitely a much older property (dating back to the mid 1960s) and as such does not have a "modern feel" but it does have all the facilities - such as Hot Tub, Pool, Sauna, small Lounge Bar, Liquor Store and Restaurant - it is a shame that you did not get to try the Restaurant food as it & the restaurant service are getting a lot of good, positive "Feed Back" & Reviews - especially as the restaurant is now open in the evenings with a new menu & theme based on Home (i.e. on site) "Smoking" of many of the menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.