We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room - Won't be for long!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Spruce Grove Inn to your Saves list
Spruce Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Mundelein, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great room - Won't be for long!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our room was well appointed and reasonably clean. Unfortunately the housekeeping in the hallways needed attention when we first arrived at about 4:00 PM and still did when we left around 10:00 the next morning. The Q-Tip and string in the photos was on the hallway carpet just outside our room the entire time. We had to go next door to the Voyager Inn to check out in the morning as both are under the same management. Just as others have noted, The Voyager Inn is a dump and we elected to pass on the complimentary breakfast. It looked scary. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Good day and thank you for your "Review" with the very helpful observations and comments.
It is always very good for the hotel to receive constructive "feed back" (both good and bad) because of course it is a continuing on-going process to improve Standards, Guest Service and Guest Experience.
Your photos along with your observations will be very helpful with the continuous training of Housekeeping and in fact ALL employees (including Management) when it comes to remembering the upkeep of the "Common Public Areas" not just the rooms: the corridors etc can tend to get overlooked.
As far as your comments with regard to the Voyager - once Banff enters the "Shoulder Season" and "Slow Season" we tend to just have the Voyager Front Desk open covering both Properties (this is due to all the amenities being in the Voyager).
The Voyager Inn is definitely a much older property (dating back to the mid 1960s) and as such does not have a "modern feel" but it does have all the facilities - such as Hot Tub, Pool, Sauna, small Lounge Bar, Liquor Store and Restaurant - it is a shame that you did not get to try the Restaurant food as it & the restaurant service are getting a lot of good, positive "Feed Back" & Reviews - especially as the restaurant is now open in the evenings with a new menu & theme based on Home (i.e. on site) "Smoking" of many of the menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    55
    32
    25
See reviews for
28
58
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

On it's own, the Spruce Grove hotel is not that bad - basic, but clean and comfortable. However, they share certain facilities (including restaurant) with the neighbouring Voyager Inn, which is a dump. We ended up skipping breakfast as we were appalled by the restaurant facilities, which looked dated and dirty. Too bad really; it let down our overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your "review"; all observations & comments from Guests help the Hotels in their ongoing goal of ever improving Guest Service, Care and Experiences.
I am glad to hear that you found the Spruce Grove Inn (which is "Rooms Only") to be a of a satisfactory & comfortable stay; it is a newer property (2003 & 2006) that aims to provide to clients looking for a clean, comfortable and mid standard property in Banff.
With regard to the Voyager (the "sister" property to the Spruce Grove) you are absolutely correct - it is a much older property (from the 1960/70s) - it has the "facilities" as well as rooms. Facilities such as - pool, hot tub, lounge, liquor store and yes Restaurant - as mentioned the facilities (including the Restaurant) are a lot older but the products/services provided in them get good reviews; i.e. the restaurant meals & service receive positive responses from Guests.
The restaurant actually is scheduled (in mid October this year) for some renovations & upgrades that will definately change its presentation to customers.
Once again many thanks for your observations & comments they are very helpful to the Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to make a last minute trip to do some hiking before things got busy in the fall. We managed to get a room at the spruce grove inn last minute, at the time we thought we got lucky. We drove in Saturday morning and checked in later in the day, no problems, nice hotel right on the Banff main drag. We had a quick nap and headed out for dinner and returned later that evening. Everything was satisfactory until Monday morning when I woke up covered in bites, specifically my face and back. Several years ago I backpacked through Europe and had an unfortunate encounter with bed bugs while jumping through hostels. I know what they are, there is no mistake, these are bed bugs bites. I met with a physician at the university of Alberta and he confirmed that these are bed bugs and gave me some medication. I will not ever be returning to this hotel, I feel scammed to have paid $200 for a hotel room that had bed bugs, and potentially have brought them into my home because of this hotel. Please do not stay here and warn anyone else going to Banff to stay away from this hotel, Bed Bugs are no laughing matter.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Good day,

The Hotel is very concerned to read your report/comments as these sorts of matters are taken very seriously indeed and immediately act upon when they are reported.
What is even more alarming is that the Hotel has received no notification or feed back on the matter of Guests having bites etc from anything including bed bugs; it is obviously next to impossible to act and treat for any possible case of bed bugs if the Hotel does not know about a possible incident.
The Hotel can absolutely say that it has not received any reports or concerns with regard to possible bed bug incidents or any other insect type occurance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall, the staff was nice, courteous.. the hotel was clean, with safe heated underground parking.

The rooms were basic and clean - however the bed was extremely uncomfortable, worn out.. needed new spring.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and observation in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn here in Banff.
I am glad to hear that you received good, courtious and helpful service from the staff - Guest Service is always the number one focus of the Hotel and we are always striving to improve whenever possible. As you say the Hotel works to provide a clean, safe and quality basic enviroment for our Guests; ranging from a "secure" underground parkade to clean & functional rooms.
It is good to hear your observations with regard to the beds, I thank you for them: obviously beds - their firmness or softness is always a "personal/subjective" preference - but your observations will definitely help towards pushing for "new product" (either whole beds or at least matteress) when it comes to winter refurbishments etc.
Once again so many thanks for your comments & observations and I hope we have the chance to welcome you again to beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Spruce Grove Inn dozens of times in the last 5 years or so on ski vacations, and it is a great hotel to sleep in. Anything more than sleeping (sitting in your room, dining, nightlife or something) leaves lots to be desired, but there are other hotels for that. The Spruce has consistently clean rooms, good beds, quick check-in and out and a heated parkade with ski storage. Some rooms can be noisy at night (its Banff, people drink too much and then wander about), and the walk to town is long if its cold, but its pretty easy stuff to live with.

If all you need is a place to crash after skiing and partying, Spruce is great. I've stayed at lots of Banff hotels, and I like the Spruce the best.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from elevators or the front doors. Rooms facing the courtyard are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and observations; it is always great to hear Guests opinions (both good & bad) as they help both the Hotel & its Staff to work on areas of concern and thereby improve the "Guest Experience".
It is good to hear that the Spruce Grove has often provided you with what you are looking for on your visits to Banff - clean facilities, comfortable beds/rooms, good service etc.
As you rightly said the Hotel is a property that aims to provide a good base for one's stay in Banff and as such it does not pretend to have the extras that one would require if one planned to spend a lot of the time in the Room - we are a comfortable base and are always working to help serve & improve our Guests Experience.
Oh yes Banff can definitely be a "bit of a party" town which does result in some noisy people on the streets well into the night.
Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back & looking after your stays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hotel very clean had a nice welcome meal provided free thats strange room very large a bit dated but comfortable
If you would like to eat close the is a reasonable eatry at the Voyger or the nice flat walk into town is so nice and there are plenty places along the way

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments in regard to your recent stay at the Spruce Grove Inn; it is the Hotels genuine pleasure to provide a "Welcome Reception" for some of our Tour Groups that have travelled a long way to come and visit the lovely Rockie Mountains & beautiful Banff.
As far as the Hotel Rooms we are proud to provide good sized rooms & the amenties are always being reviewed and updated on a yearly basis.
The Voyager Restaurant is currently moving into an exciting stage as it has just started to be open for Dinners (always open for breakfast) with a New "Smoke House Grill" theme with most of the meats being "smoked" on site: the aim is introduce yet another restaurant choice to Banff visitors.
You are absolutely right when you say it is a lovely, scenic and easy walk from the Hotel to Downtown with all of its many quality restaurant choices.
It is always a true pleasure to welcome Guests from overseas to this beautiful area and we strive tomake their stay a very enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room was comfortable and clean with 2 double beds and usual hotel room amenities. A coffee percolator was also standard equipment. Being shoulder season (May), there was no staff in attendance and any enquiries, problems etc had to be directed to the staff in the sister hotel next door. The restaurant was not open and the hotel next door provided dining for breakfast and other meals. It was a 15 minute walk to the centre of town where there were plenty of other dining options.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have their entrances facing onto the reception area. They could be noisy at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.