We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this hike. One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker Ridge Trail

Parker Ridge Trail
Icefields Parkway 93, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
403-762-1550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Attractions in Banff
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“LOVED this hike. One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My hubby and I are so happy we did this hike. We weren't going to because it was quite cold outside (around 40 degrees) when we were there in July and it had been raining off and on. However, we decided we may only get to the beautiful Rockies once, so we went for it! We were so happy we did. We got there around 11:30 AM (started early from Banff National Park) and ate our packed lunch in the car before we started. The pull off had quite a few cars but not a lot of people were doing the hike because you can see one of the glaciers from the road. However, I highly recommend this hike. You do not hike long before you are above the treeline and the views are magnificent. Once at the top, you really feel like you are on top of the world! The view of the Saskatchewan glacier is amazing! Do dress in layers. Even though it was quite cold at the bottom, it was worse at the top and the wind was shocking! However, we were well prepared and honestly, the only part of me that was cold was my face! :) I couldn't stop taking pictures it was that breathtaking. Definitely one of the best views I experienced on our wonderful trip! You won't regret this hike!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I hiked this October 28th, 2013 and there was a significantly amount of snow. Started at 3pm and got up at 4:30 - took a few small breaks but was moving the rest of the time. I'd say in the snow it was strenuous for a decently fit person. Did it after Johnston Canyon in the early AM and Lake Louise for lunch, to give you an idea for timing.

The view at the top was unparalleled. So happy that I went, it was an unforgettable experience. It is pretty far from banff village (2.5 hours?) and the road is rough in the winter - I was going to Jasper, so no issue there. It was very quick to get down but I slipped and fell in the snow a few times. From the tracks some people brought snowboards and snowboarded down, which looked fun (but I assume you're not supposed to). There was no one there for the entire time I was (2 hours in total), so it was a wicked experience to be by yourself. I've never had quiet like I did at the top there, no wind, no sound, nothing.

In the snow you can't see the trail once you get about 70% up so you have to hope someone else has already made it. Near the top I just ended up going straight up instead of doing the side to sides - was more tiring but I couldn't see the trail anyway.

I'd do this again in a second and I'd bring anyone I was with here. If you are not fit and if you are not well prepared I would strongly recommend doing this in the winter months (no idea about the summer)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a easy hike. The panoramic view of the mountains is breathtaking. There is the Saskatchewan glacier, a ship like mountain and a mountain like having many hotel rooms. On the way towards Banff at the big bend, we also saw a herd of mountain goat roaming on the road side then filed on the cliff climbing up Parker Ridge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The trail is a nice steep hike.
A lot of tourists walk this path so you will not be on your own.


The view at the top is worth it.

A must when you stay at Banff,
but not worth a special trip to Banff.

Banff is rather a busy tourist town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My highlight of the Icefields Parkway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was undecided whether to do the Parker Ridge hike or Wilcox Pass hike. So glad I chose Parker Ridge as the view was just spectacular. At the top we took the trail to the left and kept walking to get the best views back up the valley to the glacier.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parker Ridge Trail also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Parker Ridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker Ridge Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.