We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keeps improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Banff Centre

The Banff Centre
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-6300, 800-413-8368 in Alberta and British Columbia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 attractions in Banff
Type: Convention Centers, Theaters
Attraction Details
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“keeps improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We attend Banff Centre every year, it just keeps getting better, more buildings with more to offer. Excellent food, gym, surroundings, deer wandering outside the meeting room, healthy walk to townsite. always want to stay longer and do more:)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    44
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inspiring Creativity!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Absolutely loved the Banff Centre campus when we stayed on site for the Banff Mountain Festival last November 2012. Beautifully laid out with a nice mix of old and contemporary buildings. And sited about the townsite of Banff, you really feel like you are away from it all, surrounding by gorgeous mountains. This truly is and creativity inspiring and thought provoking place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were surprised at the number of attractive shops there selling local artwork at prices that we could afford. It was also very interesting to see the totem poles just outside the centre.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best Value for Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for a week as part of a conference group. The group rate at the hotel is the best vale of all 4 star hotels in town. The best part is the Breakfast buffet included in the package. They make omelet to your order. The view from the window is fantastic and service was good. The low point was the gym with the staff who do not seem to care about guests. Anyway, who cares about the gym when you can walk around trails all day? There is a 10 minute short cut to town, which goes around a cemetery.

The young front desk staff are more of a group party attitude, rather than of professional service. They seem to focus on themselves or each other rather than guests. There were so many staff but many of them stood around, eye-scanning guests inline. When you ask for information, the answer was not impolite but was rather short and not spontaneous. We did not know that the path light of this short cut goes off at 9 pm. We had to walk along the regular road in the pitch dark for 20 minutes or more. We had to use the light our iPhone for our safety. We should have been told about this. Having said that, we found the senior staff at the front desk friendly and attentive. The management should train and motivate the young staff at the front desk. A nice building and facility but a large room for improvement of service at the front desk and the gym.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the best location for an overall view of Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Came for a seminar. Stayed and had most meals here. The Vista dining room had a marvellous view of the mountain s and town. Along the way up there's also a few stop points to get picturesque view of Fairmont Banff Spring. Accommodation-wise was acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banff Centre also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Banff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Banff Centre to your Saves list