We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keeps improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Banff Centre

The Banff Centre
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403 762 6301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 72 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Banff Centre presents over 400 public concerts, performing arts events, festivals, and gallery exhibits each year. Premier events include the Banff Summer Arts Festival, the Banff Mountain Film & Book Festival, the Banff International String Quartet Competition, and Banff Jazz. The Banff Centre is the largest arts and creativity incubator on the planet. Our mission is inspiring creativity! Tickets to all events may be purchased on our website.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“keeps improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We attend Banff Centre every year, it just keeps getting better, more buildings with more to offer. Excellent food, gym, surroundings, deer wandering outside the meeting room, healthy walk to townsite. always want to stay longer and do more:)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    60
    14
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Inspiring Creativity!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Absolutely loved the Banff Centre campus when we stayed on site for the Banff Mountain Festival last November 2012. Beautifully laid out with a nice mix of old and contemporary buildings. And sited about the townsite of Banff, you really feel like you are away from it all, surrounding by gorgeous mountains. This truly is and creativity inspiring and thought provoking place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were surprised at the number of attractive shops there selling local artwork at prices that we could afford. It was also very interesting to see the totem poles just outside the centre.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Best Value for Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for a week as part of a conference group. The group rate at the hotel is the best vale of all 4 star hotels in town. The best part is the Breakfast buffet included in the package. They make omelet to your order. The view from the window is fantastic and service was good. The low point was the gym with the staff who do not seem to care about guests. Anyway, who cares about the gym when you can walk around trails all day? There is a 10 minute short cut to town, which goes around a cemetery.

The young front desk staff are more of a group party attitude, rather than of professional service. They seem to focus on themselves or each other rather than guests. There were so many staff but many of them stood around, eye-scanning guests inline. When you ask for information, the answer was not impolite but was rather short and not spontaneous. We did not know that the path light of this short cut goes off at 9 pm. We had to walk along the regular road in the pitch dark for 20 minutes or more. We had to use the light our iPhone for our safety. We should have been told about this. Having said that, we found the senior staff at the front desk friendly and attentive. The management should train and motivate the young staff at the front desk. A nice building and facility but a large room for improvement of service at the front desk and the gym.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the best location for an overall view of Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Came for a seminar. Stayed and had most meals here. The Vista dining room had a marvellous view of the mountain s and town. Along the way up there's also a few stop points to get picturesque view of Fairmont Banff Spring. Accommodation-wise was acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banff Centre also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Banff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.