We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banff Centre

The Banff Centre
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403 762 6301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 72 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Banff Centre presents over 400 public concerts, performing arts events, festivals, and gallery exhibits each year. Premier events include the Banff Summer Arts Festival, the Banff Mountain Film & Book Festival, the Banff International String Quartet Competition, and Banff Jazz. The Banff Centre is the largest arts and creativity incubator on the planet. Our mission is inspiring creativity! Tickets to all events may be purchased on our website.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were surprised at the number of attractive shops there selling local artwork at prices that we could afford. It was also very interesting to see the totem poles just outside the centre.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    67
    14
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best Value for Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for a week as part of a conference group. The group rate at the hotel is the best vale of all 4 star hotels in town. The best part is the Breakfast buffet included in the package. They make omelet to your order. The view from the window is fantastic and service was good. The low point was the gym with the staff who do not seem to care about guests. Anyway, who cares about the gym when you can walk around trails all day? There is a 10 minute short cut to town, which goes around a cemetery.

The young front desk staff are more of a group party attitude, rather than of professional service. They seem to focus on themselves or each other rather than guests. There were so many staff but many of them stood around, eye-scanning guests inline. When you ask for information, the answer was not impolite but was rather short and not spontaneous. We did not know that the path light of this short cut goes off at 9 pm. We had to walk along the regular road in the pitch dark for 20 minutes or more. We had to use the light our iPhone for our safety. We should have been told about this. Having said that, we found the senior staff at the front desk friendly and attentive. The management should train and motivate the young staff at the front desk. A nice building and facility but a large room for improvement of service at the front desk and the gym.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best location for an overall view of Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Came for a seminar. Stayed and had most meals here. The Vista dining room had a marvellous view of the mountain s and town. Along the way up there's also a few stop points to get picturesque view of Fairmont Banff Spring. Accommodation-wise was acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only used the Gym facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was looking for place to work out while spending time in Banff. The Banff Centre sits just above the town with awsome views. The gym was excellant, olympic size pool, steams rooms, rock climbing room(even across the ceiling) and all very, very clean. $10.00 a day for a drop in!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Banff Centre has such marvelous views from almost every building. Its a great place to hold a conference.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banff Centre also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Banff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.