We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave and Basin National Historic Site

Cave and Basin National Historic Site
Cave Ave. | west of downtown Banff, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-1566
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Winter Tour: Banff and its Wildlife
Ranked #9 of 22 Attractions in Banff
Type: Historic Sites, Hot Springs/ Geysers, Specialty Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved discovering the Sunshine Canyon. Paved, wide trail most of the way to the canyon along the Bow River was wonderful and the reward of the falls at the canyon was well worth it. We only explored a little bit - there is much more to the trail and there are many options for side-trips. Good for the whole family, bicyclists and even skateboarders and roller bladers.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    117
    66
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were glad we went here. We had an annual park pass so didn't have to pay for the entrance. We enjoyed lifting the horns of different animals and the ladies there were so good in imparting there knowledge. It was enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine FL
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Several guides had identified this as a major sight so I took a chance and was delighted. Wish I could have visited when this was open as a pool. I took the walking tour so I could see the hole that originally accessed the cave. The history of the development was very well presented. I was visiting at the end of the day or would have enjoyed even ore time on the hiking trails.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Hike arround”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We hiked around Cave and Basin. Great place is on the way to Sundance Canyon. Really famous for being a starter to Banff. Museum is small but worth a stop. Building is amazing from 30' and had been renovated 2 years ago with amazing stone work!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smelly hot springs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Not to much to see and the smell is pretty over powering. The guides there are great and are more then willing to answer your questions. There are interesting movies there on the history of the area especially how it became Canada's first national park.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave and Basin National Historic Site also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Cave and Basin National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave and Basin National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.