We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save it for a rainy day!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cave and Basin National Historic Site

Cave and Basin National Historic Site
Cave Ave. | west of downtown Banff, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-1566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 61 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Save it for a rainy day!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is one of those places that could be a whole lot better. Parts of it are quite interesting but is just seems to lack something. With so much to see and do in the area I would suggest this is kept on the reserve list or just used to fill a couple of hours on a rainy day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    182
    95
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting and easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was staying in town and walked from my hotel. Interesting for those who like to see the earth in action. The cave walk is very short but worth the $3.90/per admission. You have to climb stairs to see the outside pools, the cave skylight and snails but it's easy and worth the effort.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting but ......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Lots to read and learn about regarding the Sulfur Spring and the Prison Camp.
I'm not sure why but I came away with an unimpressed feeling as if they could have done something more for the visitors to help tell the stories but I can't complain about the $3.90 adult entrance fee as what can you do for that amount now a days.

I think kids would be extremely bored with this attraction.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very neat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Learned a lot, with good information and displays throughout! We liked seeing the natural hotspring! We spent just over an hour there and covered pretty much everything!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Overrated visitor centre not worth the entrance fee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Even though this is the original site of the Banff sulphur springs the visitor centre is absolutely soulless and sterile. The actual pool and it's history is a bit interesting but overall not worth the entrance fee even on a rainy day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave and Basin National Historic Site also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Cave and Basin National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave and Basin National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.