We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Mountain Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Mountain Chalets to your Saves list
Castle Mountain Chalets
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins here for 3 nights on our recent trip around the Rockies. We found it to be quite spacious and very comfortable, and very clean & tidy with all essentials provided. The setting at the base of Castle Mountain is just gorgeous, and the grounds are very pretty with flowers everywhere. The beds were comfortable, and yes - we heard the train, but it didn't really bother us much at all. I had read the reviews here beforehand and brought along ear-plugs but never bothered to use them.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the young gentleman who checked us in. We made use of the laundry facilities there, which worked very well and effectively. The games/common room was very comfortable too - the kids loved playing fuseball. Couldn't get the computer working there but the Wi-Fi was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    39
    8
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife booked this as surprise for me, it was our wedding anniversary and her birthday, the log cabin was absolutely fantastic, very cozy and just what we expected. we were greeted by a bottle of champagne and a card which was very nice. The cabin we stayed in was close to the train tracks but did not bother us at all, the staff at the office/shop were excellent and the location make it perfect for hikes, and the views of Castle Mountain are stunning. Would we go back again, you bet we have booked for another couple of nights in November, its hard to see reviews that are negative especially regarding the trains but that is Banff NP. This is a wonderful place to stay and they are pet friendly, most recommended.

Room Tip: The whole site is by the train tracks but do not let that bother you, if you go to the train tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Let's start from positive things: the rooms are very beatiful and clean and the location is not bad as you are in the middle of Banff, Jasper and Kootenay NP. However there are so many problem that made our stay very bad (in fact absolutely the worst for us in 3 weeks in Canada). First of all the quality of sleep: the bed is the worst we never find as it is really to soft. The room was too hot, and you absolutely could not open the window for the noise outside. The noise of train is really not reasonable: it's not just a train passing away, there are trains till late night and early in the morning with the whistle of the train which is really in your room and last 30 seconds. There was also a very bad smell in the room. But what is absolutely not acceptable is the behaviour of the management.
Each room and cabin has a parking assigned with the number of the room. When we arrived it was raining but our parking was not available. We ask why and the answer of the lady at the reception was that the car on our parking was of the owner (or manager) that stay in one room but has 2 cars and so want to use also the parking of a guest. We had to park outside and bring our luggage under the rain. The lady said that during our dinner she could solve the problem, but when we came back the car was still there. Consider that there was a bycicle race and there was no way to park anyway inside and ouside. It was even more ridicolous because there was a message that due to the race nobody has to have more than one car (but of course this apply only to guests who pays 300 $ for night but not for the owner). The morning we complained again and we asked to speak with the manager. When we came back in the evening after a full hiking day, our parking was still busy and there was no other way to park. We needed to wait half an hour to have a shower. Another young girl at the reception was the only one helpful and reasonable and did her best and after an hour the car was finally removed. We ask to speak to the manager but she was not available also at this time (is she a manager or a special guest with 2 parkings?). Finally in the morning we met the manager we explained what happened and we ask at list for a discount due to the fact that we payed for a service (the parking) which was not available for us. No way: the best she was able to say was she was sorry, but for her there was nothing strange in her behavoiur. One important note: there is no way to cancel your nights as soon as you arrive so, our strong suggestion is, if you really want to come here, book only one night: then if you are able to sleep, book the other nights, if you are not able, thank this review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear you had such a negative experience. We do appreciate all comments and believe they are our opportunity to change and get better.

I'd like to address one particular issue you presented as there seemed to be a misunderstanding. The vehicles that parked in your spot were paying guests, not the owner as you suggested. As we could not (on the first night) immediately determine who the vehicle parked in your provided space belonged to, we asked the owner who was there for the Bike Event (as we were sponsors), to immediately move his van to accommodate your vehicle. On the second night, unfortunately another paying guest parked in your space again. When we were notified by you that this happened, we were able to determine who that vehicle belonged to and immediately asked them to move. In both cases, the situation was resolved in about 10 minutes.

The trains played a major role in history bringing people during the Gold Rush days in the early 1800 to settle in the mountains. Without them we would probably not be here. The trains are a common comment made about this location. People either love them or hate them. We do mention them on our website so that guests are aware.

We pride ourselves on taking all concerns seriously and trying to ensure the guest has a great experience. Had you mentioned your other concerns to us we would have tried to rectify them.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The cabins are exactly what we expected, simple and cozy. The location is great, close to Banff and other local attractions. The staff are wonderful, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here over the easter long weekend and it was excellent. We had our own little cabin that was complete with kitchen, living room and fireplace. The room was very cozy and clean, The staff are nice and they even have a little convenience store which had a decent liquor selection. There is a games room and common area if you want to venture out from the cabin to relax and mingle. My only complaint was the hot tub was a little small and always busy with people but then again it was winter. There is lots to do in the area if you are into hiking, snowboarding or cross country skiing. A great place tucked away in the mountains.

Room Tip: select a room that backs onto the road instead of the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The lodge is rather new and we had a great suite with own living room and kitchenette. This is great after a long day of hiking. you are right between Banff and Lake Louise which makes the options so much wider than being in either location fixed.

The rooms were spotless clean and fresh. All you can ask for a lodge in the nowhere.

The hottub was... too hot. Never happened to me before but I believe this was accident. you could have grilled a lobster in there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We traveled there in hopes to stay 3 nights in mountain’s serenity.
The first look at the accommodations didn’t disappoint us. The chalets look great, very clean and large. They are not inexpensive, but it looked like they offered the value to the money. Very soon however, we discovered that there was a railway trail almost adjacent to the cabins, approximately 50 meters from ours. At night every hour or so there was a train passing by and honking very loudly. As a result we couldn’t sleep the entire night. We didn’t stay past the first night and checked out in the morning.
My husband is an engineer and he estimated the sound at about 100 decibels. If you can sleep through that, than it’s a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay because of the trains.

Banff National Park was actually built by the train system that came through the mountains, and as such the trains are a big part of the history. On our website we do make note of the trains and their whistle blowing to make guests aware. Plus on Trip Advisor many guests have commented on the trains going by and blowing their horns. Some love it, some no so much. Unfortunately, we have no control over the train blowing its whistle as it goes through a road crossing.

We do appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Mountain Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.