We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Mountain Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Mountain Chalets to your Saves list
Castle Mountain Chalets
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall very good. Its a little pricey for what you get, but the reality is everything in and around Banff is this way, especially in the height of summer. The location is spectacular though and pretty much makes it worthwhile. Far enough from the packed streets of Banff to be really pleasant, but close enough to Banff and Lake Louise to make visiting extremely easy. We actually managed to get 4 adults and 1 two year old into a deluxe chalet (As the two beds were sold out) and although cosy worked out great. The chalet itself was very comfortable and offered everything you could possibly need and the onsite shop was very helpful when you forgot a few essentials.........as for the train, yes it does come by and yes it makes some noise, but it wasn't enough to wake anyone in our chalet and if you've read about it here, it shouldn't be a surprise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    9
    13
    7
See reviews for
33
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were disappointed in the Castle Mountain Chalet. It looked much nicer online but the 2 bedroom suite we stayed in was very over priced for the quality of the room. It was very old and did not feel clean and homey. There were ants and just did not have a nice feeling about the whole place. The outside of the cabins are nice but insides need an update and a little TLC. i.e. broken towel hooks in the bathroom. The train line runs right behind the property which would not be a big deal, but it crosses a road and honks and honks its horn when it goes by. It is a very busy train line so there is a lot of noise.
Don't change your mind either once you book. We tried to change our plans and move closer into Banff and the WOULD NOT refund us for our second night.
We did have some nice elk sighting while we were there but that is about the only positive thing I can say.
We will NOTbe back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We are located in the wilderness, in a National Park, and as such the potential of wildlife, critters, etc is possible.

Our cancellation policy states that we require 14 days as our property is more of a destination, as it is not located in a town or city where people just drive by or walk in. People generally plan ahead to come stay with us and as such we have a longer cancellation policy so as to not lose potential reservations.

When you requested and early checkout the issues you stated were not mentioned, but instead that you decided to go elsewhere to be closer to friends. The Front Office Manager went to speak with you at your cabin in regards to your request to leave early to be closer to friends. Had you mentioned your disappointment with your cabin (cleanliness, broken towel rack, etc), we would have been more than happy to correct those issues for you. We do pride ourselves on providing clean accommodations to our guests as seen in many other comments made by others on Trip Advisor. At times we may miss something, however if given the opportunity, we always correct the issues presented.

We do appreciate your constructive comments, as it will only allow us to improve and get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Halfway between Banff and Lake Louise and even closer to the Kootenay National Park. This makes it a great base for local hiking. The kitchen had more amenities than I was expecting, could not have asked for more. Staff were very helpful and could tell us what trails were open this early and where the bears were hanging out. Clean, well kept and convenient. We heard the trains but somehow did not disturb our sleep. Maybe because we were in Cabin 10 which was not the closest cabin to the tracks. Active osprey nest on the bridge there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable and charming chalet in the mountains for a reasonable price, look no further than Castle Mountain Chalets. My husband and I stayed here in April for a last-minute getaway from Calgary and we weren't disappointed in the least. We were also travelling with our dog and the staff went out of their way to make him comfortable as well. When we arrived there was a pet bed, two bowls, and treats waiting for him! Above and beyond!

The chalet itself was lovely; ours had a king sized bed, a pull-out sofa, a small kitchenette that suited our needs perfectly and a nice bathroom. The best part, we felt, was the wood stove. When you arrive in your cabin there will already be kindling in the stove, wood chopped on your front step, and some wood stacked inside as well. It gave the chalet a romantic feel, and we were very comfortable. We would light the fire in the evening, open the window for the fresh mountain air, cook a snack in the kitchen and have a glass of wine. Just lovely! There is also a radio with iPod docking station and a tv with dvd player. Everything you could want!

The small resort area also has a hot tub, some BBQs, a group campfire if you wanted to sit outside, and a recreational facility. There is a store onsite as well with some grocery items, fresh coffee, and whatever else you might need. There is a popular hike nearby too; Johnston Canyon, that we recommend if you want to do a short trail (6km total for upper falls) but still get a great view.

We would definitely recommend this place, as it was clean and cozy and the staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Castle Mountain Chalets are in a beautiful location, close enough to Banff but far enough away to enjoy the quietness of the mountains. We stayed in a 1 Bedroom Deluxe Cabin, it had everything we needed, it was comfortable, warm and when staying during the winter months a beautiful log fire. We would recommend Castle Mountain and defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth Paying The Extra For The Deluxe Cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Pine Cabin #18 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabin was very clean and adorable and is equipped with everything you need. The staff were very friendly and the location is excellent. I would highly recommend Castle Mountain Chalets to anyone looking to spend any time in the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I recently stayed here with family and we absolutely loved the place. The cabin was very cozy, clean, and the staff were wonderful. The place is pet friendly which was a must for us. Very pet friendly actually as they even had a little bowl of dog treats for our canine companion upon arrival. The location is a little bit of a drive from Banff so it is not overly convenient for dining out there, but in my opinion it is well worth getting accomodations away from the town just to have the tranquility. Far nicer to cook in the cabin and enjoy a glass of wine on your own deck than to deal with the raucous crowds in Banff! There are some nice show-shoeing/x-country skiing trails right out of the doorstep, and the outdoor hot tub provides welcome relief to the aches that later accompany these activities. I intend to try and come here again in the summer time as I imagine it must be equally as lovely then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Mountain Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.