We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure in the Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Mountain Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castle Mountain Chalets to your Saves list
Castle Mountain Chalets
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Treasure in the Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed here two years in a row while crossing the country and have found it to be a true treasure. Nestled in the majestic Banff mountains, the air and scenery relax us like no where else and we love the trains, fantastic log cabins and great trails. We take our dogs with us and they love the huge bathroom with tile floors to sleep on to keep them cool. The trains were startling at first but we quickly get used to them and they add to the feeling of being somewhere special. The delux cabin we stay in has a fireplace in the living room, French doors through to a bedroom with a very comfortable bed, a huge bathroom with a whirlpool tub, a kitchen and wonderful porch. Bring your own food as there is nothing close in terms of shopping or resturants.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    39
    8
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My cabin was huge. Someone could live there permanently and be very comfortable. The bathroom alone is the size of most hotel rooms. It had a great big great shower and a jacuzzi. The full size kitchen had many more utensils, pots & pans, etc. than most rentals. Like a permanent residence, this place was fully furnished with everything you could possibly need. It had a big porch facing the wilderness in the back so you felt you were alone in the woods.
The only negative is the unfortunate train tracks very close by. Trains ran by regularly with their horns blasting even in the middle of the night. Buy ear plugs & go there anyway. It is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Location is good as it is between Lake Louise and Banff on the Bow Valley Parkway and close to several places worth visiting e.g. Johnston's Canyon. Accommodation was satisfactory but the regular trains and the fact that they sound their whistles as they go past (day and night) made is not such a restful place. I live by a train line in the UK and could easily cope with the sound of the trains as they go past (which takes a while as they are quite long) but the shrill whistle in the early hours of the morning was very disturbing..... It was only when i checked out after a 3 day stay that I saw that they had ear plugs in a bowl at reception :-(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at Castle Mountain for the past 10 years. We always stay in the Deluxe Cabin which has everything we need and even allows us to bring our dog with us. This year, unlike every other year , the service was the worst thing I have ever experienced. We have always been knows as a "repeat guest" and because of that we have always got a great rate. This year that did not happen. We enjoyed staying here because we got to know the great staff that was always been there in the past. This year the staff would not even look at us let alone even say a simple hello. There was a great maintenance guy with his dog who always looked after us and have noticed he too has even left. What happened to this place that all the key staff keep leaving? The owners need to look into this as I have kept in touch with certain staff who are no longer there who still should be! I am sorry to say that we will no longer be returning to Castle. The owners need to be aware that this place is just not the same place that we used to call our home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended by the visitor center in Lake Louise. We wouldn't have known about it otherwise. We opted for an older (1940's) but spacious cabin. Well-stocked kitchenette, wood stove, comfy love seat, down comforter. Our 2 dogs were provided with beds, bowls, treats and waste bags. And they only charged us for 1 dog. Large lawn area with stocked fire pit. New large lodge with fireplace, sofas; HUGE barbecue and seating on the deck. Rustic but with everything you need; we'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Having lived in Fernie, Whistler and Invermere I have to say this location gives the biggest bang for your Rocky Mountain Buck. Epic views, great access to the valley and a wonderfully comfortable setting for unwinding in the heart of it all. Clean, comfortable and very well appointed, this is a perfectly relaxing setting to unwind in a low density establishment - hot tub, barbecue and fire pit are all quiet and well set up. General store, liquor store and gas pump are an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi, michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed there for eight nights and every evening I looked forward to unwinding with some wine on our front porch with a beautiful view of Castle mountain. We are planning to drive back from Michigan again! The location was most convenient for us. Staff was nice and friendly, location was beautiful. Saw black bears and elk nearby. Osprey nest with babies right outside cabins on top of bridge and prairie dogs playing right outside the cabins.

I read some of the negative reviews again prior to posting to see if I could address some of their comments. Firstly our one-bedroom deluxe cabin was definitely luxurious (see the photos) so it is possible that people that said their cabins were not may have been in a different class cabin. Also, the poor reviews are absolutely accurate about the train and its whistle; however, we embraced the train and its noise and could tune it out very easily. I am usually a light sleeper but just being in this awesome location relaxed me so much that the train did not bother me. Loved the fact that we were close to Banff but far enough to feel like we were in the middle of nowhere.

Housekeeping did a good job but was not consistent. First day a couple of kids came and asked if we needed anything and that was it. Nobody made our beds or anything so after that we made sure that we hung the "please make up room" tag outside the door before leaving for day hikes. That did the trick. Room was made beautifully, even the fire laid for us!! Every day the little container of bath/spa salts was refilled for our Jacuzzi. Couple of issues (oven not working, one of the blinds not working) we reported to the front office and were fixed completely before we returned in the pm. The kitchen really served us well. The staff at the front desk helped with hikes and other information like the farmer's market in Banff on Wednesday so personally we had a very good experience. The daily charge is high but not inconsistent with the entire Banff area; however, $25 fee per day was high for Diesel dog cause it added up to $200 over our stay (I think there should be a max beyond which it should keep applying). However, Diesel loved the place and slept so peacefully (perhaps the hikes did him in). Cabin staff even gave us bowls for his water and food and had some treats for him the first day which was a nice touch.

I have tried to put as much information as I cold and tried to be as fair as I could. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 was wonderful, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Mountain Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.