We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Mountain High” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Mountain Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castle Mountain Chalets to your Saves list
Castle Mountain Chalets
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rocky Mountain High”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Having lived in Fernie, Whistler and Invermere I have to say this location gives the biggest bang for your Rocky Mountain Buck. Epic views, great access to the valley and a wonderfully comfortable setting for unwinding in the heart of it all. Clean, comfortable and very well appointed, this is a perfectly relaxing setting to unwind in a low density establishment - hot tub, barbecue and fire pit are all quiet and well set up. General store, liquor store and gas pump are an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    39
    8
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
novi, michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed there for eight nights and every evening I looked forward to unwinding with some wine on our front porch with a beautiful view of Castle mountain. We are planning to drive back from Michigan again! The location was most convenient for us. Staff was nice and friendly, location was beautiful. Saw black bears and elk nearby. Osprey nest with babies right outside cabins on top of bridge and prairie dogs playing right outside the cabins.

I read some of the negative reviews again prior to posting to see if I could address some of their comments. Firstly our one-bedroom deluxe cabin was definitely luxurious (see the photos) so it is possible that people that said their cabins were not may have been in a different class cabin. Also, the poor reviews are absolutely accurate about the train and its whistle; however, we embraced the train and its noise and could tune it out very easily. I am usually a light sleeper but just being in this awesome location relaxed me so much that the train did not bother me. Loved the fact that we were close to Banff but far enough to feel like we were in the middle of nowhere.

Housekeeping did a good job but was not consistent. First day a couple of kids came and asked if we needed anything and that was it. Nobody made our beds or anything so after that we made sure that we hung the "please make up room" tag outside the door before leaving for day hikes. That did the trick. Room was made beautifully, even the fire laid for us!! Every day the little container of bath/spa salts was refilled for our Jacuzzi. Couple of issues (oven not working, one of the blinds not working) we reported to the front office and were fixed completely before we returned in the pm. The kitchen really served us well. The staff at the front desk helped with hikes and other information like the farmer's market in Banff on Wednesday so personally we had a very good experience. The daily charge is high but not inconsistent with the entire Banff area; however, $25 fee per day was high for Diesel dog cause it added up to $200 over our stay (I think there should be a max beyond which it should keep applying). However, Diesel loved the place and slept so peacefully (perhaps the hikes did him in). Cabin staff even gave us bowls for his water and food and had some treats for him the first day which was a nice touch.

I have tried to put as much information as I cold and tried to be as fair as I could. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 was wonderful, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatland, Wyoming
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very nice deluxe cabin, excellent housekeeping, they even lay a fire for you in the fireplace, comfy bed, all amenities that you need for a great stay. Pet friendly and all pet owners were quiet and responsible that we met. Nice little store to pick up little things you need for your stay. Great location, you can take the Bow Valley parkway to Banff and see wildlife. Actually, we had big bull elk come thru the cabin area.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 10, nice location, but didn't see a bad location for a cabin on the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We are a family party of 5 from England. We stayed at Castle Mountain chalets at the beginning of April and we couldnt have chosen better. The chalet was all we could have expected. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There was thick snow and this added to our fun. The outdoor hot tub, BBQ and fire pit were great with everything provided......just take your own food. It was a quiet time so everything was readily available but would definitely return at any time of year. We hired snow shoes for about 5 dollars a pair......about 12 to 20 dollars in the town.
We missed our dogs back in England so were pleased when Avalanche ,a lovely dog, joined us one evening. We accidentally left an i.pod behind and the staff kindly posted it home to us.
An amazing place.....one of those to do things!

Room Tip: All chalets looked good. We had 2 rooms and a sofa bed in the lounge. It appears quiet wherever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights as a Christmas gift from our son in Toronto. Very dog friendly & comfortable cabins. Complete small kitchen with oven, full bathroom with tub, king size bed and a wood burning fireplace. Wood is free & plentiful. The setting is simply outstanding. Hikes within a 5 min. walk from units. A well supplied country type store plus service station is on property. They even sell beer, wine, and liquor!
Cabins are quite pricey but well worth it for a splurge. Would love to return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My cabin was so cozy and perfect, I loved it! Spent Christmas there with my family/dogs, and will be returning this year! Enjoyed wine by the fire, while roasting smores. The trains weren't that bad, didn't even really hear them. Seeing a wolf, and hearing them howl at night was a real treat! Take the back roads instead of the highway to get there, so beautiful. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

we booked a room with these folks and our stay was amazing. The on site staff were nice. The room we booked, an apt style suite, was fantastic and had a great view of the mountains. It was clean, had cable, fully equipped kitchen and a warm fireplace. There is a train that passes through ie Canadian Pacific rail, but we actually enjoyed the sound of the passing trains. We would definitely love to stay here again!

Room Tip: the apt style rooms are above the activity centre, so i imagine that during the summer, it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Banff and Lake Louise, in the heart of Banff National Park, you'll find a breathtaking location and the perfect getaway resort - Castle Mountain Chalets. Beautifully designed and furnished individual chalets are where you will relax in this nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Mountain Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;