We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bumpers Inn to your Saves list
Bumpers Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H*, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A TripAdvisor Member
“Rude staff!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2005

I stayed in Banff with a couple of friends during a road trip across Canada. Beautiful town - would love to go back when the mountains are open for skiing. Stayed at Bumpers Inn because it was cheap. We were checked in by a rude staff member, she was more insterested in chatting to her friends on the phone than helping us. Very condescending (and judgemental) towards 3 young femlaes, she even warned us about noise etc - before we'd even checked in!! The room smelt pretty bad - sort of musty and old. Rooms sparsely furnished but clean, no facilities onsite like a pool or restaurant. And too far from the main centre of town - at least a 20 minute walk. Friends of ours stayed at The Red Carpet - about $10 extra a night, and only 5 minutes to town. We ate at Bruno's - great little bar/restaurant, just off the main street.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
54
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

When we first got there, the front desk agent gave us a room full of mouse traps accidently, then we moved to a second floor room, which was nicer because of the vaulted ceilings. The bathroom was nice, it must've been fairly recently rennovated. I didn't like the location so much, as it is a long walk from the town centre. Overall it was decent and clean, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

I was keen to visit Canada because of its natural beauty and unbeatable snow record.So I arrived to a winter wonderland and more than a friendly hospitable welcome upon arrival at my accomodation.My room was well equipped with all facilities that I required. It was warm and most inviting to power shower after a days fun on the slopes or absorbing the clean crisp air whilst strolling around the national park. The frequent sight of rare to the brit wildlife was great and also educational. The food in town was above quality standard and priced fairly to anyones budget and always served with a smile and full etiquette How sad after 12 days of heaven was I to have to leave such a beautiful clean friendly and relaxed way of life and to only dream of the opportunity of one day living there. Roll on next January.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

Stayed in Bumpers for 4 nights as part of 3 week vacation in Canada. We had a very large room with comfortable bed. This motel is one of the cheapest in Banff and it certainly did not dissapoint. We would stay here again if ever in Banff.
Dinned in Bumpers Steak house for three nights. The self service salad bar was great.
You also get a 10% discount for breakfast in a restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

Stayed for 2 days - rates were more than reasonable for Banff. Large, clean room, Cable TV, Located on the edge of Banff (but easy walking distance to the centre)
Best point was the nearby Bumpers Beef House, which served fantastic Prime Rib and steak for very reasonable prices.
Great base to explore Banff for a great price

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2005

It was the lowest cost we could find and we were not disappointed. It is a block off the main street Banff Ave and we had a room that was on the backside facing the forest - very quiet! They gave us 10% discount off of breakfast at a near by restaurant. We did not get a chance to try the steak house next door but did try the Japanese restaurant a block away (Miki) and it was very good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

if you are looking for a no frills, friendly, clean place to stay at very reasonable rates, bumpers inn is the place to go - we spent 6 nights there may 05 - used it as a base for exploring - the staff are excellent the beds very comfortable, coffee and tea in your room and tops ups if you need them

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H*, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumpers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.