We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather faded, but a comfortable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bumpers Inn

Save Saved
You added Bumpers Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   603 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Rather faded, but a comfortable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a rather faded looking motel on the edge of town; our room seemed rather dark and dated – but it was comfortable and quite a good size. It had a microwave and a fridge, and a bath tub that I could just about lie down in. The hotel has coffee in the lobby in the morning, but no breakfast; for eating in the evening there’s a good restaurant next door (nice food, quick service and not expensive). The hotel is very easy to find, just off the main road into town, but is in a quiet location. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Altogether, you could do a lot worse than staying here, and you’ll probably quite enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
11
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

basic accomodations but clean & convenient. Great for using as a base to explore Banff & Lake Louise. Room included a fridge, micro, & coffee pot. New mattress- very comfy. No A/C though. got a little warm in the late afternoon. Good steakhouse next door. Can't be beat for the price!

Room Tip: we had a bottom floor room. No elevator available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Banff is quite expensive so this little motel on the edge of town does not break the bank. A basic but functional establishment. No A/C or ceiling fans so the rooms are a bit stuffy in summer. Car park is a bit tatty but hey it's free. Steak house restaurant worth the go next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and it was fine. Quite a walk into downtown Banff but the room was good with fridge and microwave. 2 big beds , very comfortable the tired exterior belies the comfort of the rooms. Good Wifi, cheap, 3.10 dollars for the length of your stay .added bonus was a visit from a female elk, the animal type not a weird American cult figure.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I feel guilty rating this 2 stars since the staff were so helpful, but..

The room was a problem.
- First and foremost, there was no air conditioning, no fan. We were so hot in our room that we couldn't sleep two nights running.
- Walls were very thin, we could hear our neighbors talking in their rooms.
- Our windows faced into a courtyard/lounge area, so we couldn't leave our curtains open most of the time.
- The lack of plugs meant I had to unplug the alarm clock to charge my camera.

Ok. Upsides:
- microwave and fridge
- wifi is free, works well
- friendly, helpful staff
- inexpensive for Banff

Also, Bumpers Inn is well away from the center of downtown Banff. That didn't bother us as we aren't into shopping or nightlife...but if you are, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I read lots of reviews before selecting this place. It is pretty much what the other reviews say, so I knew what I was getting into. I therefore cannot complain that I wasn't warned.

Banff is very expensive and I did not wish to lay down too much money for a room we would not be spending much time in, so we went the budget route. 'Budget' is a relative term. We paid around $150/night, which is not a budget room anywhere else, but qualifies as such in Banff, where nice rooms easily run from $300 to over $1,000/night.

The property is not dirty or poorly maintained. I was just surprised at the simplicity and lack of ammenities for the price.

If you are sensitive to heat, DO NOT stay here during the summer months. The rooms only have windows opening on the central courtyard, while only offering the front door on the opposite side of the room. Since the property sits next to a mosquito-infested forest, you don't dare leave the door open except to run in or out and slam it back shut. There is therefore no ability to obtain cross-draft ventilation. There is no A/C. So, on a warm evening, you're going to sweat as you lay down to sleep. We were warm our first night, but then it cooled off for the second night and was not too bad.

The people who run the place are very friendly and accomodating, so no complaints there. I think they have done the best they can do with the property in its existing condition.

Everything in the room was clean and maintained. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator that both worked fine.

The rules about keeping quiet hours are strict and appreciated, as you will need to keep your windows to the courtyard open at night to be able to sleep in the summer.

There is no breakfast offered, no pool, no fitness center, no business center.

The property is on the far end of town away from most of the shopping and other attractions. This can be good or bad, depending on your preferences.

The Bumpers restaurant right next door was very good. I'll write a separate review about that place.

Bottom line, Bumpers Inn is fine if you need to travel on a budget and don't mind being a bit warm on a summer night. But if you can spend more, you would be well advised to do so.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the street side, it may avoid some of the problems with mosquitoes when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed 2 night here in a different room each time and had a pleasant experience both times. The rooms were basic, but they had that cottage type feel to it, as well as all the necessities (microwave, coffee, big screen tv, etc.). We went in late spring so we got a pretty good deal. For the price we paid (85+ tax) I would have to say that we got our money's worth compared to other hotels in the region.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Address: 603 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumpers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.