We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean small hostel but decent sized rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Clean small hostel but decent sized rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Great hostel as stayed in the Vancouver one for a while last year. Staff at te one in banff not as friendly and kind as Vancouver. Not bad but just kinda getting the job done and no joy in it. Small bar in comparison to Vancouver but still good. And pancakes for breakfast yum! Bathrooms have a bath too wohoo

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
12
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The main reason I give SameSun Banff a high rating is because there are washrooms/bathrooms INSIDE your room! There are some down the halls as well, but it's so nice to share one with just the dorm mates! Plus, the price per night is quite reasonable.

Cleanliness is pretty decent - better than at other hostels. It doesn't feel too disgusting stepping on bathroom floors. And the room I stayed in was far from filthy :)

There's free breakfast in the bar area, and at night there are fun activities that take place there. The environment makes it so effortless to meet people.

There's a nice patio outside, and the kitchen and common area are on the second floor. The common area is pretty comfy with a fireplace, nice seats and some computers. (You have to pay to use them, though.)

Super satisfied with my stay here. I'd absolutely stay again if I end up visiting in the future!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

No complaints about this hostel! Travelled alone to do a 4-night ski and stay package and stayed in one of the 6-bed coed dorms. The staff were fantastic from check in to check out, the facilities were warm, clean and friendly, and the atmosphere provided by the other travellers made the 4 days an absolute blast. The breakfast in the mornings is way better than any basic included Hotel breakfast I've had and the bar/restaurant has fantastic food after 5 pm (and good drink deals!)
Expect a bit of noise after midnight when people come in from the bar (this is a young person's hostel) but other than that there was nothing even close to being a problem . As a guy who was getting up early to ski every day, I didn't even notice the noise unless I was already up, which was great.

Room Tip: Top bunks are significantly warmer than bottom bunks in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriaville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was alone for my backpacker adventure. It was the place to be for meeting people. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. Price was cheap, but everything was good.

If I return to Banff, I will come back at the Samesum for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Samesun was a good, fun, friendly place. The bar was really fun and a great place to meet people. The rooms were really good for a hostel. I would definitely recommend it to people travelling solo!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My friend and I stayed in this hostel whilst on a road trip along the Rockies. It was really clean and cheerful, a lot of places I have stayed in seem a bit neglected but this was great especially for the price. We stayed in an 8 person dorm full of really welcoming guests. Generally, everyone staying in hostels tend to be super friendly and in the same boat as you so there is a lot of respect for personal space and belongings.
Great breakfast in the morning (pancakes) and a useful petrol/gas station near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Samesun over the new year period and found the dorm average. The bathroom attached to the six bed dorm was cluttered with long term stayers stuff and was not clean.

The meals were cheap and ok and the staff friendly and helpful.

The price was outrageous and more expensive than hotels for private rooms in the town. We stayed at two hotels in private rooms that were cheaper and nicer. They obviously gauged customers over that period.

Overall not too bad but needs to pay attention to cleanliness.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.