We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Nothing to complain, really nice and big rooms with private bathroom, all facilities, the beaver is a nice bar and the hostel has great location really near Downtown. So it is a nice combination of fun and quiet night. Really recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
12
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Was my 25th birthday, decided it was a good time to check out Banff! We had a lot of fun.
We checked out the little boutiques downtown. Typical tourist town with gift shops and other more expensive ones.
Our hostel was great. Easy to find, clean and friendly staff! We rented a 6 bed dorm and it was perfect for us. The bar scene was a lot of fun! The game of flip-pong was sweet! The location is great because you can easily walk to the bars and restaurants, so no flipping coins on who needs to be the sober driver! Woohoo!
So, I definitely recommend this hostel to whoever wants to have a fun weekend on a budget!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Terrific value for the money. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were reasonably clean, although the bathrooms could have been better. The other guests could be a little loud on weekend nights, but were well-behaved for the most part. The location was excellent. The breakfasts were not very good, though, but the Safeway was close by. Otherwise, I had a positive experience at the SameSun. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Deutschland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The place is great and a good value for the money. However, be careful what they charge you. I can't prove it, but it looks to me like they try to be the cheapest place on booking.com et al (just by a couple cents per night) compared to their direct competition. Then once you get there, they charge you some higher standard rate and hope you don't notice it (with taxes added and stuff to obscure it). The poor girl at the reception was quite overwhelmed when I pointed it out to her because she could not even find the rate in their computer system I had a reservation for through booking.com. This tells me, this is systematic. Otherwise, why wouldn't the advertised rate be in the system? The whole process took like 15 minutes, Ridiculous. In the end she somehow put it in manually and even miscalculated a bit in my favor. Poetic justice I guess ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I only booked one night to begin with and ended up staying 4 nights. It has a lot of services that give you more then expected in a hostel like very clean rooms, the bathroom is in the room and thus only shared with your 5 or 7 room mates, not a whole floor. The front desk staff is very helpful specially Claire, with recommending restaurants, hikes, finding other backpackers for a trip. The only recomendations I could give to make it Excellent for next time is to make sure during breakfast hours that they don't run out of items too fast like muffins, syrup, clean spoons and dishes... AND although it's great to have The BeaverBar right there it is noisy and also after 11 it was hard to get some sleep. This said, I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking to have a great time in Banff, to be central and to have a clean, safe place, it felt like home after a few nights (and days of hiking!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Good parking and helpful receptionists. Plenty to eat on the help yourself breakfast I especially enjoyed making the fresh pancakes I had.

Bit dingy when you walk in and the kitchen dining area is very small and utensils need replacing. The hand in your key for a pan policy is nuts. Staying here is not for the feint hearted. Feels more like student drop in centre. If you're over 25ish you may feel a little out of place staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked into this hostel after completing a bike trip from Jasper to Banff, we unfortunately did not look into reviews of the place before we booked. It was disgustingly dirty - the rooms have carpet in them, and our room did not appear to have been vacuumed in a very long time - on top of the extra carpet of hair and lint all over it, there were TOENAIL CLIPPINGS and chips all over the floor. Moreover, the shower in our room did not drain, so while showering, your feet were under the backed up, slimy, dirty water. The kitchen only had a hot plate for cooking on, definitely not large enough for more than one group to cook on at one time - probably exactly what they are going for, as it would encourage more business in their dingy little pub.

Both myself and my trip partner have spent significant time travelling and have stayed in numerous hostels in both Canada and overseas. Neither of us have seen such a dump of an establishment before - AND it was over $40 per person.

It would be worth the time finding a free shed to sleep in rather than paying to stay in this dump.

Room Tip: I would suggest booking elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for providing us with your feedback.

We work hard to make sure all our guests are comfortable. It is difficult for us to know when there is an issue with the shower in the room without a guest letting us know when it happens. In regards to the carpet, our vacuum broke and we ordered a new one right away that was promised to arrive the following day, but the delivery was delayed by a few days. These issue has been rectified.

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience staying with us. If you are staying at any of our hostels in the future and are unhappy with your dorm, please let us know of your concerns and we will do our best to move you to address the problem or move you to a different room.

Thanks,

Amanda Ninness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.