We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First timer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

SameSun was my first hostel experience. It was a most pleasant stay. The bed was comfortable, everything was clean and the help super friendly and efficient. I spent 2 nights there in a 6 beds dorm and slept like a baby thanks partly to their enforced quiet hours and friendly and respectful dorm mates. Breakfast was good quality and the little bar/restaurant cosy and warm. For the price paid it was more than I could have wished for and I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, General Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Hearing from hostel first timers, and new converts, is some of my favourite feedback. We take pride in being able to provide affordable, comfortable, clean and social accommodation.

Welcome to the wonderful world of hostelling!

Tricia Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    63
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
11
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I loved my time spent in Banff, thanks to all the awesome people I met at this hostel. The atmosphere is very lively and fun. I believe the cheap beer at bar and open terrase and space allowed everyone to socialize better. In comparison to other hostels I've stayed in Canada, this hostel wasn't the cheapest but the dorms were large and clean. Also considering the spacious kitchen and common room, I'd say the expense is totally worth it. I recommend anyone to stay at this hostel if visiting Banff !!

Room Tip: 6 girls dorm was spacious and nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The check in was easy and the staff were helpful. It was nice having a bar onsite, and the breakfast was on par with good hostels. It was a short few blocks walk into the main part of banff. The room was a bit sweaty in July, but they did have a fan in the room, and the bathroom was clean. Overall it was a useful, clean, friendly hostel in a great town in the Rockies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

As an 18-year-old single female hiker, safety was a big concern. I chose the Samesun for it's great reviews, and I was not let down. I absolutely loved staying here. I appreciated the lockers in the bedrooms (bring your own lock), and th esafety and security of the building. Loved the free breakfast, and I had a fantastic time. I plan on additional trips to Vancouver & Venice Beach, and I plan to stay in the other Samesun hostels there. The location of the Banff hostel was right downtown, and I honestly could not have asked for anything better. Cheap, quality, and awesome. 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, General Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Megan Cherie,

Thanks for your feedback. I'm happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! As a fellow single female traveller I can appreciate how important security is to anyone staying in a hostel. We value providing secure and comfortable accommodations to all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again here and in our other locations.

Thanks again,

Tricia Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Girlfriend an I stayed for 2 nights in an 8 person room with shared bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff, a good bar with excellent food and generally clean. A bit cramped at times but that's to be expected in Banff in summer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, General Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Phildebeest,

Thanks for your review of your stay at Samesun Backpackers. Banff certainly is a busy place in the summer, but with these views it's not surprising!

I'm happy you enjoyed staying with us. We love the Beaver Bar too, and we're happy we can offer great deals on our excellent food and drinks to give our guests a place to socialize and meet fellow travellers.

I hope we see you the next time you're in the Rockies.

Cheers,

Tricia Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Located in Banff avenue- 5 mins from the restaurants and shops, 10-15 mins to the bus and train station. Location is one of the best features of this hostel.
The rooms were wearing a bit at the edge but it was clean.
I was a bit concerned it would be rowdy with bar downside but it wasn't.
The included breakfast is a nice touch but basic.
Simply put, for the price it's not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Moose Tour. Our room was massive. It was like a hostel suite as there were a couple of smaller rooms coming off the larger room with extra beds, a couple of chairs in the main room and a tv. The only downside was there was one bathroom to share between potentially 12 people (number of beds overall in the room). We didn't have a full room so it wasn't so bad but was still a little annoying when it came to getting up in the morning.

The location of the hostel is great as it is a short walk to the main part of Banff and quite easy to find if you have had a few drinks...

The hostel is great for socialising as it has a cheap bar crammed little bar downstairs which means you talk to quite a lot of people. The common room is pretty decent and usually has someone in there whatever time of the day. In my drunken state I left my shoes in there and thought they'd probably have disappeared forever but went and checked and someone had placed them on a shelf by the door. Good times.

I had a lot of fun at this hostel for the two nights I stayed. The staff were really nice. Don't really understand the negative comments. You've got to go into these places with an open mind. It did help that I was with a big group of Moose tour people so we had a big room to ourselves but then that is your fault for not going on an awesome tour!

Room Tip: Be on a moose tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, General Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Haddz,

I'm pleased to hear you had a great time staying with us.

We love that we can offer ensuite bathrooms in our dorm rooms so you don't have to wander down the halls to get to the facilities in middle of the night. Although, for those moments when you're waiting for your roommate to vacate the washroom we also have washrooms on the first and second floor.

I'm glad your shoes were where you left them. This sort of thing really is the norm rather than the exception and it really goes to show how great backpackers can be!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip through the mountains on your Moose tour.

Cheers,

Tricia Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.