We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Save Saved
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty lodging in Banff
Banff, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at the Samesun Banff are so friendly and helpful. The location is epic and the views are spectacular. Best hostel in Banff by far. I highly recommend staying there. It will be an experience you will never forget. Thank you for the great times and memories. Cheers!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
8
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spent some time at the samesun it was amazing, staff are great the rooms are just devine. very clean cozy hostel. made me feel super welcome. great bar down stairs with great people theres this spunk name danny c who drinks there "girls go down and check him out" id happily rate this place a big 10 out of 10 you would be mad not to stay there, and the manager trish, she is simply amazing!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing very clean and cozy
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hi just wanted to share.... Spent time at the samesun Banff had the most brilliant time ever! All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, lots of advice for fun things to do. Spent lots of time in the BEAVER BAR, where I was made to feel very welcome. Check out the BINGO hosted by the lovely Onesy, very funny fun thing to do, plenty of dancing I had a great time. Oh yes.. Then there was open mike night , very talented people singing and playing guitar. I also just sat for a few hours in the bar with the iPad, had a great meal in a warm and friendly atmosphere, just watching young peeps having a great time, living laughing and loving life I hope to come back one day. Much love to all those lovely people who didn't make me feel too old to join in.
Kate's Mom AGWABOMB!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

stayed here with 2 friends on a quick vacation to banff. everyone here was super nice and highly positive folks. our roommates were very nice folks from France. the bar is awesome fun with always a good crowd and they make great drinks. the beds were clean and comfy. the bathroom in our room was also very clean. the only that sucked here is the wifi. I could only get on wifi from like 1230am-8am. being so far from home, and also being a student, I desperately needed solid wifi and I couldn't get it at all. speaking to others staying there, 90% of them said the wifi was useless. the staff was very friendly. would totally stay again, so long as the wifi worked. in today's day and age, solid wifi capabilities are a must.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have never been to a more friendly place! Everyone who stays and works there truly understands what it means to be a Canadian. People are very respectful and facilities are pretty good. Free breakfasts and lots of activities throughout the week are excellent. Common room is clean and tidy and offers internet access on 2 computers + big buck hunter! Beds are comfortable and clean. Banff has never been so affordable and accessible and FUN!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Sometimes the more important thing about where you are staying is the people who work there and the people who stay there..........and both are great here! I have stayed in many hostels in Europe but this is the first hostel in Canada for me. If you are looking to meet lots of good Aussie and European friends then this is the place to be in Banff. It seemed clean to me there and all of the staff were friendly. Are the beds comfortable........well are they comfortable at any hostel? This hostel is nice and close to downtown and has a small but cheap and fun pub there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, General Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your time in the Beaver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at Samesun in Banff for 4 nights.
I stayed before in Samesun in Vancouver and Kelowna but they are all pretty different.

I booked a 6 female dorm, which was very nice because the room are big, furnished (TV, fire place etc) and not full so the night were quite peacefull.
At the beginning I was afraid to have a room close from the beaver (the bar) but you don't hear anything so that's good as well.

However, the "average" grade is motivated by all the rest :

- The kitchen is not even small but tiny.. For an hostel like that even my kitchen is more convient ! No space to cook, no enough space to seat, very hot, no plate (only small ones!) and you have to give your key to get pots and pans (that you have to clean yourself because usually they are still greasy from the last uses).

- The "free breakfast" is a joke compare to (for example) Samesun Vancouver : You have just pancake paste to make for yourself (put water into some kind of flour), you have to fight with the other to have enough space for making a pancake and if you arrive after 9am there is no toast or anything left (breakfast is supposed to be till 10..). No fruit. Deceiving

- Basically, it could be more clean and the staff a little bit nicer (some of them were nearly rude)

So, it's ok for a few nights but i heard HI is nicer so I guess next time I'll check HI..
Ps : Banff and Lake Louise are wonderful anyway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodge 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.