We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Sometimes the more important thing about where you are staying is the people who work there and the people who stay there..........and both are great here! I have stayed in many hostels in Europe but this is the first hostel in Canada for me. If you are looking to meet lots of good Aussie and European friends then this is the place to be in Banff. It seemed clean to me there and all of the staff were friendly. Are the beds comfortable........well are they comfortable at any hostel? This hostel is nice and close to downtown and has a small but cheap and fun pub there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, General Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your time in the Beaver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    65
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
12
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at Samesun in Banff for 4 nights.
I stayed before in Samesun in Vancouver and Kelowna but they are all pretty different.

I booked a 6 female dorm, which was very nice because the room are big, furnished (TV, fire place etc) and not full so the night were quite peacefull.
At the beginning I was afraid to have a room close from the beaver (the bar) but you don't hear anything so that's good as well.

However, the "average" grade is motivated by all the rest :

- The kitchen is not even small but tiny.. For an hostel like that even my kitchen is more convient ! No space to cook, no enough space to seat, very hot, no plate (only small ones!) and you have to give your key to get pots and pans (that you have to clean yourself because usually they are still greasy from the last uses).

- The "free breakfast" is a joke compare to (for example) Samesun Vancouver : You have just pancake paste to make for yourself (put water into some kind of flour), you have to fight with the other to have enough space for making a pancake and if you arrive after 9am there is no toast or anything left (breakfast is supposed to be till 10..). No fruit. Deceiving

- Basically, it could be more clean and the staff a little bit nicer (some of them were nearly rude)

So, it's ok for a few nights but i heard HI is nicer so I guess next time I'll check HI..
Ps : Banff and Lake Louise are wonderful anyway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell am See, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for a couple of nights on my own and met so many great people there that I really regretted to leave the hostel.

I stayed in a six-bed-dorm and every room has got its own bathroom with shower. The rooms might not be the cleanliest, especially the bathroom was quite dirty, but except for that the rooms are nice.

Downstairs is a small cheap bar that is great for meeting other travelling people. Every day there is a special price for a certain dinner (6 Dollars for a not to small portion) and a special price for a certain drink for the ladies.
This bar is kind of the common room, I mean there is one also on the first floor, but that one is definitely too small for so many people .
The hostel has got Wifi, but that didn't work properly and when it did it was quite slow. The best thing to do is to go to a nearby coffeeshop and use theirs.

The kitchen is really small, especially for so many people and when I stayed there, it was kind of a sauna as well. We had 30°C outside and due to a bad air conditioning system it had pretty much the same temperature inside the kitchen.
The breakfast is included, but make sure you don't get up too late, because the kitchen is just too crowded around half past nine and you might not even get a place to sit down.

As bad as this all sounds the Samesun is definitely a nice place to go back to (as I did a few nights later) and I can really recommend this hostel for young people who look for a place to meet other travellers and enjoy some beers at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days I would highley recommend Banff and this hostel to anyone was a great place to stay and the staff were great.Only one problem was the hostel has no Aircon like most of the hotels and hostels in Banff and while we were there it was very hot so bad our first night that we could not sleep so we asked to change rooms for our second night and we found it a bit better on the second floor. All in all good hostel good location and amazing staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It's actually $39/night. Not sure why posts here state otherwise. I made a mistake and couldn't get out of my reservation. My fault. But the girl I spoke with on the phone was rude and actually hung up on me when I paused on the phone for a bit. Not impressed with the customer service. Not sure if I would try to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hi there. Thanks for your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear you had anything but a good experience over the phone. We take great pride in our staff, so I will be bringing this up in our staff meeting. Please don't hesitate to call or re-book for a different date. Toby Baxter, Front desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Where do i start with this gem! My favourite Samesun Hostel by far! Location Location Location! Right on Banff avenue, a short 5 minute walk into down town is where its all happening. Fantastic staff to reccomend what ever your looking for whether it be hikes, rafting, canoeing, the cheapest beers in town or where the party is at.. they know it all and are happy to help. All rooms have private bathrooms and are amoungst the cleanest dorm rooms i've ever seen. Highly reccomended hostel.. Great bar with cheap drinks and an outdoor patio Yeeew! Will definiatly stay again.

Jen

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

$35 bucks for a bed, if your traveling alone do yourself a favor and wait at the front door for two other backpacker's along and get them to join you at any other hotel in banff. It will be cheaper, cleaner and insanely classier. Also at hotels, the front desk person doesn't barge into your room at 4am and wake everyone up...
Lastly, if you made a booking for more than one bed make sure you cancel it right away because they WILL charge you for it, even if you don't need it, and even if the hostel is totally empty.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toby b, Front Office Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Our current rate is $31.50 for an 8 bed dorm, one of the lowest rates available for a dorm bed in Banff. The rooms are cleaned daily, so we are sorry to hear you had anything but a good experience. Our night staff monitor the noise levels at night and try to encourage all guests to respect our quiet time between 11pm and 7am. We do have a 24 hour cancellation policy which is listed on any site it is possible to make a reservation for us on. It is also on our confirmation emails and highlighted again at check in if reservations change. Toby, Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.