We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay, but couldn't cancel my Res...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodge to your Saves list
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't stay, but couldn't cancel my Res...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It's actually $39/night. Not sure why posts here state otherwise. I made a mistake and couldn't get out of my reservation. My fault. But the girl I spoke with on the phone was rude and actually hung up on me when I paused on the phone for a bit. Not impressed with the customer service. Not sure if I would try to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hi there. Thanks for your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear you had anything but a good experience over the phone. We take great pride in our staff, so I will be bringing this up in our staff meeting. Please don't hesitate to call or re-book for a different date. Toby Baxter, Front desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    96
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
3
14
97
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Where do i start with this gem! My favourite Samesun Hostel by far! Location Location Location! Right on Banff avenue, a short 5 minute walk into down town is where its all happening. Fantastic staff to reccomend what ever your looking for whether it be hikes, rafting, canoeing, the cheapest beers in town or where the party is at.. they know it all and are happy to help. All rooms have private bathrooms and are amoungst the cleanest dorm rooms i've ever seen. Highly reccomended hostel.. Great bar with cheap drinks and an outdoor patio Yeeew! Will definiatly stay again.

Jen

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

$35 bucks for a bed, if your traveling alone do yourself a favor and wait at the front door for two other backpacker's along and get them to join you at any other hotel in banff. It will be cheaper, cleaner and insanely classier. Also at hotels, the front desk person doesn't barge into your room at 4am and wake everyone up...
Lastly, if you made a booking for more than one bed make sure you cancel it right away because they WILL charge you for it, even if you don't need it, and even if the hostel is totally empty.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toby b, Front Office Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Our current rate is $31.50 for an 8 bed dorm, one of the lowest rates available for a dorm bed in Banff. The rooms are cleaned daily, so we are sorry to hear you had anything but a good experience. Our night staff monitor the noise levels at night and try to encourage all guests to respect our quiet time between 11pm and 7am. We do have a 24 hour cancellation policy which is listed on any site it is possible to make a reservation for us on. It is also on our confirmation emails and highlighted again at check in if reservations change. Toby, Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Not bad, a 5 - 10 minute walk from shops and bars. But was going through needed refurbishment when I was there, so a little old and untidy. Looks to improve however.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toby b, Front Office Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thanks for your review, we appreciate all customer feedback. With the number of clients that visit us, we are always working to create a clean, relaxed and comfortable surrounding for our guest. We have been installing brand new lockers in all the rooms so guests have even more storage space as well as all the new paint work and new bathroom. Please don't hesitate to come back and experience the improvements! Toby, Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hostel is 2 different buildings, the Lodge, and the Chalet. I stayed in the Chalet which was brilliant, free pancake batter on a morning, free use of the kitchen which was really good, a small laundry room, en suite bathroom in the dorm, lots of windows which made for an airy room, but the biggest plus was the huge jacuzzi bath tub. I've heard the Lodge doesn't have this. I also ate in their bar the first night, good bar food, would recommend given the price they charge. The chalet is also in a very good location, walking distance to things in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toby b, Front Office Manager at SameSun Backpacker Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Hi there!
Thanks for your positive feedback, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Just to confirm, the previous "Lodge" has now closed and Samesun in Banff is in the newer "Chalet" building. We are making lots of improvements, so if you enjoyed it the first time, please come back and see us again! Toby, Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed in the SameSun in July and it was fine. Banff was pretty busy, but I found a decent room (not in the newer part, but the oldder part). The people I was sharing with were fine, they weren't noisy, didn't pinch anything and we only met up when we were coming back or going out. Which is why it's great that the staff are sociable, as a solo traveller, it was nice to speak with workers and travellers alike in the outside communal area (we even had a bbq there). I think the newer section is more expensive but better quality, however I had nothing to complain about in terms of the quality, it is decent value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the new area if you are holidaying, but ask to be as far away from the bar. The oldder area i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed at Samesun middle of July for a couple of nights. the hostels location rivals that of other more expensive hotels!! (its on the main drag on Banff Avenue) Yes the room was an 8 bed dorm, however it had lots of windows to let in air and light, plenty of plug sockets for everyones gadgets, and a bathroom in the dorm too, which meant no wandering down the corridor to the bathrooms in your PJ's!! it was $35 a night to stay but after being in Banff for some time now this is cheap!! The kitchen was always clean and tidy (for a backpackers) If you want privacy and more creature comforts spend the money and stay at a hotel, but if your looking for something cheap, and a bed for a couple of nights definately stay at Samesun!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.8 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
#11 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodge

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SameSun Banff is located downtown just steps away from everything the town has to offer. A recently converted hotel, we have all the amenities a backpacker could want. With a clean and comfortable environment, we boast spacious dorm rooms, a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. Home to the Beaver Lounge, with Open Mic nights, live gigs and weekly trivia, it is the only backpacker pub directly on Banff Avenue! No membership required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.