We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   348 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 hotels in Banff
australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

You get what you pay for with these simple apartments but the space in these are amazing.
Everything was clean on our arrival and we were able to check in early. The room smelt a little like smoke but opening the window fixed that quickly, this wasn't much of a concern as was never in the room. Location is amazing. Central on Banff Ave. would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
23
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

In Banff, the hotel rooms are $300+ for one room. We needed 2 beds in two separate rooms, so from that perspective, we were way ahead. ($200 per night versus $600). Plus we got a kitchen to save bucks on breakfast. The decor is dated, and student grade, but it's not awful. I would say it's basic, decent, and clean. The location is fantastic, half a block from Banff ave and walking distance to all stores and restaurants. The internet is slow. It is a wood frame building, so you can hear your neighbours upstairs walking around, or between walls. We were lucky everyone in the building went to bed around 10, and woke up early when we stayed there. Lots of families when we were there. (Sept long weekend).
And you can use the facilities at the Ptarmigan.
If you want to save money, go for it. It's not scary, just basic!

Room Tip: If you can get the top floor, it will help with any foot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

affordable place to stay, nice & clean but it was kinda hot in the room but they provide us with 2 electric fans.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

this apartment hotel is a really nice vacation to stay and the cheapest you could book in banff..it has everything! near in downtown and all services..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Seriously, you can't book one of the cheapest private rooms in Banff, with a kitchenette no less, and expect luxury!

My suite had brand new kitchen, bathroom, paint and bedding (as far as I can tell). The bed and linen is the same you get in the Ptarmigan Inn... very comfortable.

The building... the hallways looked abused, the doors to the rooms and inside the rooms looked original and in need of replacing. The walls are fairly thin, you can hear a lot of movement and conversation from the fellow guests.
Unfortunately as well, there were two rooms of rowdy idiots having a party weekend on the floor below us. A call to the front desk quieted things down, but getting any sleep before 11 (the start of quiet time) was impossible.

I liked the convenient location, and the price, but will likely spend some extra money next time in Banff to stay at the Hidden Ridge Chalets, which are owned by the same company I believe. Much more quiet!

If you are young, budget conscious, and/or don't mind a bit of noise... Rundle Manor is perfectly fine.

I stayed there for Banff Bike Fest and there seemed to be quite a few other cyclists staying there as well. Put all the cyclists in one building next time and the partiers in the other!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. You are correct we have just finished replacing all the flooring and redoing the bathrooms and kitchens, currently we are in the process of painting or replacing all the doors. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed these improvements.

Although we do our best to try and allocate guest to the appropriate areas, it is difficult for us to predetermine those here to party and those that are here to rest or better yet complete in our Bikefest, prior to check in and even then it is challenging. However we will take this into consideration and do our best improve these situations. Again thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again soon, whether at our sister Hidden Ridge property or any of our lovely hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

At one time this was an affordable place to stay but hardly is anymore. It should be renamed "Run Down Manor".
Everything is "litteraly shabby" this includes carpet, walls, paint, bathrooms, kitchenettes, and even window coverings.
Most notriceably the fold out beds are worn out and no longer provide adequate support - Maintenance says the carpet has not been replaced in 15 years - like that is not hard to tell either. Heavily stained and matted.
Typically the doors to rooms have been damged from being kicked in by rowdy partiers and the repairs are less than adequate. Door locks are old fashioned and key control is pathetic to non existant - your valuables are at risk if left in the room!
No air condtioning and no screens on most windows.
Black mold - no joke - can be found in Bathrooms and on the sills of sliding doors to the balconies. The baclnies themselves are fitlhy and clearly ot covered on any housekeeping check off sheet.
Room service is necessary especially when called to replace dirty towels missed by house cleaning staff.

Room Tip: If you want a good room try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are in the process of replacing all the furniture in each of these units, sofa beds included. We are also replacing all flooring and repainting the entire building in the next two weeks. Although these rooms do not have electronic cards, each room has a secure lock and deadbolt and the front door is also secured by the use of guest key provided at check in. We do not have air conditioning, as most hotels in Banff do not, however we do supply screens on the windows in the summer months, to keep flies out. We hope that guests will return to the Rundle over the next short while, when all of updates have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We went to Rundle for a before Christmas holiday with our new small children. We thought having a bedroom and kitchenette would be perfect. I realized this hotel was not a new or ritzy hotel, but by what I saw it seemed clean atleast. I was disgusted when I turned on the light and opened the door. The light shone on a huge layer of dust on the couches and a big blood smudge on the wall from a bug that got squished, by who, I don't know. I called the front desk to see if this was standard and they said they have the same standards for their hotel the Banff Ptarmagan as this hotel. I will never stay there either I guess. After the phone call, I went to put our bags down and found a bunch of food encrusted on the couhes, right where the head is where my kids would be sleeping and all along the back where we came in. There were long black hairs in the tub, food that had dripped down from something at the bottom of the fridge and well, it was gross. I would expect maybe something like that from a 1 star in Mexico, but not in Canada. I was very displeased. The room was 129$ a night, you would expect something clean atleast. I paid the cleaning ladies 5$ to vacuum off the couches so that my asthma/allergies would stop and they did a bit but there was still a layer of dust on one of the couches... anyways, I am going on and on, but I was really grossed out. I had to check for bed bugs, cause who knows?

Room Tip: Bring a cleaning bucket and vacuum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am so sorry to hear of the experience that you had, and can assure you that this is not the level of cleanliness that is acceptable in any of our hotels. I apologize for the many items that were missed, and will double our efforts to ensure that these major items do not get missed again in the future, regardless of how busy the housekeeping staff may be. I am also sorry for the lack of empathy received form front desk, as someone should have been sent over to check your room and rectify the issues, we will strive to do better in all areas in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel

Address: 348 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rundle Manor, one of Banff's best kept secrets, is an apartment style hotel located in downtown Banff on a quiet side street just off of Banff Avenue. Great shopping and the best Banff has to offer are literally steps away from the hotel. Only 1/2 mile from train station & coach terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundle Manor Apartment Banff
Rundle Manor Banff
Hotel Rundle Manor Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.