We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   348 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I along with a few girlfriends meet in banff every year in October for a little get-a-way. We have stayed at Rundle Manor many times. Yes, it is old and dated but the two bedroom with kitchen that we rent nicely meets our needs. There is ample parking and it is within walking distance to all the shops on main street. The hot tub/pool sauna are in another building but very nice and well worth the short walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
25
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

When we walked into the room, my first thought was,"what a dump." It looked like an apartment that transient workers would/have stayed in while working in Banff. The bed had been slept in and made up without the sheets being changed. The dirt, lipstick and other signs were a dead give away. The staff was very friendly and quick in delivering clean sheets, towels and pillow cases. We used sheets on the couches so we could sit down, and sheets on the floor so our 9 month old boy could play. The walls are paper thin, we could hear the guy downstairs snoring and the workers next door quietly talking. Thankfully we went in the off-season so things were fairly quiet. Like other reviews state, it's cheap, but not really worth it. The quality of the room seemed more like a 1 star motel; hostels are cleaner and more inviting.

Room Tip: If you have to, get an upstairs room, but if you can, spend the extra $50 and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I needed a room in Banff on short notice, and this was one of the few available. It's just an old apartment building with narrow stairways and hallways. The main entrance to the building looked very old and had torn carpet on the stairs. The door to my unit didn't close tight, even when locked. The main room of my unit had a large stain on the ceiling. The furniture was old and stained. The carpet in the unit was torn and had tripable folds. The paint on the walls was chipped off. The noise from upstairs was too much (especially at 6am). The good points; the bathroom was recently renovated, and the two bedrooms were in better shape than the rest of the unit, although there were no clocks beside either bed. The maids do the best they can, but it's putting makeup on a pig.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We reserved the two bedroom apartment for a guys hiking trip. The full kitchen while dated was functional and more than met our needs. The unit was extremely clean but slightly dated. The 2 beds and sofa beds were comfortable. Recommend upper level with regards to noise factor. Even though you have to checkin to a different location prior to entering your booked facility, their front desk went above and beyond the call of duty to meet any and all our needs. Housekeeping was outstanding!

Room Tip: The unit we rented was a 2 bedroom 1 bath with 2 pull out sofas. The kitchen was completely furnishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in Rundle Manor. There was plenty of space, 2 bedrooms with double beds, drawers and small cupboards.

Well stocked Kitchenette with all the required utensils, toaster, kettle, microwave, oven/hobs etc.

Dining table and lounge area was spacious although the decor was a little dated. 2 sofas, both of which were sofa beds, meaning the apartment can sleep 8 people! TV and free wifi was also a bonus!

Bathroom was on the small side, although the bath and shower were fine.

Although the interior was far from luxurious, it was a very spacious, clean apartment and was fantastic value for money!

Since it was self catered and separate check-in at a nearby hotel, I can't comment on service.

Good location, very near to downtown banff, easily in walking distance (no more than 5 minutes walk to central banff.) Supermarket 2 minutes away which is useful, especially for breakfast items-as apartment is self catered!

Overall, would recommend this accommodation to families who are looking for great value, central accommodation in banff!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

A great place to stay in Banff if you're on a budget. We had 4 adults. One couple and two singles so need 3 beds (we had 2 bedrooms and 2 sofa beds) we paid around $200 per night plus fees and taxes so it worked out to $71 per night per person. So for Banff that's an awesome price.
The apartment was pretty plain and a little older but everything was clean and the beds were comfortable.
Check in is at the sister hotel around the corner and they have hot tubs and other amentities that you can use at the main hotel (the Ptarmigan).
The suites are close to the main street but far enough from downtown to be away from the noise.
I would definately reccomend this hotel for anyone going to Banff to see the sites not to spend time in the room. If you're hoping for a luxurious hotel keep looking. It's called an apartment hotel because it really is just a basic apartment building. Our room had a fair sized kitchen, a good sized diningroom, and a big livingroom so it would be perfectly comfortable for any family group.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

After reading the scary reviews, I still decided to book this place for my family of 4, becuase of it's good price. If you are here for the great scenery of banff, and don't mind the luxury of high-ended hotels, this is the place for you. The kitchen utensils were clean, and no bugs in the room. However the table was a bit sticky. There were 2 pull out sofa beds in our room, so it was great. This apartment is now managed by a hotel thats near by, so check in or services are all through there, which was a bit annoying.
If you do decide to stay here, here are the pros and cons:
Pros: Good price!!!
free use of internet and hottub (located at the managing hotel..forgot the name)
lots of space in the rooms and kitchen
Generally clean

Cons:
could be very noisy (ask for a stay in the 3rd floor, i think it would be better) the walls are THIN!
our hotel phone was broken : (
the reception desk was located in another hotel, and required walking back and forth
some bed sheets looked dirty and had to be changed.

Room Tip: get the third floor, it would be a bit more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel

Address: 348 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rundle Manor, one of Banff's best kept secrets, is an apartment style hotel located in downtown Banff on a quiet side street just off of Banff Avenue. Great shopping and the best Banff has to offer are literally steps away from the hotel. Only 1/2 mile from train station & coach terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundle Manor Apartment Banff
Rundle Manor Banff
Hotel Rundle Manor Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rundle Manor Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.