We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Excellent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location. Excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The Juniper was located at the bottom of Norquay and right by the entrance to the Transcanada hwy and 5 minutes into downtown Banff. Our room was easily accessible and just down the hall from The Bistro. Excellent service in the latter whether it was drinks in the bar or for breakfast. The breakfast was delicious! Everything about the hotel was clean and organized.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Jan,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope you hurry back! I will pass on your good feedback to the staff in the Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    133
    54
    32
    17
See reviews for
76
179
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of wedding celebrations. It has a beautiful patio overlooking the mountains with Banff Springs in the distance. Easy to access from the highway and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing us, it’s great to hear you would stay again! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We travelled here the other year, and stayed in the mountain view room. First thoughts were that the room was a bit old, quite grey in colour but you got what you pay for. It was a hot day, so we took advantage of the A/C, however the noise that came from it was unreal, and we didn't get much sleep. In the morning, we went back downstairs to the check in desk and told the staff the issue. The people who worked there were happy to help, and moved us to another room. Our room was the same style ad size but this time we had a tree in the way of the 'mountain view' and once again, the A/C was loud. So another night passed and we asked to move rooms again, but that was when they said most of their rooms had loud A/C, so they said they would move us to a suite across the corridor while we were out. We came back to the hotel in the evening, but then we were told that there were no more suite's available which got our spirits down a bit, however they did say they would put us in the penthouse for one night seeing as it was our last day.

We got to the penthouse and I was amazed at the size of it (baring in mind I have never been in anything like a penthouse before).The TV was a bit outdated, and the beds were not the softest in the world, but the views and size of the place was wonderful. It even had a lovely Jacuzzi bath which was a good wind down to the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi James,

Thanks for reviewing us! We have actually gone through quite a few changes since your stay last year! The AC units had an installation issue that has now been fixed and they all now run much quieter. We also have re-painted a lot of the hotel, including the 3 bedroom suite that you stayed in on your last night. The suite also has brand new TV’s and a new dining table.

We are happy to receive feedback from you and other guests so we can constantly update and improve the rooms to better suit our guests needs.

Thanks for the feedback, glad you thought we were a good hotel overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

it's not a cheap hotel by my standard but no hotel is cheap in the banff townsite. but we like it because it's modern, we could see mt. rundle (i hope i have it right) from our room, and we could see mt. rundle from the hot tub! we were too late to get the first floor room but as you can see from my picture, they put picnic tables outside of the first floor rooms, so you can enjoy the wonderful view while having breakfast out there. it's built on a high ground overlooking the mountains. and Vermilion Lakes are just at the other side of the highways. the wifi and breakfast was good too. the only odd thing was we were not supposed to adjust the temp of the A/C but to have the front desk staff to do that. we asked them once cause the initial temp of our room was too high. the staff was very nice and didn't think we were bothering her. but it's a bit odd to me. other than that, the service was good. will definitely go back again if they keep the same price range. just one reminder, when enjoying the hot tub and mountain view, you maybe providing the mosquitoes a feast. spray with OFF before you go.

Room Tip: ask for first floor if you like to have picnic table outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing us. You did get it right, it is Mt. Rundle you can see from the south side of the hotel!

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. Each room does have it’s own thermostat that works, however we suggest guests ask for assistance if they’re unsure of how to use our system. I’m sorry that this wasn’t communicated more clearly to you during your stay.

Great to hear you will come back again, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have stayed at the Juniper several times and absolutely love it. It is well-appointed and has a luxury feel without the luxury prices. The hotel is tucked up on the ridge across Highway 1 from Banff, and offers amazing views of Banff, Mount Rundle, and Tunnel Mountain. The rooms are clean, spacious, and inviting, and the Juniper staff are welcoming and friendly. We usually request one of their pet-friendly rooms, which have direct access to the veranda that runs along the south side of the hotel. A meal or two at the Juniper Bistro is always a must. Their food never disappoints and the restaurant patio offers one of the best views in Banff. During our last stay, I ordered the smoked salmon Eggs Benedict, which was perfectly poached and topped with a dill Hollandaise. We can't say enough great things about the Juniper and highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you can, book a south-facing room to take advantage of the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. It’s great to receive such positive feedback! We’re all glad you enjoyed staying at our property. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I booked a double panoramic view room for two nights at the beginning of July based on some recent rave reviews on tripadvisor. We arrived to a outdated room with a sour stench. We opened the doors and thought that fresh air might solve the problem. The room was clean but the furniture was really scratched up. The view was great if you stood on the balcony but the road noise was loud and there was a railing that blocked the view if you sat in the chairs. We went to dinner and hoped the room would air out. When we returned the room still smelled like sewage so the front desk clerk moved us to a much smaller double room overlooking the parking lot. The second room did not have a sitting area, the bathroom was tiny, and there was no balcony. It was very small for the four of us and a significant step down in value and comfort. For our inconvenience all that the manager would do was to charge us the full rate for the smaller room, which meant he did nothing. It was $20 per night less than what I had paid for the much larger room with the view. After looking at some older posts on tripadvisor, I discovered that others have had rooms at The Juniper Hotel that smell bad, so this is not new. Most reputable hotels would have offered a free breakfast or some type of compensation, but they didn't really seem too concerned. Monday was Canada Day, and not being Canadian, we asked the front desk clerk what it was. She said she didn't know, that she needed to google it. Later that night we heard noises and realized it was fireworks but with our "new" non-view room, we couldn't see them. We ran to the (closed) hot tub area in time to see the last one. Amazing that a hotel that small can be so impersonal. Banff is a great place to visit but I cannot recommend The Juniper Hotel. It is an outdated hotel that can charge high prices because of the view and proximity to Banff, but they need to work on their customer service and probably their plumbing.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view have road noise. The first floor room patios are not at all private, just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I’m sorry your room was less than satisfactory. We were aware of the odor issue and had thought it was resolved until now. Yours is the first complaint in a long time, however I will ensure it is looked into and fixed by our maintenance staff.

I am surprised to hear that the front desk were not more accommodating upon hearing your concerns. Did you make it clear to them why you were moving? We pride ourselves in being able to provide friendly customer service and try our best to ensure every guest leaves happy, so I apologize that you didn’t feel like you experienced that level of service.

We do however plan to remove the wooden railing on the balconies so that guests can enjoy an unobstructed view of the valley. The hot tub has also since been fixed and is up and running after it’s temporary closure.

Thanks for your feedback. It’s a shame to hear you didn’t enjoy your weekend here. There are lots of changes and improvements happening at the hotel, I hope you will give us a second chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked the Rundle Cabin at The Juniper as it offered a full kitchen, a private bedroom on the main floor and two queen sized beds in the loft. It also had a wood burning fireplace stocked with paper, kindling and an ample supply of dry wood. The cabin was beautiful, peacefully quiet and perfect for my father, my sister and I. The location is stunning and the outdoor patio off the dining room offers gorgeous views of Mount Rundle, Banff, and the Vermilion Lakes.

The staff went above and beyond for us. My sister had admired the piece of green slate (Rundle stone) that our bill had been presented to us on in the dining room and asked me to inquire about it's origins. When I asked at the front desk they made inquiries and told me that it was actually a tile from the original roof of the building. A call was placed to the Maintenance Department and in less than 5 minutes I had a piece of this beautiful stone to give to my sister as a memento of our family vacation.

Great stay, great staff, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Hilary!

Thanks for taking the time to review us. It’s great to hear that you were treated so well by our staff. I hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#12 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.