We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked by an agent and before arriving I was disappointed by the location out of town but the views were amazing, the food, service and decor were brilliant and I can't wait to return in the ski season!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing us, it’s great to hear you were pleasantly surprised! We look forward to having you again in the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    164
    64
    39
    18
See reviews for
104
234
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stay prior to getting a flight back to Vancouver. We didn't check in until after 10 pm because of the late arrival on the Rocky Mountaineer, but it was no trouble. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint would be the lack of a bright central light, so everything seemed gloomy. My wife needed a torch to read the instructions on the coffee making machine!
The hotel itself is just outside town, and seems a Mecca for hikers and other outdoor people.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us. I apologize you found the room dark. If you prefer a brighter room, the deluxe rooms are on the south side and tend to see more sun. We also do have spare lighting available on request as well.

We’re proud to be the launching pad for many people’s hiking or outdoor adventures! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay that was both people friendly and pet friendly. The room was nice, wood floors, and the staff brought a water dish, bed, bags and treats for our dog. Nice to have a separate entrance/exit door to take the dog for a walk. The restaurant was a highlight as the food was above average. The view was awesome! One thing that was not as good were the wood floors. Great for pets, but not so great for sound proofing. We could hear everyone walking around at night on the deck, and on floors above us. Other than that though, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Lyle,

Thanks for reviewing our property! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working on getting better soundproofing for the rooms soon – including door sweeps and insulated carpets for the hallways. Hopefully they’ll be in place for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Two of us stayed at the Juniper in late June 2014 and found it to be very clean, very comfortable a friendly staff and a truly great Bistro! There didn't appear to be a lot of guests there but nonetheless The Bistro was open an the food memorable in terms most importantly of taste but also presentation! We had dinner there as well as breakfast and I would rate both meals as excellent and reasonably priced and of course the real truth, would I stay there again - absolutely!

Room Tip: You can choose from a room over looking the mountains or the parking lot - I was tired enough I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us – it’s great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant! We hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We wanted to be away from the crowd at downtown banff and decided that an affordable suite having one of the best views in banff is an important criteria when selecting a accommodation in here and we are glad that we chose the Juniper Hotel. We stayed at the Healy Creek suite which surpassed our expectations. This spacious suite has everything - Very comfortable King Bed, living area with sofa and fireplace, Jacuzzi tub with rain shower, oversized balcony with panoramic views of Mt Rundle, the valley, downtown Banff and Vermillion lakes and more. Reception staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. After dinner, we had an evening walk at Vermillion lakes nearby and even saw a grizzly! Stay here if you want a quiet and peaceful place with astonishing views.

Room Tip: Go for the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Banff, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. How lucky you managed to see a grizzly! We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed there 2 nights in early June. We had a norquay mountain as it was the lowest priced. It was okay as we hardly stayed in the room and came in only to sleep. If not traveling much would definitely have wanted a better view and a balcony access. The room was clean and tidy and met all our needs. The highlight is definitely the restaurant, Fantastic views and breakfast was really good too. So, a satisfying overall stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is a 5-10 min drive from the city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reviewing our property. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the food as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this motel and thoroughly enjoyed the location. The motel is about a 15 minute walk into town or around $10 in a taxi.

Breakfast is amazing as you look out at the mountains, again very peaceful.

Probably wouldn't be a good location if you are young and want to party in town. But for us (middle aged couple) we enjoyed the distance and the peace and quiet away from town.

Well worth a try.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks for taking the time to review us! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & the food in the bistro. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.