We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dog friendly - amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“dog friendly - amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Dog friendly hotel. Our view was absolutely stunning, facing the mountains in the east and a deck outside our room. our room was located at the end of the hall right beside the hot tub. Hot tub hours were supposed to be until 10 but someone was in it until 10:45 and no one checked to make sure they were out by the noted time. we could hear it running the whole time.
Small room for 3 adults & 2 dogs but we made it work. we had to bring in a dog blanket as the floors are wood with no padding or carpet. The restaurant was closed while we were there so they offered coffee & muffins in the morning. Close enough drive into town to go to a restauant. the front lobby had a night cam video playing showing deer, sheep, a grizzly bear & a cougar in the are. Nice to know since we had our dogs with us.
i would stay there again just for the view.

Room Tip: dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! I’m glad to hear you would stay with us again for the stunning panoramic views that you experienced from our location. I’m sorry to hear you thought the room was small, however normally our front desk agents would recommend two rooms for the number of people in your party, did you ask for their suggestions when booking?

Great to hear you found the video in the lobby informative, it was footage taken from a wildlife camera by Parks Canada a few years ago to show people just how alive the woods are around them!

We hope to share our amazing views with you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    134
    54
    32
    17
See reviews for
77
181
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The main reason we picked the Juniper was that fact that they are pet friendly and advertise on their website various perks such as dog beds, bowls and such. We have friends who stayed a couple years ago and raved about the pet friendliness of the hotel.

What we found when we arrived was far from the great reviews of our friends. We had to be moved from our first room as there was a strong odour (sewage) in the room. The front desk was accommodating and didn't question a thing about my complaint and moved us to a room down the hall. This room was lacking the smell so we were happy. Neither room had any of the pet extra's they advertise and while the view was fantastic the room itself was small and quite basic. I'd just spent the weekend before at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge and for the same rate I had a bigger room and a fireplace.

The second disappointing thing that happened involved taxi's into town. Again, we had been told by 2 different couples that the hotel offers taxi coupons into town for guests. When we ate in the restaurant on our first night we overheard a server offering these coupons to the table next to us. The following evening we asked for a taxi and one was called for us. I asked about the coupons and the woman said they didn't do that. When I told her that we heard the server offer them she basically looked like we caught her in a lie. She responded with "we don't have any left". Wait a sec, thought you didn't offer them at all? The next day when we checked out I mentioned this and the person at the front desk said that they offer them to guests who eat at the restaurant. Haha, this is after she reviewed the restaurant cost billed to my room. Then she said they offer it to people coming in from town as an incentive to come to the restaurant. So, I guess they don't need to offer incentives to their own guests.

Overall, other than the view, there is absolutely no reason to stay at this hotel. Stay in town. If you have pets there are a number of places, Banff Springs, Rimrock, Buffalo Mountain Lodge, that accommodate. They may be more expensive but i'd spend a bit more to have a nicer room and greater convenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I’m sorry to hear there was confusion over the taxi vouchers. It seems the purpose of the taxi vouchers was not communicated clearly enough to our staff. We offer vouchers to ensure that patrons get home safely after enjoying a meal and drinks with us. We do not normally offer the vouchers to guests wishing to get downtown during the day or without a meal as most guests have a vehicle of their own. I’ll ensure all staff are understanding and honest about this situation moving forward. I’m sorry that you were misled about the vouchers by a server. She should have admitted we had run out and arranged another way you could be reimbursed for your travel downtown after you had dined with us.

I apologize that you did not receive any pet amenities in your room, this is not normal protocol. We normally supply guests travelling with a pet: a plush pet bed, food dish & water bowl, pet friendly trail maps and clean up baggies. Did you make this known to the staff during your stay?

As for the smell in your first room, I apologize again. I cannot think why this would be the case and I’m glad that the staff were so accommodating in rearranging a room for you. We strive to offer a personalized stay in a more remote woodland setting than the hotels downtown. I apologize that you did not get to experience us at our best. If you were to visit us again, I’m sure we would be able to change your mind.

Kind Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My daughter and her husband we married here seven years ago and we were so pleased with the Hotel and restaurant that we try and visit when ever we get to Banff. Great atmosphere, well appointed and the food in the restaurant never disappoints.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great feedback! We’re glad to be able to offer consistent and pleasant experience for you and your family. Make sure you sign up to our email newsletter if you haven’t already so that you’ll hear about the special rates and offers we have first! Sometimes there may even be exclusive offers for returning guests like yourself. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I recently hosted our civil ceremony at the Juniper before our Mexico wedding to be held in November. We had a total of 16 guests and what an amazing time! Justine took care of everything and made sure our day went smoothly. We dealt with everything from a rained out outdoor ceremony to a delayed dinner and she was amazing. The dinner was absolutely spectacular, the servers/bartenders were awesome and the hotel itself was just perfect for a small intimate gathering. The cost was extremly reasonable (this was important when you're hosting 2 weddings).

We have stayed here in the past for a trip out of town and it was just great. Thanks to Justine and the Juniper for making our day special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Jana,

Thank you for your kind words, it was a real pleasure having you guys here! We're pleased to have been such a positive part of your special day. We pride ourselves in being able to offer a unique place for you to spend time with friends and family that's away from the crowds of downtown Banff and are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you have another great day in Mexico and that we’ll see you again sometime soon in Banff.

Justine & The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are repeat customers at this hotel and have stayed in the hotel itself and also in the chalets across the parking lot. The staff is great, check in and check out is handled very quickly and efficiently. You cannot beat the view from the Banff facing side of the hotel .... check out the early morning sunrises .... spectacular. Perhaps the chalet was post summer season tired but things needing attention were kitchen items required for preparing/serving food (ie. made pancake mix in a pot - no hotpot pads for taking items out of the oven). Also noticed the chairs at the table were scratched and needed refinishing. Also fixed the chain in the toilet four times. These are small items but a challenge when you are on vacation. Still like this location and will rebook ... good staff and location trumps these fixable items!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Faye,

Thanks for your feedback. We’re glad you’ve chosen to stay with us on more than one occasion! I apologize that the finishings in the room were not up to par. We’ll ensure we give the Chalet some extra love before you return. It’s good to hear that our staff are great, I’ll be sure to share your positive feedback with them. We’re proud of our place on the base of Mt. Norquay and the amazing unique views that we have to offer! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The customer service here was great! The staff were very attentive to our needs and responded in a timely manner to our requests. I love the location as you get great mountain views and it is very quiet. The rooms have modern decor and are very clean.

Some negatives are that the television is outdated and does not have very many channels. In addition the internet though free is quite slow. The bathrooms do not have much counter space and there also isn't a fitness centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! I’m afraid we do not have a particularly fast internet connection because we are out of town and in a remote setting. I am so glad to hear the customer service was good and that you enjoyed to spectacular mountain views. We hope you come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I got a room with mountain view on the first floor and it was perfect! You can walk out through a back door in the room, leading you to a picnic table on a small area of grass which overlooks mountains and water with no obstruction. This hotel is situated away from Banff so it is very quiet. Definitely very romantic. Room was clean. I would say this is a newer renovated hotel compared to other hotels available in banff for a decent price. Hot tub is outside and also has mountain view. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: try to get a room with mountain view on first floor. Higher floors have balconies but first floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! It’s great to hear you enjoyed our location away from the crowds of downtown Banff. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.