We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay and a great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay and a great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My daughter and her husband we married here seven years ago and we were so pleased with the Hotel and restaurant that we try and visit when ever we get to Banff. Great atmosphere, well appointed and the food in the restaurant never disappoints.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great feedback! We’re glad to be able to offer consistent and pleasant experience for you and your family. Make sure you sign up to our email newsletter if you haven’t already so that you’ll hear about the special rates and offers we have first! Sometimes there may even be exclusive offers for returning guests like yourself. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    58
    33
    17
See reviews for
84
200
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I recently hosted our civil ceremony at the Juniper before our Mexico wedding to be held in November. We had a total of 16 guests and what an amazing time! Justine took care of everything and made sure our day went smoothly. We dealt with everything from a rained out outdoor ceremony to a delayed dinner and she was amazing. The dinner was absolutely spectacular, the servers/bartenders were awesome and the hotel itself was just perfect for a small intimate gathering. The cost was extremly reasonable (this was important when you're hosting 2 weddings).

We have stayed here in the past for a trip out of town and it was just great. Thanks to Justine and the Juniper for making our day special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Jana,

Thank you for your kind words, it was a real pleasure having you guys here! We're pleased to have been such a positive part of your special day. We pride ourselves in being able to offer a unique place for you to spend time with friends and family that's away from the crowds of downtown Banff and are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you have another great day in Mexico and that we’ll see you again sometime soon in Banff.

Justine & The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are repeat customers at this hotel and have stayed in the hotel itself and also in the chalets across the parking lot. The staff is great, check in and check out is handled very quickly and efficiently. You cannot beat the view from the Banff facing side of the hotel .... check out the early morning sunrises .... spectacular. Perhaps the chalet was post summer season tired but things needing attention were kitchen items required for preparing/serving food (ie. made pancake mix in a pot - no hotpot pads for taking items out of the oven). Also noticed the chairs at the table were scratched and needed refinishing. Also fixed the chain in the toilet four times. These are small items but a challenge when you are on vacation. Still like this location and will rebook ... good staff and location trumps these fixable items!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Faye,

Thanks for your feedback. We’re glad you’ve chosen to stay with us on more than one occasion! I apologize that the finishings in the room were not up to par. We’ll ensure we give the Chalet some extra love before you return. It’s good to hear that our staff are great, I’ll be sure to share your positive feedback with them. We’re proud of our place on the base of Mt. Norquay and the amazing unique views that we have to offer! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The customer service here was great! The staff were very attentive to our needs and responded in a timely manner to our requests. I love the location as you get great mountain views and it is very quiet. The rooms have modern decor and are very clean.

Some negatives are that the television is outdated and does not have very many channels. In addition the internet though free is quite slow. The bathrooms do not have much counter space and there also isn't a fitness centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! I’m afraid we do not have a particularly fast internet connection because we are out of town and in a remote setting. I am so glad to hear the customer service was good and that you enjoyed to spectacular mountain views. We hope you come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I got a room with mountain view on the first floor and it was perfect! You can walk out through a back door in the room, leading you to a picnic table on a small area of grass which overlooks mountains and water with no obstruction. This hotel is situated away from Banff so it is very quiet. Definitely very romantic. Room was clean. I would say this is a newer renovated hotel compared to other hotels available in banff for a decent price. Hot tub is outside and also has mountain view. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: try to get a room with mountain view on first floor. Higher floors have balconies but first floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! It’s great to hear you enjoyed our location away from the crowds of downtown Banff. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here in August and booked very late when much of Banff was booked out. Hotel is in a fabulous position to overlook Banff and must be great for getting out early on Mt Norquay early in the ski season. The view from our room was fabulous and we really liked the décor and design of the hotel. It is a quite a way from the centre of Banff which would be plus point had the restaurant been open. Unfortunately, it was closed for a function and as we had already had a busy day of hiking it was really too far to walk into Banff village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We’re proud that our location offers a respite from the crowds of downtown Banff in a woodland setting. However I’m sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by the Bistro closure. We do close for special events, such as weddings, from time to time, however this should have been communicated more clearly to you upon your arrival.

I’m pleased to hear you liked the décor and our fabulous panoramic views of the valley and town site. We hope to accommodate you again soon, maybe for the ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It is a little walk into town and I wouldn't do it lugging luggage! It is close enough to be handy but far away enough to be nice and quiet.
Dinner was lovely, still not sure what happened with the breakfast (was very cold and we were the only ones in there). Tea drinkers be warned you may not have a kettle in your room, only a percolator and will need to hunt down some staff to lend you one.
The staff were super friendly.
The doors do not seal that well so you get a lot of noise form people walking down the corridor if you are in a high traffic area.
We were quite happy staying here for two nights.

Room Tip: Mountain View = look over the carpark to a mountain, can't remember the name they have the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Anna,

Thanks for your review; so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do apologize about your breakfast, I can assure that’s not a common experience and most guests thoroughly enjoy brunch and the views. We are currently a little short staffed in the kitchen and are doing our best to recruit, however that’s not an excuse. Glad you enjoyed our location in the woodland wilderness away from downtown though!

We’ll have to ensure we have more kettles on hand for avid tea drinkers! I hope you enjoyed your trip in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.