We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views and great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice views and great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The customer service here was great! The staff were very attentive to our needs and responded in a timely manner to our requests. I love the location as you get great mountain views and it is very quiet. The rooms have modern decor and are very clean.

Some negatives are that the television is outdated and does not have very many channels. In addition the internet though free is quite slow. The bathrooms do not have much counter space and there also isn't a fitness centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! I’m afraid we do not have a particularly fast internet connection because we are out of town and in a remote setting. I am so glad to hear the customer service was good and that you enjoyed to spectacular mountain views. We hope you come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    58
    33
    17
See reviews for
84
200
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I got a room with mountain view on the first floor and it was perfect! You can walk out through a back door in the room, leading you to a picnic table on a small area of grass which overlooks mountains and water with no obstruction. This hotel is situated away from Banff so it is very quiet. Definitely very romantic. Room was clean. I would say this is a newer renovated hotel compared to other hotels available in banff for a decent price. Hot tub is outside and also has mountain view. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: try to get a room with mountain view on first floor. Higher floors have balconies but first floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! It’s great to hear you enjoyed our location away from the crowds of downtown Banff. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here in August and booked very late when much of Banff was booked out. Hotel is in a fabulous position to overlook Banff and must be great for getting out early on Mt Norquay early in the ski season. The view from our room was fabulous and we really liked the décor and design of the hotel. It is a quite a way from the centre of Banff which would be plus point had the restaurant been open. Unfortunately, it was closed for a function and as we had already had a busy day of hiking it was really too far to walk into Banff village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We’re proud that our location offers a respite from the crowds of downtown Banff in a woodland setting. However I’m sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by the Bistro closure. We do close for special events, such as weddings, from time to time, however this should have been communicated more clearly to you upon your arrival.

I’m pleased to hear you liked the décor and our fabulous panoramic views of the valley and town site. We hope to accommodate you again soon, maybe for the ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It is a little walk into town and I wouldn't do it lugging luggage! It is close enough to be handy but far away enough to be nice and quiet.
Dinner was lovely, still not sure what happened with the breakfast (was very cold and we were the only ones in there). Tea drinkers be warned you may not have a kettle in your room, only a percolator and will need to hunt down some staff to lend you one.
The staff were super friendly.
The doors do not seal that well so you get a lot of noise form people walking down the corridor if you are in a high traffic area.
We were quite happy staying here for two nights.

Room Tip: Mountain View = look over the carpark to a mountain, can't remember the name they have the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Anna,

Thanks for your review; so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do apologize about your breakfast, I can assure that’s not a common experience and most guests thoroughly enjoy brunch and the views. We are currently a little short staffed in the kitchen and are doing our best to recruit, however that’s not an excuse. Glad you enjoyed our location in the woodland wilderness away from downtown though!

We’ll have to ensure we have more kettles on hand for avid tea drinkers! I hope you enjoyed your trip in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Disappointed! Room 104 is right beside the Ice machine. Avoid this part altogether. Room was too hot, and with the windows open, the traffic on the Highway was very loud. $240 for a sleepless night, may as well have slept in my car at a truck stop!

Room Tip: Avoid Ice Machine and Trans Canada Hwy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Geraldine,

I’m sorry to hear that you did not sleep well at our hotel. Did you ask to change rooms one you discovered you found the noise too loud? We tend to recommend light sleepers stay on the Mountain View side of the hotel and try to be as accommodating as possible to our guests needs.

I do apologize that you feel you did not receive value for your stay.

Kind Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We deliberately chose this hotel because it was away from downtown Banff but still minutes away from the town dining and shopping. One early morning we saw a group of elk grazing right near the hotel. We were able to have the windows open in our room - nice! Comfortable beds. Excellent quality toiletries -- "Bee Kind" brand.

Room Tip: We had first floor room. No carpet in the rooms or hallway because this is used as ski lodge in seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mary,

Thanks for you review! We pride ourselves in having a spot on Mt. Norquay that is away from the crowds but closer to town than you think. I’m glad you enjoyed the location, what luck seeing a herd of elk! We’re an ecologically minded hotel as well, that’s why we stock the Bee Kind toilettes – a portion of their net profits go to support honey bee and sustainable pollination research. Neat huh?

Wes hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms in the hotel are very nice but basic. It was nice to have a mini fridge in the room. There was a CRT TV, no flat screen and basic cable. The best aspect of the hotel is the staff. Always helpful, very friendly, knowledgable about attractions, and very accommodating. This hotel is a great value for the Banff area and close to many attractions. There is a beautiful view from the front of the hotel but noise from traffic on route 1 can be distracting. I would suggest requesting a room on the east side of the hotel away from the highway. Overall a very nice hotel in the Banff area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review! We always strive to give our guests the best service and I’m glad that the staff were so helpful to you.

The noise from the highway is usually minimal as trucks are forbidden from using their brakes retarders in the area. Traffic, especially at night, is usually minimal as well. For guests who are lighter sleepers we usually recommend the Mountain View side of the hotel.

I’m glad that you thought overall the hotel was very nice, we look forward to accommodating you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.