We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Juniper visit banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Layton, Utah
1 review
“Juniper visit banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Found this off internet beat and path.. Across hwy from town--gorgeous view of town and mnts.
Rooms satisfactory, food is fantastic at bistro. a real secret. If you're lucky you will have Isabel or David take care of you. Really great place to stay and less expensive than other hotels

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view of Banff-it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We’re pleased that you found us, even though we are off the beaten path!

Our Executive Chef is proud to produce fresh, seasonable and sustainable dishes to all our guests and he’ll be pleased to hear you think the food is fantastic.

We look forward to having you visit us again soon, make sure you sign up to our newsletter on our site to receive the latest offers and updates!

Kind Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    58
    33
    17
See reviews for
84
200
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Initially booked cheaper room which faced the forest behind and overlooked the car park.
We paid additional money and got a room overlooking Banff and surrounding mountains which also come with terrace on ground floor or balcony upstairs. Also a larger room. Highly recommend that side.
We found staff very good.
Restaurant was good food and pretty good value, great outdoor terrace.
It's about a mile (1.5 kms) out of Banff township, a nice walk if you feel like it. We found it a nice break to have the town at arms length.
Had some difficulty with functioning if air con leading to overheated room. Staff deducted additional front room price in compensation.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and go for Banff views- spectacular 180 degree views. We didn't notice any adver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing us a review. I appreciate your comments.

I apologize that you had troubles with the AC and found the room too hot - it's not a problem we have very often in the mountains, where it's winter for 6 months of the year! However, I'll ensure it is looked at for future guests.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location that's away from the crowds of downtown. It's also great to hear that you found the restaurant good food and value. We're very proud of the unique views we have of the valley and it's great to hear that you were made the most of them on the best patio in Banff.

I hope the rest of your stay in Canada was enjoyable. Safe travels.

Kind Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We loved it here, Even though we were facing the parking lot it was a beautiful hotel, Great staff.. very helpful!!! The juniper Bistro is amazing.. I would suggest getting the Banana bread, its truly amazing! Hardwood floor in our room, lots of pillows, they had an AC.

Room Tip: The Norquay rooms show the mountain as well as the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review!

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed The Juniper Bistro so much and that you thought the location was beautiful. Our new Executive Chef strives to provide fresh, seasonable and sustainable dishes to satisfy all tastes, I’ll ensure he hears your great feedback!

If you haven’t already, make sure you sign up for our newsletter to receive exclusive returning guest offers (head to thejuniper.com to sign up). We hope to see you again soon! 

Best Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed two nights at the hotel in early Sept. The first night we arrived late, I had asked for a quiet room not facing the highway. We were set up in a great room, unfortunately over the air condition units, not able to sleep with the windows open. The night clerk offered us two other options two choose from. We choose a room facing the parking lot/woods. She was very accommodating. We went down to eat in the restaurant late, had a great meal! Coming in late we were not rushed and felt very relaxed. The Chef came over to say hello and welcomed us and gave us some insights to the area. Slept great. We had breakfast the next morning. Wonderful. Great views from the patio of the restaurant. We were happy not being in town (close enough) in a mountain like environment. Great location. The restaurant was one of the best we ate at on our trip (Glacier/Banff/Lake Louise/Jasper).

Room Tip: Not facing the highway or near the air conditioning unit on the north end of the property. If you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review; it’s great to receive such good feedback. I’m glad that the night clerk, the Bistro staff and our Chef were all so accommodating to your needs!

We pride ourselves in offering a unique hotel-experience in Banff national park that is away from the crowds and I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the location.

Thanks again for the kind words, hopefully see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

August 2013: Last year, we wrote a glowing recommendation about this hotel and that experience was a significant part of our decision to return to Banff again last week. Unfortunately, we had a very disappointing experience this year. There seems to be a major lack of attention to details in both the servicing of the rooms and most importantly in the quality and menu of the restaurant. The restaurant was one of the highlights of our trip last year and we ended up eating several more meals in the hotel in spite of the number of great restaurants in town. This year, after a couple of meals in the hotel, we finished the rest of our meals out. We were told there was a new chief and while it was an interesting menu, the quality was inconsistent and the combinations seemed to be reaching. For instance, a perfectly cooked duck leg was paired with underdone, chewy bland lentils and for garnish, a beet sauce that was flavorless. The next night, we both had sautéed greens and mine were barely warm much less cooked while my wife’s were excellent. Unfortunately for her, her salmon was so overdone we had to send it back. I ordered the Linguini Puttanesca and while it had wonderfully sautéed cherry tomatoes, the sauce was bland and pedestrian. We have to give credit though to the breakfast, fortunately they did a great job with bacon and eggs.

It terms of the hotel service, the same issues of inconsistently exist. When they changed the sheets the first time, they put the top sheet on sideways so you couldn’t even pull it up to your chin. The daily room cleaning didn’t include sweeping the floor as we wagered on how many days it would be before they cleaned up the dust bunnies forming visibly in the corners of the room. And don’t look under the bed as I did when I dropped my reading glasses.

That said, the location is great and Thami at the front desk is a great representative and host. Unfortunately, his great service is not enough to overcome the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Annie,

Firstly, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to write such a considered review. Secondly, I’d like to apologize for your experience at the Hotel the second time around.

We have a new GM and Executive Chef in place for the last few months and lots of changes lately, which usually creates a few bumps and obstacles along the way. However, that is no excuse for the lack of attention to detail that you have pointed out. It’s hard to hear we’ve let down returning customers, like yourselves, as we are striving to improve in the long term.

We hope to have you back soon to restore your faith in our hotel and quality of service.

Again, thanks for your time.

Kind Regards,

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were staying here for 5 nights in August 2013. Booked "Mountain View" room, but got the 'forest” because our room wasn't ready at our check in time. I wasn't impressed but that fact, but didn't insist because knew from the other people reviews that the "Mountain View" faces the highway and can be noisy. The room was clean; you still can see some mountain. The only thing - they failed to give us 4 towels - we have 3 from the start, 5 after I asked from one more :) and, again, 3 for the rest of our stay. The Bistro was OK - we had one breakfast and one dinner - a bit pricy, great view, good food but I liked Banff restaurants better. The location of the hotel is good to the people with car and not looking for the Banff very crowded streets. We went to the Banff every day (for meals and groceries) - 4 minutes drive and always found parking. Bottom line - good hotel, clean, quiet, service could use some improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, I appreciate your feedback. I apologise there was a mix up with your room booking and confusion over the towels. We are a small and independent hotel that experienced one of our busiest months in August and we are trying our best to keep up. However, that’s not an excuse and I’m sorry you think our service could use improvement. We are always striving to improve ourselves and will encounter obstacles along the way and feedback is always helpful.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the fabulous views, our more remote location and the clean and peaceful rooms.

Thanks for your stay, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Though just outside the city, only minutes from city centre, hotel offers good rooms and fantastic restaurant. Staff are knowledgeable about local amenities and offer good advice. Rooms clean. Good walking trails from hotel.

Room Tip: Low level hotel, good access for everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the fabulous restaurant and our knowledgeable staff.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.