We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view – if you’re on the right side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Burlingame, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Incredible view – if you’re on the right side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had booked a mountain view room at the Juniper Hotel. When we arrived and checked in to our room, we realized that the mountain view was not the coveted view since the mountain wall was just a few feet in front of our window. We went back to the reception area to see if there were any rooms on the other side of the hotel. For $20 more, we were upgraded to a “valley view” room with an incredible view across Banff which included many mountains. You also get a small patio or balcony on this side allowing you to sit outside and admire the view as the light changes during the day. It was well worth the increase!
The room itself was comfortable with a retro mid-century style. The hotel’s exterior is vaguely Frank Lloyd Wright looking. There are some interesting photos in the main floor hallway of the hotel when it was built in the 1960’s.
The hotel is across the Trans Canada from the town of Banff. We were initially afraid that it might be noisy since it’s right above the highway, but it wasn’t. You do need a car. There are lots of parking lots in Banff so it was not a problem to drive into town for meals or shopping. We loved being away from the crowds!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with the panoramic valley view. The views of Mount Norquay are too close.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad that our staff were able to accommodate your changes and you got to experience the Best views in Banff.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed our location away from the hustle and bustle, we like to say “we’re away from the crowds and closer than you think”.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Thanks again.

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    58
    33
    17
See reviews for
84
200
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night! The hotel was nicely decorated, The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. The tvs are old but most people are there to sleep and do out door activites so that was not a big deal! The walls are thin. You can hear all that goes on in the hallways but i still got a good restful sleep. The Hot tub was great with a nice view ( We did have to bring our own towels though). Resturaunt had a great view with two beers on tap and a good wine selection. The food was ok. I ordered steak that came with French fries instead of the veggies. i guess the cooks got lazy! The staff complained about being under staffed and were running around like crazy but we still enjoyed our selves!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, we take all feedback and comments seriously and are looking for ways to improve our guest experience. We do operate in an old building rich with history, however that means we experience noise problems on occasion. We’re currently looking into better sound proofing for the rooms and hallways.

Normally, we are accommodating to individual food preferences and I apologize that you didn’t experience that level of service on your visit. “Steak Frites” is one of our most popular items on the Bistro menu, I’ll ask the service team to be clearer about what these dishes entail.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the best views in Banff and our delicious wine selection. I hope you will stay with us again.

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

An excellent hotel. The only thing that was wrong with it was one of the shutters on our windows was a bit broken. If you don't mind the mile walk into town then this hotel is the best choice. The views are stunning and the food in the restaurant is very tasty. The pulled pork sandwich is a must. The staff are very friendly and Mason the barman knows his cocktails!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We’re glad you had a great stay here. I hope it was a memorable trip for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again and will check the shutters in all the rooms. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Juniper.

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am giving this hotel a star only for the view. My husband booked our room on booking.com, when we arrived, they tried to give him a room with two double beds. We ended up in a king room, but I think it is the worst room in the hotel. It fails on several levels:
We are directly across the hall from the ice maker and vending machine, as well as the housekeeping office. We can hear every word as well as every footstep in the hall and conversation. This place is VERY LOUD. The room is dirty with dust and dead bugs on the sills. When the windows are open, you hear traffic from the highway. It is not walkable to and from town (there are no sidewalks or street lights.). As I write this, I now also hear that someone as a dog din he hall that is whining and barking. Do yourself a favor and stay one where else.

Oh, and the staff is terribly rude and snotty. Maybe they don't like Americans? (which is fine, carpet diem, just warn us so we can take our money elsewhere.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your experience at The Juniper in July this year. I’d like to offer an apology on behalf of our entire team that your stay was less than satisfactory.

I’m sorry that you found the room and hallways too noisy, we do however, operate within a renovated building so have some challenges with noise traveling. We’re currently looking into building better soundproofing into the rooms so that our guests can have quieter stay in the future.

Your experience with our staff and room cleanliness is not typical and I’m sorry that you felt that way about your stay here. We strive to provide excellent service to all our guests (both international and domestic), during their stay and will review your experience in further training of our employees. I’m glad however that you enjoyed the spectacular views and would like to invite you to call the hotel and ask to speak to me directly if you have any further issues you would like to tell us about.

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to change your opinions of us one day.

Hotel Phone Number: 403.762.2281
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the July long weekend; it was the only hotel in Banff accepting a one night stay. The hotel is located in a secluded area approximately a 5 min drive from town; (make sure you have access to a car). Although it was scenic and nice to escape the Banff crowds, it was a hassle to drive to town and find parking. The restaurant was closed for a private function. Our room was on the second floor; (no elevator and no offer from staff to assist with luggage). The building is stick framed so noise is easily transferred between rooms. Our room was small with a view of the parking lot. The bathroom was nicely appointed but was extremely small with stand-up shower; only space for one person at a time to get ready. Power was out in the hotel due to a storm for hours; bring a flashlight just in case because the staff seemed unprepared once the emergency generator quit. The outdoor sheltered hot tub was our favourite spot; private with a great view!

Overall it was fine for a one night stay but underwhelming at $225/night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. Choose a first floor room unless you are prepared to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great to receive your feedback, I really appreciate you taking time out of your day to help us improve. Sorry to hear you experienced a power outage, I can assure you it’s not a common occurrence, however I will follow up with staff to ensure they know the protocol in the future!

If you were to visit again please let me know and we can arrange a room with a valley view for you.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hot tub, you won’t find one with a view like ours anywhere in town. We’re proud to offer a respite from the hubbub and we’re now offering free taxi vouchers for Bistro guests to make transportation a bit easier. Thanks and hope to see you again!

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked this hotel so we could enjoy the mountain views with our last dinner in the Rockies - and imporantly allow us to have a drink and not to have to drive. At check-in we noticed a sign that announced the restaurant was shut on Monday and Tuesday nights! No attempt had been made to contact us. On complaining we were given a $10 food voucher each for use at breakfast, but this really did not make up for the disappointment on what was a special 'once in a lifetime trip' to the Canadian Rockies.

How can you run a hotel and be taken seriously if your restaurant is shut in the prime tourist touring (as opposed to winter sport) season of mid June? Shame on you! I cannot possibly recommend anybody to stay at a place that puts themselves ahead of their customers - so my advice is to stay somewhere else - such as Banff Avenue B&B - whose owners really care about customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize your experience at The Juniper didn’t match your expectations.

Our Bistro does shut down for private functions, weddings and Mondays & Tuesdays during the off season. I’m sorry we didn’t find another solution for you as you were unable to use the food vouchers that we provide in these situations. Moving forward we’ll be attempting to communicate our hours and closures more clearly and be providing Bistro guests with taxi vouchers to get into town.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

The Juniper GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It had a spectacular view rundle stone and two other mountains! The restaurant is excellent! And they have a hot tub. It's right on the edge of town away from the touristy busy town centre. They also have a mice nature walk area, the rooms are very clean but small it's simplistic yet luxurious. My only complaint is that they DID NOT CARE that we were on our honey moon my husband even called in advance to let them know and they did and said nothing! He told them again when we got there and NOTHING! We would stay there again though but don't expect them to go out of their way for you. There was one girl that worked at the front desk that was very helpful about restaurants and stuff to do.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.