We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This review was a long time coming, even though my husband and I have stayed multiple times at this hotel and have an overload of memories tied to The Juniper.

We first discovered the hotel in 2006, when we were hunting for a memorable place to get married. We wanted something that represented who we are - easy going, fun, tasteful - and had what we like - memorable location, views for the ceremony, cozy interior for the reception and great food. The Juniper delivered all of this and more. Not a single negative thing comes to mind when I remember the day of our wedding in August 2007. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us and our party, the food and drinks were great - and their large patio was perfect location for the ceremony with the view of Banff and Vermilion Lakes in the background.

Almost 6 years later we keep coming back to the Juniper not only for special occasions, but even just for random weekends away from our home in Calgary. The location is spectacular, right outside of Banff with great views to wake up to. The staff is always wonderful, friendly and goes an extra mile to make our stay special. The restaurant at the hotel keeps serving great food; never once were we disappointed with anything we ordered.

The only reason why I gave 4 and not 5 is that compared to 2007 when we first stayed here, the rooms do need to be updated a bit. Wouldn't hurt to put in new carpets, clean the air vents some of which looked like they collected way too much dust, and update a few of the furnishings that are starting to show age. The common areas and the restaurant look stylish and well-maintained at all times, and rooms used to as well, but over the last couple of visits in late 2012 and early 2013 we noticed that some rooms we've stayed in could use a bit of attention.

If the management does take some steps to remedy this before it gets too far, there won't ever be a better place to stay in the town of Banff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    126
    53
    31
    17
See reviews for
72
170
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked one of the suites for two days on a summer trip through Alberta. The price was quite reasonable, around 200 CAD which was favourable compared to other suites we checked out in Banff. The room itself (Sundance suite? not sure I have the name right) was very very nice, very spacious, excellent bed, large jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, very large balcony with a fantastic view. Beautifully refurbished; large TV and the wifi worked well. The restaurant at this hotel often receives favourable reviews for its view, and this suite is directly above the restaurant. Unfortunately due to highway noise it isn't really feasible to sit on the balcony however.

The room also has a fireplace, which would be nice in the winter but turned out to be a bad idea in July. It's a "one-touch" type of fireplace, which means it never really turns off - so it throws a fair bit of heat even on a very hot July day. The real problem though was that the air conditioning died in the middle of the night, so it became extremely hot. We informed the staff the next morning before heading out for the day, and when we returned they told us someone had been in to fix it. However when we got to the room it was still 28 degrees, so we were moved to the next-door suite (Spray Valley?) which had functional air-conditioning. The second suite had a similar view and also had a jacuzzi, but no fireplace (not a bad thing in the summer). It was also considerably smaller but still a good size.

We also received free breakfast the next day on account of the troubles. Worth noting: we had booked a bed-and-breakfast package on the hotel website, but this includes breakfast on only the first day (not mentioned on the site). The breakfast was really excellent both days. We didn't eat any other meals in the restaurant.

The location was no problem at all for us; in fact since we had a car and spent most of our time in the park rather than the town, being so close to the highway was a plus. We walked into town both nights for dinner and it was an easy 15-minute walk. Walking back is uphill but it's a gentle slope, nothing we really noticed. We found it a very pleasant walk in the summer.

Overall a very good experience, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was staying at Juniper Hotel over the Easter weekend of 2013 - we were very lucky that we had beautiful weather the entire time. The room was spacious and very clean and the beds were excellent. We also ate at the restaurant and had great servers and the with the open kitchen concept you were able to see how they prepare your meal. Great stay and will recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Although, I imagine it can be a bit louder during the summer months as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel advertises a pet bed, dishes and poop bags.. we didnt see any of that and they didnt even offer them to us. granted we had our own but talking to other pet owns in the hotel they werent offered them either.
I love that the hotel is pet friendly but that being said you cant go do anything on your vacation because you arent allowed to leave your pet in the room alone. So what are you supposed to do.. leave your pet in the car while you go eat, ski, sight see? doubtful. On the website it says and i quote "Do not leave your pet unattended in the guest room.
If you do leave your pet unattended, you will not receive housekeeping services." now.. what! you cant leave your pets in the room but if you do you dont get housekeeping.. thats kina oxymoron. they told my boyfriend they can be left for 10 minutes. then another time he was told they could be left for an hour. MAKE UP YOUR MINDS PEOPLE! I understand some dogs bark when left alone, but what do you expect? My boyfriend was at a conference and I was in the lounge having breakfast one morning when the waiter asked me if i was staying in a certain room. I groaned and knew Jaime must be barking. which is odd she only barked when she heard other dogs barking. so i got up to check on her and see what was up and as I was walking down the hall the manager came out of our room! just waltzed out. and said "the pet isnt allowed to be left alone" okay.. but what the hell were you doing in my room.. you didnt receive permission.. you just walked into a room with a dog.. into her space.. youre dumb. you dont know what that dog is going to do to you. so i was upset about his going into our room.. pretty sure they arent allowed to just go in.. unless its an emergency. Its not like he came down to the lounge to see if thats where the owners were. Across the hall there were two separate rooms with dogs that were barking non stop. so i put jaime in the truck until i finished eating breakfast.
The room was lovely.. we booked a medium sized pet friendly room. we had a door that led to a back deck and down to the grass which was prefect for the pooch. lovely view of the mountains. the lounge had a nice patio as well.
The bed in the room could defiantly be replaced, the sagged to the middle really bad and the pillows were really soft.
so all in all i dont think id stay again.

Room Tip: rooms on the southside are right by the highway BUT have a deck and a view of the mountains.. well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got a 2 roomed unit that was perfect for our family. Used this location as a base for skiing Norquay and enjoyed the Hot tub at the end of an active day. Need a car for the short drive into Banff. Great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed with some girlfriends at the Juniper in June of last year. I am from Calgary and have travelled extensively to Banff and have stayed at many hotels in the area, but this was my first stay at the Juniper.

The good:

The hotel has obviously been re-done in recent years and received a facelift on the inside. Overall it’s finished very nicely, and the rooms are nicely updated.

The hot tub was also awesome, it’s outside yet sheltered.

The bad:

Location. The location is probably the worst of all hotel locations in Banff. It is definitely not even close to being within walking distance of downtown Banff, and to me, isn’t the whole point of staying in Banff that it’s small, quaint, and easy to get places by foot?

Price was also very high based on other places we stayed in Banff. The rooms were nice, but there wasn’t anything special about them, and I felt the price of the rooms was much too high.

Even though our stay was decent, we would probably never stay here again. There are plenty of other Banff hotels that are much closer to everything, and also hotels at better prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We got a mountainview with a balcony which was wonderful and the sound of the Highway is deadened by the thick outer wall. The room was small but nicely done and attractive. The bed big, and cozy.
My only negative comments are that the shower head is cheap plastic job and had lame pressure, also for the price you think they would have more than 6 lame TV channels, the worst of the worst on cable.
Breakfast was great, eggs benedict was super with excellent sauce.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.