We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got a 2 roomed unit that was perfect for our family. Used this location as a base for skiing Norquay and enjoyed the Hot tub at the end of an active day. Need a car for the short drive into Banff. Great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    58
    33
    17
See reviews for
84
200
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed with some girlfriends at the Juniper in June of last year. I am from Calgary and have travelled extensively to Banff and have stayed at many hotels in the area, but this was my first stay at the Juniper.

The good:

The hotel has obviously been re-done in recent years and received a facelift on the inside. Overall it’s finished very nicely, and the rooms are nicely updated.

The hot tub was also awesome, it’s outside yet sheltered.

The bad:

Location. The location is probably the worst of all hotel locations in Banff. It is definitely not even close to being within walking distance of downtown Banff, and to me, isn’t the whole point of staying in Banff that it’s small, quaint, and easy to get places by foot?

Price was also very high based on other places we stayed in Banff. The rooms were nice, but there wasn’t anything special about them, and I felt the price of the rooms was much too high.

Even though our stay was decent, we would probably never stay here again. There are plenty of other Banff hotels that are much closer to everything, and also hotels at better prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We got a mountainview with a balcony which was wonderful and the sound of the Highway is deadened by the thick outer wall. The room was small but nicely done and attractive. The bed big, and cozy.
My only negative comments are that the shower head is cheap plastic job and had lame pressure, also for the price you think they would have more than 6 lame TV channels, the worst of the worst on cable.
Breakfast was great, eggs benedict was super with excellent sauce.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here during our ski trip to Mount Norquay. The location was perfect.
What we liked about the hotel was the great staff, who looked through all their reservations to see if there was a room we could upgrade to as we realized we booked two single beds(they couldn't as it was a long weekend and they were booked full) , the staff in the restaurant who were very helpful with information which made our trip up the gondola amazing, and the view from the restaurant was amazing and a great way to start out the day with good food.

Some of the cons are that the standard rooms are not sound proof and could use some updating and a more thorough cleaning, but after a day of skiing we were able to sleep. It is a bit out of town, so unless you are okay walking on the highway you will have to drive into town, but if you stayed in town then you would not have the view!

I like the smell of wood fires, especially when on a ski trip, but if you don't this is something that you should know as they have a fire in the restaurant most nights which is great for after a day of skiing outside.

There is a hot tub outside, it is small but still enjoyable. It has a great mountain town feel and is the great atmosphere for a ski weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I had decided that we needed a little getaway to ease up some of the stress of living. So we booked here, as it seemed like a nice, out of the way place. We knew it was a bit out of the town of Banff, but were driving up anyhow, so that didn't matter.

We arrived before the checkin time and asked if the room was ready anyhow. The nice lady at the front desk said that it would be about another half an hour or so. No problem, we were hungry anyhow, so we went to the Mukamuk Bistro. The food there was quite tasty, but a bit on the pricey side, imo. A very nice touch was that the nice lady from the front desk came to find us in the Bistro when our room was ready, and she let us know that it was ready for us.

The first impression of the room was quite favorable. It was a large room, a nice king sized bed, a fantastic view and a little balcony thing. The bathroom looked amazing, and the big tub with a rainshower style head looked quite inviting. Then we tried to flip a light on, and the bulb was burned out. Alright, no big deal, right?

We had a nap (the bed is quite comfy!) and as we are getting ready to go out, it sounded like our shower/tub turned on. I went to investigate, and found that there was a lot of water coming out of the shower head. I play around with the taps some, but they are all off. The only thing I can figure out from it was that the suite above ours (we were on the second floor) had someone using their shower. When they stopped, the water stopped coming through ours. Ok...that's a bit more of an issue.

Opened the lid of the toilet to use it..an the stench coming out of the toilet was pretty powerful. I'm really now beginning to wonder about staying here. When we left, we talked to the lady (a different one from checkin) manning the main desk about our concerns, but she didn't appear to understand what we were saying or speak english very well.

We head out for supper, and after we come back decide to give the hot tub a shot. It's nice, but a bit small. I figure you could probably fit 8 people in there. It's outside, which I imagine would be quite interesting in very cold weather, too. We did have a nice chat with some of the other people in there, though.

We go back and decide to head off to bed...except we discover that the walls are paperthin with no soundproofing. There was a party of folks who spoke french to one side of us (I couldn't understand what they were saying, but could hear their conversation easily enough), a guy with a bad cough on the other side of us, and an amorous couple under us, I'd imagine. Not particularly restful at all. Any movement in the hallway could be easily heard, and with the #1 outside the window, there was loud traffic all night long.

In the morning, we hit the bistro again. The food was good, but again seemed a bit pricey to me. We didn't try the WiFi at any point, and the one public computer informed us that the internet wasn't available on that terminal at the moment.

Overall, I was pretty disappointed. For the price charged, I had expected a lot more of this hotel over a comfy bed and a nice looking bathroom. my wife and I travel often to Banff for weekend trips, and I don't think we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were happy with our stay at the Juniper Hotel. It is in a great location for skiing at Norquay - at the end of the day you can ski down to the hotel from the hill. The price for the rooms was much below what we would expect for the quality of the room. Yes, it was a bit small but it was comfortable and reasonably clean. The hot tub was also nice and appeared clean. The decor is contemporary rustic which suits the surroundings. Unfortunately, some of our family members stayed in a chalet and it was not as clean as the main building. It could definitely use a little TLC. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

At first we were not impressed, however as our stay continued, we did change our opinion somewhat. When we first arrived the room we were given was on the Mountain View side. That sounds nice, however that is also the #1 Highway side which is very noisy. The staff accommodated us by switching us to the opposite side of the hotel. Anything we asked of the staff, they were willing and eager to do. The rooms are dated, but the bathrooms have been updated. The shower/bathtub hot water temp was disappointing, since the hot water from the sink was much hotter. The outdoor hot tub gives a nice view of the mountains while sheltering you from rain and wind, there for it is designed well. However what really made the stay memorable was the meal at the Muk a Muk bistro, which I will try and leave a review for separately. Overall, we were pleased with our stay. What made it pleasant was the the people staffing the establishment, which to me, is more important then the people running the establishment.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.