We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Juniper Hotel to your Saves list
The Juniper Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Napoleonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent one night here in June 2012 on the way back from our trip to Alaska. We had no reservations but were able to get a room when many places in Banff were booked. It is outside of town high on a hill overlooking Ca. 1 and Banff. The room rates were very reasonable and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The rooms had an iside door to the hallway and an outside door to a wooden patio for each room. The view from inside and ouside was fantastic with snow covered peaks in all direction. We saw deer and elk from the patio outside of our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would deffinitely stay here again. On of the favorite hotels on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments. We would be honored to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    183
    69
    42
    18
See reviews for
113
269
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Located just outside Banff, you need a car to get in to town for a meal. It's situated next to HHWY1 so there is quite a lot of traffic noise if you have a room on that side of the hotel. We asked for a quiet room when booking but we hardly slept on our first night due to a constant electric humming from the air-conditioning system. We changed rooms for our second night and this time were kept awake most of the night due to a leaking pipe outside our room. We cancelled our third night and went looking for somewhere quieter. What really annoyed me, however, was the fact that the staff clearly knew about the electrical noise in that part of the hotel yet still put people in those rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The Juniper Hotel was an amazing experience for us when traveling through Alberta and BC. Our room had the most comfortable memory foam mattress and the decor was very welcoming. We were traveling with our small dog and really appreciated the thought that went into planning a dog friendly room with an outdoor access from the room to a nice grassy area. It was nice to be able to sit outside the room in lounge chairs in own little area and have grass area to play with our dog. Also much appreciated are the spotless wooden floors and stone bathroom floor. Dog friendly hotels with carpeting in the room just never feel clean!
We participated in the special that the inn was having that included dinner and breakfast as well as tickets to the hot springs . Both meals were amazing but I have to say that it was the service that was most outstanding. Our server for dinner was Steven and he was a one man show for the evening. Did he ever perform amazingly well and was right there when we needed him even though he was running everything that evening.
We knew when we arrived at the Juniper and Banff that we had not planned enough time in this area or to enjoy this amazing hotel. So...they graciously extended our stay another night and we cancelled where we were planning to go next. I can hardly wait to come back in another season, possibly winter to ski. The upper hot springs are a must enjoy plus kayaking on the river. An elk swam right in front of our kayak across the river!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is fairly new and located outside Banff next to the HWY1. So you need a car for the short ride to town.
The hotel has a Japanese atmosphere and there is a lot of First Nations and other art in the hotel. Bar and restaurant are present which make it nice if you are not able or not interested in going out to Banff.
Rooms are standard with good beds and enough space. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here at the end of august. When we showed up the girls at the front desk were great! When they looked at our reservation the girl told us for 50 dollars more she could upgrade us from our Noroquay view room to the view of Banff. I told her I was a little skeptical about being beside the highway and she assured us it was really nothing the odd truck makes it loud. We trusted her opinion and upgrade to room 102. My jaw dropped the second I opened the door. The room is so nice very modern and the view was just unbelievable. It is small but who cares you have your own little patio outside your door. The bed was so comfortable and the room was immaculately clean. The noise from the highway is nothing we weren't disturbed once in our room by anything. The jacuzzi was great your literally looking out over Banff. There was nothing better then waking up to that view! The girls at the desk were great beyond nice! I would recommend this hotel to anyone it was phenomenal! GO HERE! by the way from other reviews I'd ask for room 101-104 they were all in the same hallway where we stayed! Again blew away my expectations

Room Tip: Do the upgrade mount Noroquay rooms are at the parking lot. I was in room 102 the hallway is 101 - 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were there for a convention. We had asked for a mountain view room with a deck. We got the main floor with a "sort of" deck. The view was beautiful! Needs some updates done. The second floor is loud, they need to upgrade and soundproof the floors. We had to ask for shampoo, conditioner, soap and face cloths. The bed was very comfortable. Once the people in the room above us stopped moving, we were able to sleep. The food in the restaurant was good and the prices reasonable. The cost of drinks in the lounge/bar was also reasonable. The staff all seemed friendly and ready to assist. The WIFI was hit and miss in the room. The Juniper is across the highway from Banff, cabfare is approximately $8 to the townsite. Not sure if we would stay again, however, would not tell someone not to stay at the Juniper Hotel & Bistro.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room or suite with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The rooms I've stayed at so far at the Juniper Hotel have incredible views and offer plenty of fresh air via patios/balconies, and windows that let in the mtn breeze.The rooms are cozy, but we're never in Banff to stay inside anyhow. The beds and linens are always very comfortable and clean, and the bathrooms have been updated to reflect the sophistication of a smart boutique hotel. The hotel embraces its "lodge" past with interesting artifacts in the rooms and hanging in the hallways. Breakfast in the Juniper Bistro can't be beat: killer mtn view with delicious and nutritious food, making for a wonderful start to the day's adventures. The Bistro is also a fab place to relax with an excellent microbrew at day's end. We'll keep going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Juniper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Hotel

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mount Norquay Rd, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1W 2C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Juniper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hotel is perched at the base of Mount Norquay overlooking the town of Banff just 2kms away. The hotel's woodland setting and striking views of three iconic mountain ranges provides a National Park atmosphere. This boutique hotel features 52 designer guest rooms, many with balconies or patio walk-outs. Mountain views are available from your guest room, Bistro & Lounge and outdoor hot tub. On-site you will find interpretive displays and artwork of the areas culture and heritage, as well as woodland walking trails, bike rentals, ski storage, hiking maps and activity planning services. Wireless Internet access is complimentary hotel-wide, and the Library also houses a pay-per-minute Internet kiosk. Pets are welcome and must be pre-arranged with the hotel to ensure pet friendly room availability. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your The Juniper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hotel Banff
Juniper Lodge Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.