We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Driftwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
St Augustine FL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read the reviews and thought the negatives were not so bad. Hotel is at rear of property so hard to see from street. Close parking was awkward. Poor signage to check in at Ptarmigan Inn. Weird empty space where lobby was located. Large room with poor lighting. Hot soda machine. No a/c or fan. I would have overlooked all this but I could not ignore the NOISE. I was woken several times by what sounded like a fraternity party right behind my room. Plus the designated smoking area was right outside window. Told the front desk who basically blamed me for choosing this hotel. Second night I was treated to heavy bass music. Did not bother to complain again. Hotel is in great location and rooms on opposite side may be fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side of property are closest to noisy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    37
    24
    11
See reviews for
16
38
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Froid, Mt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No AC, very hot, did have a fan in the room, window hinges broken, no screen, door jamb has been broken several times and did not feel safe. Bed was in the shape of an old worn out saddle. Parking was scarce.
On the good side was location, location, location. Bathroom was clean, rest of the motel, not so much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the cheaper options in Banff, so obviously we were prepared for an older room, no lift, check in at the hotel next door, old TV with distorted colours, etc. I have no problems with that. But on our first night, while the sheets were clean I could see a dark stain on the mattress protector below. The next morning I asked for the bedding to be changed. The front desk staff were apologetic. When we returned the bedding was changed but there was a pillowcase lying on the floor. Good location and nice soap were the only positives about this place. Next time I will be more than happy to pay a little extra for a cleaner hotel in Banff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was the only decent priced thing in banff . every hotel in banff is overpriced. It was moderately clean, but definately not spotless. Bed was pretty comfy. using the other hotel's amenities was a nice bonus. Not a great place to stay but not a complete dump.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Valley, NS
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I spent 4 nights in Banff, my longest visit yet. I have stayed in Banff many times at various hotels, including the Driftwood. This time I chose the Driftwood because my regular discount hotel, the Bow View Inn, was booked. This is the last time I go cheap in Banff and never at the Driftwood again. However, that is more a comment on my travel choice than the Driftwood itself. For the price, in Banff, the Driftwood is adequate, but on this stay there were just enough things that went wrong that I will not return. The bed was old and had slight sag, the room was too warm, and the bathroom is just that much too small (and no sink plug). On the Saturday night of my stay there was a large dog barking until midnight with a smaller dog responding every now and then. The cleaning time of the rooms was unpredictable and done by a group of young staff on the floor all at once (not a problem, just different to my experience). Several of the rooms appear to be longer term rentals to youth working in the town, as just a quick look in the rooms, in passing, looked like a frat house blew up! Plus there was an odd smell in the hallways. There was ample parking and the services of the Ptarmigan Inn are available to guests, i.e. pool, gym, etc. but I did not have time to use them this time. Overall, the Driftwood is a reasonable value for a Banff visitor on a budget, but I will choose to spend a little more next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The driftwood in was by far the cheapest place to stay in Banff. And with immaculately clean rooms and the use of the amenities next door it's hard to justify paying extra to stay anywhere else. Right in the heart of the town with lots of parking outside your window came in very handy as we had our new mountain bikes in the back of my truck. But the best of all way the BED. I've never slept in anything more comfortable, say what you will about the decor, or rest of the bedroom furniture but a good bed and clean bathroom is all anybody needs. We arrived extremely late the first night and they did not charge us for it. We will be back to Banff and stay nowhere else but the driftwood. Absolute bargain!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This place might have been a decent deal if they were honest about their extra charges, but they were not. Pay attention to your credit card bill to see if they over-charge you for cleaning, etc. The place is very dated too, with terrible insulation and noisy windows that leak air. There was no light in the bathroom above the sink. The old couch in the room was so uncomfortable it is pretty much useless. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Address: 337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. All of the Inns rooms are finished with pine furniture and accents, and offer free wireless Internet access. The Driftwood Inn’s convenient location and ample amenities make it one of Banff's best values. The Driftwood Inn is a pet friendly hotel. Located only a block from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Banff
Driftwood Motel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.