We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasolable choice for Banff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Driftwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 33 hotels in Banff
Oakville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A reasolable choice for Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is very central in Banff and is quiet. The price is good for Banff.
It is an annex of Ptarmingan Inn therefor there is no reception at the Driftwood Inn, For any question or help you need to go to the Ptarmingan. That reception there was friendly and helpful. We lost the key of our room and we received a new one without charge or fuss.
The carpet at the Driftwood Inn were disgustingly stained, the bathroom was very small but the beds were good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    37
    24
    11
See reviews for
16
38
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked in advance for last weekend, Melissa's Road Race weekend when all the hotels jump in price and got a rate of $89/night + tax which was awesome. Good location, really decent room actually with two beds seperated by a bathroom so it was almost like having two seperate rooms. Unfortunately while packing to leave the next morning I saw a bug crawling on my bed and squished it to find it was filled with fresh blood... cue panick but I had a busy day ahead so I didn't stop to look into it. Upon getting home I discovered my entire body was covered in bites and looked up bed bugs and sure enough they look identical to the little bug I squished. I called the hotel to let them know that room 265 likely has an infestation and they have said they will look into it and apologized but didn't offer me anything for it. Next time I'll spend the extra $50/night to stay at the actual Ptarmagin or Caribou Lodge where I've stayed before and not experienced bed bugs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have visited Banff multiple times now and have stayed at different hotels each time. I was visiting this time during a busy event weekend, so I chose Driftwood Inn because they had the lowest cost (still close enough to town), and we were traveling with our dog this time, so we needed pet-friendly.

Pros:
Decent location (walking distance to everything) and good price. The bed was really comfortable and the room was big enough to accommodate our dog. They also allowed us late checkout upon request which was great (1pm instead of 11am!)

Cons:
You have to check in at Ptarmagin Inn, which is kind of annoying and there wasn't enough parking, so we had to park a block over and walk. They also gave us the wrong room # to begin with, so we scared another couple as we tried to 'break into' their room. We eventually got another room luckily. It advertised that with a pet room we would have a pet bed, food and water bowl and treats. We did not receive this. Our view was also terrible.

We probably would only stay here again if it was significantly cheaper than all other hotels.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you are traveling with a dog who has trouble going up and down stairs, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

To find the hotel is kind of hard cause you have to go through an alley between two hotels to get there!! There is no front desk at the hotel you have to check in at the Ptarmigan inn. The room is ok but it sure needs some fixing!! Other than that is a good inn and really close to downtown, witch is perfect!!! People at the Ptarmigan are really friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel had a room for us at a great rate in a place where $300.00 a night is the norm. Everything we needed was there. The rooms needed some attention but for the price it was good. All of the attractions in Banff town were right there near the hotel and that was great.

Room Tip: Might want to get a second floor room so you are not looking right out at the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

WE got a great price online on this hotel, but man does it need work. The rugs throughout the place are way past their best-before date, and everything, except for the beds, is dated. You have to register in the hotel next door, and that was not understood easily as the sign on the door saying this was ripped and not very legible.
On the plus side, the Ptarmigan Inn desk guy was great, and he upgraded us to a huge suite with a full size fridge. We had access to the Ptarmigan's pool, spa, etc. but did not use it.
Location is great, just a block from downtown. Just a little hard to find as it is off Banff Avenue a bit.
As I said earlier, the beds were very comfortable, and our view of the mountains from the room was spectacular. Too bad the windows were filthy...
All in all, I would stay here again for the price we got, but only if we got that suite again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite and clean windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first time, its not much to look at but we went on a long weekend and it was high season this hotel was the best deal around. I must say the bed was super comfy and couldn't have asked for a better location literally one block from downtown. I would def stay at this hotel again, when your in Banff you don't typically stay in your room and this hotel has location location location plus a comfy bed at a decent price!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Address: 337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. All of the Inns rooms are finished with pine furniture and accents, and offer free wireless Internet access. The Driftwood Inn’s convenient location and ample amenities make it one of Banff's best values. The Driftwood Inn is a pet friendly hotel. Located only a block from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Banff
Driftwood Motel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.