We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Driftwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Erskine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Once we found it tucked up a short entrance we liked the location as it was easy to walk into the main part of town. The room we had consisted of two bedrooms with a connecting bathroom and storage area. Very comfortable bed and plenty of room for us two.

Room Tip: Get one on ground floor with extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    40
    25
    11
See reviews for
17
40
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I arrived in Banff at around 3 am after a long flight. I assumed that there would be a sign for the hotel somewhere on the road it is located. I was wrong. I drove up and down the road several times looking for it. I finally stopped at the Ptarmigan Inn by chance to ask for directions only to be informed that is where I was to check in for the Driftwood Inn. One would think that if they can't bother to put up a sign, the confirmation e-mail for the reservation could at least indicate what to do! Since checking out of there I have noticed it is hard to see even when it is daylight and you know where it is!

The rooms are dated and not so great, but the hotel is at least in a good location close to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you didn't know it was next to the Ptarmigan you will have trouble finding it as there is no street signage.. The Motel sits 70 mtrs back from Banff Ave and you can easily miss the driveway as it is concealed by trees. As others have reported the rooms are dated but clean. The bed was comfortable. The motel was quite at night. For the price it is good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I booked a room at the Driftwood Inn for one night using Hotelopia. We found the Driftwood directly behind the Ptarmigan Inn and at acts as an annex. The room was clean and good value for Banff. We paid by credit card for breakfast at the Ptarmigan. When I received my credit card statement I found that the charge made was well in excess of $100 - a pricey breakfast! Upon calling the Ptarmigan the lady said that the charge was for the second night and upon my saying that we only stayed one night asked where we were the next day. I told her that we were at home in Edmonton and could provide witnesses. She responded that she would discuss it with the Manager. A day later the Manager (Roger) called and agreed to remove the charge for the second night through the credit card. Obviously I shall check next month to ensure that he has done this. But, if using a credit card at this hotel, make sure that it has not been loaded with extra charges!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean pet friendly room - outdated and simple, but pet friendly with nice location to walk dog to 2 school grounds, and staff are very nice re anything we need. Yes - tiles are missing, drapes are off hangers and windows don't lock (need to use nail as jam), but large dog is accommodated without issue. Location is central and building is old so it can be noisy - a light sleeper might be challenged here. Most important, it's clean and staff come every day and do care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great location in the heart of the main street. Warm, clean rooms that are serviced daily. Very affordable. Facilities are older but they are clean and maintained well. Plenty of space in the room. Banff is beautiful and has so many attractions that you won't end up spending much time in the room!
Free wifi which dropped out at times but is good to have.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Was dissappointed with his room, dirty, outdated and not mantained. It was cheap, but not that cheap. I recommend that you book at the Ptarmagin right next door it has a very nice breakfast included with the room as well..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Address: 337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. All of the Inns rooms are finished with pine furniture and accents, and offer free wireless Internet access. The Driftwood Inn’s convenient location and ample amenities make it one of Banff's best values. The Driftwood Inn is a pet friendly hotel. Located only a block from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Banff
Driftwood Motel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.