We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Driftwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 hotels in Banff
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is a little cheaper. It is right in the town you get a free bus pass too and can use the facilities from the Ptarmigan. The decor is old fashioned but the rooms were clean. There is no air conditioning but there is a fan. We had a few issues with our room, T. V not working properly no clock but they sent maintenance up he was very helpful and sorted everything out. Staff very friendly and helpful. There was no view from our room but you just had to step outside to see the views. There is no lift.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    40
    25
    11
See reviews for
17
40
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Checked in at the next door hotel which looked lovely, then we made our way to what I remember as university dorms! The building was tired and the decor was retro! The beds are possibly the worst I've slept on and the rooms are hot! Only stay if you really can't find anything else. Good location and staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Had no other choice and booked this hotel since the weekend of Jul 14th was booked solid every where else.

Check in: At the Banff Ptarmigan Hotel. It was easy and front desk was super friendly.

Room: Upon arrival of the building, you can see that it needs updating. It reminds me of an 80's motel off the side of the road. Entering the room, my first impression was "ok, again it's out of an 80's motel", but i'll give it a go. No choice anyway. 1 queen and 1 single. The sheets looked gross and the bed was uncomfortable, but again it's it's for 2 nights, I can deal. The carpet was filthy. We couldn't even walk barefeet on them. They were not cleaned at all. The bathroom was ok. The shower pressure was awesome though. We put the sign on the door wanting the room cleaned and it was not done our entire say. Though I do have to say that the staff is really friendly and polite when we did see them in the hallway.

Overall: I would not stay here again, even if there was nothing else available. They whole place needs major reno's and upgrades.

Room Tip: Stay else where, even if you are on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just went last weekend (July). Most of the other hotels were booked solid, and we didn't have a lot of money to spend, so we stayed here. The room was a good size, although I would have liked to have a second floor room. If you stay here, ask for one. The windows don't work properly, so you can't leave it open for venting because anyone can climb into your room when it's fully open. No AC, which sucks in the summer. Need bigger ice buckets please. The bed is way too soft for me, but maybe others like it. Overall the room was very clean, thank you cleaning staff. The walls however are paper thin! This should be renovated, luckily we had good neighbours. Plenty of parking applies when you get there early (pre 9pm) . Bottom line all things considered, decent stay for the price. Could have paid over double for a half size room at the springs, no thanks.

Room Tip: Second Floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

While the unit was in a different building from the main lobby it was an easy walk with plenty of parking available. The beds were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Convient, very close to the center. Quiete place but our room was really dark.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

It was really not good to stay, gladly were stayed just only for one night. The room so dark and hot, no air con, has electric fan but terribly not working, the bed isn't comfy my friend had soar back in the morning,.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Address: 337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. All of the Inns rooms are finished with pine furniture and accents, and offer free wireless Internet access. The Driftwood Inn’s convenient location and ample amenities make it one of Banff's best values. The Driftwood Inn is a pet friendly hotel. Located only a block from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Banff
Driftwood Motel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.