We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The best” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Driftwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not The best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Had no other choice and booked this hotel since the weekend of Jul 14th was booked solid every where else.

Check in: At the Banff Ptarmigan Hotel. It was easy and front desk was super friendly.

Room: Upon arrival of the building, you can see that it needs updating. It reminds me of an 80's motel off the side of the road. Entering the room, my first impression was "ok, again it's out of an 80's motel", but i'll give it a go. No choice anyway. 1 queen and 1 single. The sheets looked gross and the bed was uncomfortable, but again it's it's for 2 nights, I can deal. The carpet was filthy. We couldn't even walk barefeet on them. They were not cleaned at all. The bathroom was ok. The shower pressure was awesome though. We put the sign on the door wanting the room cleaned and it was not done our entire say. Though I do have to say that the staff is really friendly and polite when we did see them in the hallway.

Overall: I would not stay here again, even if there was nothing else available. They whole place needs major reno's and upgrades.

Room Tip: Stay else where, even if you are on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    40
    25
    11
See reviews for
17
40
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just went last weekend (July). Most of the other hotels were booked solid, and we didn't have a lot of money to spend, so we stayed here. The room was a good size, although I would have liked to have a second floor room. If you stay here, ask for one. The windows don't work properly, so you can't leave it open for venting because anyone can climb into your room when it's fully open. No AC, which sucks in the summer. Need bigger ice buckets please. The bed is way too soft for me, but maybe others like it. Overall the room was very clean, thank you cleaning staff. The walls however are paper thin! This should be renovated, luckily we had good neighbours. Plenty of parking applies when you get there early (pre 9pm) . Bottom line all things considered, decent stay for the price. Could have paid over double for a half size room at the springs, no thanks.

Room Tip: Second Floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

While the unit was in a different building from the main lobby it was an easy walk with plenty of parking available. The beds were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Convient, very close to the center. Quiete place but our room was really dark.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

It was really not good to stay, gladly were stayed just only for one night. The room so dark and hot, no air con, has electric fan but terribly not working, the bed isn't comfy my friend had soar back in the morning,.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Next door to the flasher Ptarmigan Inn. Managed by the Ptarmigan Inn. That is where you will check in and be offered the use of their facilities, pools ect. But Driftwood really is the same establishment but of a much lower standard. Bathroom fine. Bed........ a THICK feather cover on mattress making all far far to soft and on occassions the odd quill of a feather sticks through and gives you and irriating POKE. I was here for 9 nights and dont want to return. Was booked by so called specialty snow travel agency. No so good. NOISE. Not wrong. Other guests come back to their rooms leave their doors open and carry on playing. Yelling and the rest. 3 in the morning. No spacific day or holiday on this stay although its mentioned in replies from management in reply to reviews I have just read that it only happens on ..... It is a PROBLEM. This was not on one occassion but many. It has not happened at the SIX resort Accom I have stayed at on this trip.As this is a lower budge accom from next door the standard of guests also seemed to be budget. Saying this on the balcony in the Ptarmigan opposite my room window was littered with empty booze containers from messy party goers outside having noisy drinks with their smokes.
The room has NO fridge but a tiny ice bucket that can hold a can of beer and a few blocks of ice from the free ice machine down the hall way. Generous. I do not use the horrid complimentary powdered creamer thats unfit for any living creature but use milk which needs refridgeration. Shuffled the can and milk in the small ice bucket for 9 days.Free internet access. Ha. No such luck. Went to reception asking whats happened to it. The company was upgrading its system and wont be working properly for another week. Some service. Need the net urgently for business, told I could got to Starbucks or MacDonalds as they have wireless. Hopeless. Asked about how I could get to Kicking Horse Ski Field for the day and got a blank look, dont know, may be bus. This is a tourist facility and should have more knowledge.The next night asked another in reception and she said one moment and went out the back and came back with a list of the price to get there with Brewsters buses. Two hour journey each way, $59 each way and discount of 20% on lift tickets.Good but the office number is in Calgary and got no connection . Found an office by walking around Banff and POW 'weve got bus going on thursday'. $115. return including Mountain lifts. Paid there and then. Bus leaves 6:15 am, its dark and on the walk to the bus depot an Elk Stag with set of antlers on walked across the road in front of me. Wild. Kicking Horse wonderfull ski field if you ever get the chance. The bus company also had FREE wireless. Real service, Great bus company, taking you to and from the surrounding ski fields.Unlike the overall service offered by my accom.

Room Tip: In another establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Welcome home and thank you for the review. We do apologize for the lack of information regarding your queries into Kicking Horse as well as other matters, and we are already working with our newer staff to bring them up to date on as much relevant information as we can, thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we will do a better job in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Drunk college kids screaming in the hall all night. Repeated calls to the front desk got them to quiet down each time but it kept restarting until 5 AM. Otherwise, nice rooms and good location, but I didn't sleep much at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Michael,
Thank you for writing your review, and we apologize for the high levels of noise, the week you were visiting was reading week, so we had a higher than normal amount of students. We will be sure to increase our staffing levels- who will monitor the hallways next year during this time, thanks for letting us know of the concern. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and location otherwise, and hope that you may give us another try next time you are in town, I am sure you will find it much quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Address: 337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. All of the Inns rooms are finished with pine furniture and accents, and offer free wireless Internet access. The Driftwood Inn’s convenient location and ample amenities make it one of Banff's best values. The Driftwood Inn is a pet friendly hotel. Located only a block from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Banff
Driftwood Motel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.