We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap(ish) but convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Driftwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cheap(ish) but convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Having booked in at Ptarmagan we found our room to be adequate in the Driftwood which is in effect an annexe across the car park. Pretty good value. Centrally located so easy enough to find plenty of places to eat. The rear entrance takes you in to the back street and is very convenient for local supermarket and liquor store.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    37
    22
    11
See reviews for
16
36
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Due to the excessive lodging costs in Banff, I chose the Driftwood Inn over its more expensive counterparts. I experienced no major issues, and I would definitely return if I came back to Banff.

Rooms are fairly basic (no comfortable chairs) but the bed was fine. No bugs or dirt. There are some annoyances, such as a non-functional thermostat, a dark parking area, and the electrical outlets shutting off when the room lights are switched off. The walls are thin and I could hear my neighbors talking every night, but fortunately none of my neighbors were noisy.

The location is excellent in downtown Banff.

If cost wasn't a concern, I would stay somewhere else, but if you're on a budget, there's no problem staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I rated this only average because "Very Good" seemed a little excessive, and there was no "Good" category. I WOULD stay here again, in spite of the lumpy mattress. The value was excellent, location very good. Towels and TP were pretty decent and room was spacious. No micro-fridge was a downer, and thermostat seemed centrally controlled (is there AC?) -- I kept the window cracked for circulation. Room was clean, TV needed more stations, but you don't go to Banff to watch TV. It was a quick block to 2 to downtown, and seemed relatively safe. Accoustics were horrible, as I could hear every neighbor and those outside on the walkway. Parking can be a nightmare if you don't get in early and/or have a tiny car. UNDERSTAND THE CHECK-IN PROCEDURE!!! Go to the Ptarmigan to check-in, you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the Ptarmigan building are probably a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have travelled quite a bid around the world and have always tried to keep our traveling expenses down so we had our concerns when we made the booking at The Driftwood Inn as some of the reviews were quite harsh but we have learnt to take a grain of salt when reading hotel reviews.

The Driftwood Inn is part of the Banff Lodging Co that appears to be run out of their flagship hotel The Banff Ptarmigan Inn situated next door. In order to reduce staffing check-in takes place at the Ptarmigan Inn which we found entertaining as most of the other guests checking in did not realize this and had worried frustrated looks on their faces when they tried to enter the locked lobby.

From the outside you can tell the building needs some work and has seen better days. Upon entering the old lobby and making our way up the up the narrow stairs and hallway to our room we really began to wonder if we had made a mistake. It appears the carpeting in the hallway had been replaced at sometime but the walls needed a makeover. When we entered our room we were pleasantly surprised at what we got. From our experience we got what we paid for, a nice clean moderately sized hotel room. The bed appeared at first to be lumpy but once we spend some time on it we realized it appeared to be a fairly new mattress that was comfortable with a soft cushion feel yet firm and the pillows appeared to be new as well. The bathroom was small but adequate and to our surprise did not have the now standard water saving shower spout that never get you clean, it had a nice firm spray that made feel like you had a real shower.

The location is right on one of the main of roads of Banff an easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants. There is some traffic noise but not as much as other hotels on the same street as The Driftwood Inn is set back from the main street. There is residential housing behind the hotel which added to the quiet and sense of security.

We found only three draw backs to The Driftwood Inn. 1) The television need to be updated as it was a least ten years old with the old style curved screens that now have an out of focus image. 2) There is not enough parking. We were in Banff for a wedding and returned late to our rooms on two nights and ended up parking on the street. Parking is always at a premium in Banff so were where not sure if our vehicle would be ticketed or towed while we slept. 3) The exterior and hallways of the building need a facelift just to give the guest a sense of confidence that they are entering a hotel that is safe and inviting.

The bottom-line; Yes, we would stay at The Driftwood Inn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back street. It's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here mid July 2011.

Pets are the most annoying thing in the world when they are in hotels and hotels should not permit it. Damn dog in the next room would not stop barking and it could be heard in to our room.

Otherwise not a bad place to stay. It was a nice and comfortable night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The 1st night there, someone was having a party next door and kept blowing an air horn (right next to our window). Security eventually came to quiet things down (after a few hours) and when we complained to the front desk, they offered to comp us breakfast the next morning. Imagine our surprise to find breakfast on our bill when we checked out AND that the desk clerk couldn't seem to find a way to remove it at the time of check out (said he'd have to fix it later). On another night, a very drunk and belligerant guest was pounding at the door and yelling obscenities. We called security, who showed up 15 minutes later and then banged on our door (this was 2am) to ask what the issue was (we had already told them), then banged on our neighbors door to haul the creep away to the police station. Housekeeping left a dirty, coffee stained towel on our bureau for two days before we mixed it with towels on the floor and didn't seem to vaccuum, since the same lint/dirt remained in place the entire time we were there. When I went to use the hot tub, the floor was dirty as if it hadn't been mopped in a while and I had to request towels from the front desk in the hot tub room 3 times (over an hour) before any appeared. The bed in our room looked like a "V", very concave in the middle and we kept rolling to the center. Considering what we paid (mid range price), I was very disappointed with the whole experience

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
I am very sorry that you did not have a peaceful stay at the Driftwood Inn, and I have followed up with our security and front desk night agents to ensure that these issues are dealt with in a swift and professional manner in the future. I have also followed up with housekeeping to make certain they are keeping their eyes open for general cleanliness, and not just performing the normal duties, such as only removing towels on the floor or in the tub. Again I apologize, and if you have not received your credit for the breakfast please call the hotel and ask to speak to me, and I will settle this immediately for you. Thank you for your time and candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

While the accommodation was pretty basic it was what I expected at the price and the location is great. The bathroom was clean but the carpets needed a very serious vacuum. My major complaint is that for 3 nights in a row the noise from rowdy groups prevented any sleep. Other reviews suggest this has been an ongoing concern but it seems no real effort has been made by the staff to deal with the issue. I actually checked out at 2 AM on our last night because I just couldn't take it any more. The hotel staff was unapologetic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn

Address: 337 Banff Ave | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. All of the Inns rooms are finished with pine furniture and accents, and offer free wireless Internet access. The Driftwood Inn’s convenient location and ample amenities make it one of Banff's best values. The Driftwood Inn is a pet friendly hotel. Located only a block from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Banff
Driftwood Motel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.