We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canada House Art Gallery

Canada House Art Gallery
201 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
800-419-1298; 403-762-3757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Shopping in Banff
Type: Art Galleries
Attraction Details
Calgary
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were drawn to Canada House by the excellent reviews in Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The collection and offerings by Canadian artists were exceptional. The personal and attentive service was first rate. Although it was not our initial intent, we purchased a wonderful Massie watercolour. Will definitely go back every time we visit Banff!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Often the reason why we visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have been coming to Canada House Art Gallery for years and will continue for many more. The friendliness and welcome that you feel when you come in is genuine. Everyone from the gallery is very knowledgable about the art and the artists and are all passionate about what they do. I only wish I had as much fun at my place of work as it looks like these people have.
We have had the opportunity to mingle and meet many of the artists who display their work there, from paintings to jewellery to sculptures. Our art appreciation has grown by getting to know everyone.
We have had art shipped to our home when it has been too big for us to take and it has always arrived in good time and perfect shape. When a favorite artist has new work we always receive an email and/or phone call from our contact. Thanks for having such beautiful things to look at!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New scent bad for asthma sufferers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been long time customers of Canada House and this time, had to leave after a few minutes. Unfortunately, they confirmed that they are using a scent disperser. My wife had to immediately pull out her asthma puffer. I am amazed that in this day and age, with the number of asthma and allergy sufferers, that retail companies are starting this. We won't be back. The Canadian Asthma Association says there are over 3 million asthma sufferers in Canada. We mentioned it to staff and they seemed unconcerned and said only 2% of people had a problem with it. I guess we don't count.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always worth a stop, often a reason to come to Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want to experience true contemporary Canadian art -- that reflects the mountains, the parks, the life of Canada, you need to visit Canada House. Their roster of artists, inventory of pieces, and thoughtful curating always make it worth the visit. I've personally bought several pieces from the gallery and couldn't be happier with their service, knowledge, and of course, the art itself.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A destination unto itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A trip to Banff isn't complete without a visit to Canada House. Not only are these people incredibly knowledgeable about every piece and every artist they showcase, they also share their passion for art and people. They love what they do and it shows. A commited group of friendly fun loving art enthusiasts. Their reach is beyond their doors in the many aspects of community inovlement as well.

Thank you Canada House for making another corner of heaven right here in Banff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada House Art Gallery also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Canada House Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canada House Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.