We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New scent bad for asthma sufferers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canada House Art Gallery

Canada House Art Gallery
201 Bear Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
800-419-1298; 403-762-3757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Shopping in Banff
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
Attraction details
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New scent bad for asthma sufferers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been long time customers of Canada House and this time, had to leave after a few minutes. Unfortunately, they confirmed that they are using a scent disperser. My wife had to immediately pull out her asthma puffer. I am amazed that in this day and age, with the number of asthma and allergy sufferers, that retail companies are starting this. We won't be back. The Canadian Asthma Association says there are over 3 million asthma sufferers in Canada. We mentioned it to staff and they seemed unconcerned and said only 2% of people had a problem with it. I guess we don't count.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always worth a stop, often a reason to come to Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want to experience true contemporary Canadian art -- that reflects the mountains, the parks, the life of Canada, you need to visit Canada House. Their roster of artists, inventory of pieces, and thoughtful curating always make it worth the visit. I've personally bought several pieces from the gallery and couldn't be happier with their service, knowledge, and of course, the art itself.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A destination unto itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A trip to Banff isn't complete without a visit to Canada House. Not only are these people incredibly knowledgeable about every piece and every artist they showcase, they also share their passion for art and people. They love what they do and it shows. A commited group of friendly fun loving art enthusiasts. Their reach is beyond their doors in the many aspects of community inovlement as well.

Thank you Canada House for making another corner of heaven right here in Banff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent overseas service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I am an expat Canadian living in Australia and discovered Canada House when I returned for a holiday in the Rockies with my Australian family. I bought a Page Ough that trip and they shipped it to me in Australia without a hitch. Since then I have acquired another Page Ough, 2 x Allen Sapp and have commissioned a Terry Gilecki. They all arrived in perfect condition. I would highly reccomend this gallery to those overseas art enthusiasts visiing the Rockies and those who may wish to dabble in an online Art Purchase. You really do get what you see with Canada House. SJW

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I could not go to Banff and not go to the Canada House Gallery. The staff are very knowledgeable and willing to share all the works with you. Their selection of artists is superb. A gallery you must see often.
C Bezaire

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada House Art Gallery also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Canada House Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canada House Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.