We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fondue and wine : our night couldn't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes Wine Bar

Grapes Wine Bar
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel | 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $17 - $38
Cuisines: Canadian, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Description: Savoury charcuterie, fine cheeses and award-winning wines are showcased nightly at the cozy Grapes Wine Bar. Sample from a tempting menu of tasty gourmet favourites made in-house, including cured meats and pates, candied salmon, freshly baked breads and delicious pickled vegetables. This historic, charming room was originally established in 1926 as a writing room and a place for people to gather their thoughts, share experiences and converse with family and friends. Enjoy the entertaining, interactive atmosphere of Grapes Wine Bar, a dining experience like no other.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Fondue and wine : our night couldn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a really small wine bar at the Fairmont. It has about 6 tables and it ticked away somewhere in within the Fairmont Castle. If you are looking for a cosy romantic night in Banff, then this place is strongly recommended.
The wine connoisseur is fantastic and she makes some excellent recommendations.
We had some classic cheese fondue with bread and veggies, steak and some chocolate fondue for dessert along with our wines and were were very happy with our food.
Our server told us that the beef we were served was never frozen and it tasted quite amazing.
Note: the bar closes at 10pm. So the ideal time to come in would be around 7.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small but fantastic little restaurant/bar! Went there on a ladies weekend away, so there were four of us. Service was great, food was scrumptious, Dana was very knowledgeable about the wines, and kept an eye on us the whole time!
Definitely going back!
My only complaint was the music. It sounded like the radio. A little easy listening, soft pop or jazz could go a long way! Just my preference though...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Cozy Hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good, unpretentious food, and courteous service. The restaurant has great character, and a history as a writer's retreat. As such, it is quite small, and there are very few tables, but if you are fortunate enough to hit it at the right time, it has all of the elements you need to put a great evening together for you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very good food, great wine list, knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by several things here -- the food was excellent, and our server steered us to a British Columbia cabernet sauvignon that was truly outstanding (this in response to my question as to whether we should attempt a Canadian wine...). We had a nice table by the window (perhaps the only window in the dininr room), and felt that we were very well taken care of.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lots more than wine here...I had a great meal...Venison medallions were very tasty. Perfect, small room with an awesome view. Service was outstanding. Sure it is expensive, but you must have been prepared for that when you set foot in the hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Wine Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grapes Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapes Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.