We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous "hole" in the wall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes Wine Bar

Grapes Wine Bar
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel | 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 133 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: French, Bistro, Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks
Description: Savoury charcuterie, fine cheeses and award-winning wines are showcased nightly at the cozy Grapes Wine Bar. Sample from a tempting menu of tasty gourmet favourites made in-house, including cured meats and pates, candied salmon, freshly baked breads and delicious pickled vegetables. This historic, charming room was originally established in 1926 as a writing room and a place for people to gather their thoughts, share experiences and converse with family and friends. Enjoy the entertaining, interactive atmosphere of Grapes Wine Bar, a dining experience like no other.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous "hole" in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The history in this room alone makes it worth a visit. Keep in mind if the smell of cheese fondue bothers you this may not be the room for you. My wife and I stopped off here one evening after dinner and managed to get a seat by the window where we enjoy a lovely Scotch and her a wine. There isn't alot about this room that sets it apart aside from its history and feel. The food selection was min. The service was very good though which you come to expect at the Springs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We went during the Banff food festival and had the $45 3-course meal at Grapes which for me included a carrot soup and venison steak. It was unbelievable!!! Beyond the food being great, the atmosphere was wonderful, and service was incredible.

I will definitely be back next year.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A local suggested we eat in house. Wow we were not mislead. The intimate bar holds only a few tables. The staff were extremely wonderful. We enjoyed every morsel we ate and the waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with the wine list. If only there was room for dessert!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tiny little place in the Banff Springs Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

It is a must to see this hotel - so historic and like an old castle.

I ate at this restaurant in 1999 and wanted to come back. There are only 6 or 7 tables so it is very intimate and the food is great. The soup of the day was a butternut squash creation that was absolutely delicious - recommended by our server.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Phenomenal meal, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A friend and I had a really spectacular meal at Grapes Wine Bar. The wine bar is located in an intimate, wood-paneled room and only one of the tables has a view out into the Bow Valley. But the atmosphere is lovely regardless!

Our waiter was fantastic and gave us great advice about wines from the Okanagan Valley in British Columbia. We shared two amazing appetizers: panko-crusted brie with a chambord butter sauce and topped with arugula, pistachio & blueberry and a maple vinaigrette served with crostini, and smocked duck with mache greens, orange, goat cheese, toasted almonds, granny smith apples, and a maple vinaigrette. And we shared a wonderful dessert of peach crisp and peach sorbet.

We had an absolutely delicious meal and a great experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Wine Bar also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Grapes Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapes Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.