We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elk and owls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fenland Trail

Fenland Trail
Mount Norquay Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 32 Attractions in Banff
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“elk and owls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Walked this trail on a recent trip to Banff and was lucky enough to see both elk and an owl. It's an easy walk for anyone although there was lots of snow on the path (in February).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    13
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice little trek in the woods with beautiful views of the wetlands and creek. Benches to rest and enjoy the stillness. Easy walk. Stop at Tim Hortons and take a coffee for the walk or warm up with afterwards if you go in winter as we did.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I found Fenland Trail by accident and am glad I did. It is just over the train lines from the Bow trail and is an easy 2km walk. It is a beautiful quiet walk in winter and the people I met on my walks were really friendly. It is where I had my first wildlife experience outside of a tour bus, with loads of squirrels and my first ELK. Totally amazing!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Probably better in Spring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A nice easy walk - very pretty in the snow, but would be lovely in the summer to picnic and enjoy the river and wildlife. But travelling in the Winter I didnt really expect too much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice Little Stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Rocky Mountain Resort during our skiing trip. The resort offered a number of guided walks. The Fenland Trail was one of the walks offered. It is a nice little walk, it is surprising quite, considering that it is so close to Banff and the highway. All I could hear was the lumbering goods train. I liked this walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenland Trail also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fenland Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenland Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.